We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$124
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Malia Star Apartments(Malia)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$63
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$114
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
90
54
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
54
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transferold townbeach minutesminute walklovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every daypool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailygreat holidaystalissofiasunbedsfridgeseptemberclubs
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pluses:
great location: near the beach and nightlife - quiet place;
Good beaches nearby- the best in the aria
Cleaned with towel changed everyday
Very nice people working there- the owner bought us raki when we served lunch at a wonderful taverna recommended by him (we were a 14 people group)
Nice decorations; clean, fancy pool, good breakfast
Great tavernas nearby!!!

Minuses:
1. Mid september over populated with young children- not good for big groups this period
2. Over booked with 2 of our rooms the first night ( we had 7 rooms booked in total- only 5 available the first night) we had to move to another nearby hotel but no payment- just for the first night.
3. Average bathrooms- shower could need a renovation.
4. There was this guy at the bar "shushing us all the time and screaming?!! for silence ( althowgh we were a silent group...) but got fired so it was his last day there- never bothered us again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaAndreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

12 of us were all booked into the Socrates Hotel and paid 8 months in advance and when we arrived late evening we were told that the hotel was over booked for the night and we would be staying in a different hotel just for that evening. We were all dropped off at the new hotel by the so called Manager with the instructions that we would be picked up at miday the next day to be taken back to the Socrates for the remainder of our stay - the following morning there was no sign of the Manager and several phone calls were made to find out what was happening. We were finally picked up at 4.30pm and were told that Socrates Hotel was going to be fully booked for the rest of our stay. We were taken to Notos Hotel which was the Manager's other hotel. He claimed that the hotel was the same quality as Socrates (which clearly was not on our arrival). The staff were rude and unfriendly, the rooms were occasionally cleaned not every day. The pool was dirty with strange objects in it, snooker ball, raw egg and a glass. Worst of all we were all separated which made the experience not as enjoyable. We were claimed to be given free air con and free use of the safe as compensation, however, we later found that this was supplied any way. The Notos Hotel was now 15-20 minutes away from the main strip as opposed to the Socrates being 5-10 minutes away. We met other groups of lads during our stay at the Notos hotel who were treated exactly the same as us. Don't waste your money and book at the Socrates Hotel as you will only be given the Notos Hotel. Manager needs to exposed to this scam.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking here
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Along with 11 other boys we booked to stay in the socrates hotel , we paid 420 pounds including flights for 10 days , once arrived here we were greeted by the owner george who whilst laughing said ' we dont have any rooms' , we thought he was joking , but no , he wasn't , we were then shuttled up to Matheo hotel in his Range Rover in groups of 3 , at 3 in the morning , which was in the middle of nowhere . Here we were told to stay a night and that he'd come and get us at 12 the following day and take us to Socrates . When George finally arrived at 5 oclock in the evening , he said there were still no rooms , despite telling the owner of Matheo the reason he was so late was because he was 'sorting out the rooms with the cleaners' . He then took us to Notos hotel in Malia which we stayed at for the next 9 nights, we spoke to 2 other groups of boys who had the same thing happended to them , booked for Socrates but sent to Notos . my advice is just don't bother booking here if you are looking for a stress free , fun holiday . It is quite clear they get people to pay for a fairly expensive hotel and send them to a half as good one , whilst paying the same amount . absolute nightmare . We are investigating gettting our money back

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank ben743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were meant to stay at socrates as we thought it looked nice, so we booked it 7 months before going out to Malia. We turned up at 11 o'clock at socrates and was instantly turned away because they were fully booked. Even though we had a 10 day reservation for 12 people, apparently all the rooms were taken. So we had a free transfer into another hotel which was perfect and very welcoming, which was a lot cheaper. After staying 1 night there, we were transfered again by the manager of socrates again. After our other 9 nights at Notos we had realised we had been mugged off for money. We had spent £180 to stay at socrates for 10 days and each hotel worked out extremely cheaper for 10 days. If your young and going malia, do not here. The same time we were out in malia we met three other groups of holiday makers which had the same treatment. Each group they roughly made £1000 through moving everyone around. Do not stay here unless you want to lose money and get mugged off.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Any families or small groups, this hotel is very nice, but our experience has left us very disappointed with the hotel and the manner in which they dealt with us, so any groups (6 people +) just don't even bother booking here, our holiday cost over £450 with flights and below is the reason to just go elsewhere:

Although this hotel is described as perfect for families and small group, they accepted our booking of fourteen lads to share four rooms, we arrived Wednesday 11th July '12, on arrival to the reception, there was a sheet of paper with our booking name and four sets of keys, but after speaking to the young girl on the reception she explained three of the bathrooms were out of order, and we had to move to their sister hotel, which wasn't bad but after researching online is at least £100 pp cheaper. A few days of being at the sister hotel, we met some lads from London, a group of 8 who explained they had booked to stay at Socrates but upon arrival they were told they weren't expected until the following day, which seemed very convenient. Lads save your money and go elsewhere, not Socrates! Families and girls, very nice, if you don't get fobbed off to another hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Mitch I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews