We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$123
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sarpidon Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
$86
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$63
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$254
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$97
$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$114
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
90
54
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
54
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transfernice small hotelbeach pool towelsold townbeach minutesminute walklovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every daypool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailygreat holidaystalissofiasunbedsfridge
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 172 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay with everything needed at the doorstep. The hotel was clean, with lovely views and situated close to amenities, a short walk away to a buzzing center, yet quiet at nights. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided. This hotel has a nice pool with a fair depth. The staff were accommodating and friendly. A very nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jana380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I would like to thank EVA the owner of the hotel where I stayed in the beginning of April 2013.
I had a greatest time ever at Socrates... Room was always clean same with the pool outside..
Location is just perfect for those who wants to be closer to the beach.

the last thing but not the least is breakfast was always delicious and they always cooked whatever i asked..

Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AiymYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are faMily of 5, had a great week in Creete, in a very freindly hotel privatly owned and personaly taken care off.
The apartments are clean and rooms are big. we had 2 bedroom apartment with 2 showers and equiped kitcen, it was very comfortable with our kids. the supermarket is 3 minutes walk.
The pool is clean and not crowded, even when hotel was full.
Very good Value for money place.
Goerge , Emma and Akapy (in the snack-bar) - you truly deserve 5 stars for your hospitality. we would like to come back this summer!

Room Tip: If you are with kids, take the ground floor with fast access to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pluses:
great location: near the beach and nightlife - quiet place;
Good beaches nearby- the best in the aria
Cleaned with towel changed everyday
Very nice people working there- the owner bought us raki when we served lunch at a wonderful taverna recommended by him (we were a 14 people group)
Nice decorations; clean, fancy pool, good breakfast
Great tavernas nearby!!!

Minuses:
1. Mid september over populated with young children- not good for big groups this period
2. Over booked with 2 of our rooms the first night ( we had 7 rooms booked in total- only 5 available the first night) we had to move to another nearby hotel but no payment- just for the first night.
3. Average bathrooms- shower could need a renovation.
4. There was this guy at the bar "shushing us all the time and screaming?!! for silence ( althowgh we were a silent group...) but got fired so it was his last day there- never bothered us again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaAndreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

12 of us were all booked into the Socrates Hotel and paid 8 months in advance and when we arrived late evening we were told that the hotel was over booked for the night and we would be staying in a different hotel just for that evening. We were all dropped off at the new hotel by the so called Manager with the instructions that we would be picked up at miday the next day to be taken back to the Socrates for the remainder of our stay - the following morning there was no sign of the Manager and several phone calls were made to find out what was happening. We were finally picked up at 4.30pm and were told that Socrates Hotel was going to be fully booked for the rest of our stay. We were taken to Notos Hotel which was the Manager's other hotel. He claimed that the hotel was the same quality as Socrates (which clearly was not on our arrival). The staff were rude and unfriendly, the rooms were occasionally cleaned not every day. The pool was dirty with strange objects in it, snooker ball, raw egg and a glass. Worst of all we were all separated which made the experience not as enjoyable. We were claimed to be given free air con and free use of the safe as compensation, however, we later found that this was supplied any way. The Notos Hotel was now 15-20 minutes away from the main strip as opposed to the Socrates being 5-10 minutes away. We met other groups of lads during our stay at the Notos hotel who were treated exactly the same as us. Don't waste your money and book at the Socrates Hotel as you will only be given the Notos Hotel. Manager needs to exposed to this scam.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking here
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews