We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites(Malia)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
90
54
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
54
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transferold townbeach minutesminute walklovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every daypool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailygreat holidaystalissofiasunbedsfridgeseptemberclubs
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 172 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Have just got back from the Socrates Hotel after spending a week there on a girls holiday.

There were three of us that went and we stayed in the superior suite that sleeps 3 adults. The room was perfect size and was very nicely decorated.

First impressions of the surrounding area weren't great as there are many half built buildings and a few waste land areas nearby, however the hotel itself is set in well maintained gardens which makes the surrounding area easily forgotten.

We went to Malia mainly for the night-life but decided to pay a little extra for a better hotel. It worked out to be perfect as the hotel is around a 10 minute walk to the strip, 10 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to local restaurants and supermarkets. It is close enough to walk there and back to the main strip of clubs and bars but was very quiet and peaceful if a more relaxed atmosphere was wanted. The only downside is the street that the hotel is situated on is not brilliantly lit at night but it literally takes 2 minutes to get to a better lit part.

The hotel is run by a brother and sister (Eva and George). If your a group of girls going you are likely to be welcomed by George along with a lemon Granita served in a tall glass (YUM) but pay attention to how he pronounces his name as for around 3 days we thought he was called either Dort or Dorge (slightly embarrassing!). George also likes to wear extremely short shorts so look out for those!

A/C and room safe were extra but for both is cost 65 euros for the week so average prices. Although the rooms are self catering we were also provided with fresh towels, beach towels and toilet roll daily!

Overall Amazing hotel, would defiantly recommend for groups, couples and families as it caters for everyone. Probably not the best hotel for a large group of people who simply want to enjoy the Malia Strip as they do have notices in the reception area asking for reduced noise levels during certain times.

Would highly recommend if your willing to pay that little bit more!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatieW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Overall a lovely place to stay. Photos do not do this hotel justice. Very clean throughout. Good location as only few mins walk to the supermarkets, few mins more to the beach. Depends what youre looking for on your holiday but its close enough to the nightlife yet far enough away to not be disturbed by the noise from it either. Staff were really friendly and helpful and 'Vanilla' the dog was very cute added bonus. Just had lovely new sunbeds delivered.

If you book through the hotel direct, they offer a discount, free air con and free airport transfers so highly recommended to go this route as we werent aware and had pre-booked coach transfers which took 2hrs for a 20 min journey.

helpful hint: not enough plug sockets. (very minor problem)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lissb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This spot was excellent for the cost! It was a treat from staying in hostels while backpacking. Very nice pool, excellent drinks and food. The staff was always very friendly, and they room was very close. They got us set up with an ATV rental, which was amazing, and made it alot easier to see the area. Its around restaurants and close to shopping!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegJCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We booked a night right at the end of the season to try to find some nightlife on the island, we didn't find that because everything was closed but what we did find was a lovely, clean comfortable hotel. The socrates is a brisk 10 min walk into the Malia strip but thats a good thing because i'd imagine its pretty crazy in the centre, the pool area is lovely, we had it all to ourselves as everyone else had left the island!!! the staff were friendly and respectful, beds were very comfy and clean, we didn't use the kitchen but is very well equipped. 1000000% better than the hotel we had in Hersonissos, just wish we'd booked there for the whole holiday, well done guys and i wish you future success :o)

Room Tip: we asked for pool view but the front of the hotel has the afternoon sun and sunset
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed here for 8 nights during late September 2011.The length of stay meant that I qualified for a free transfer from Heraklion airport and I was met in arrivals and takendirectly to the hotel by the owners son.That was a good start to my trip.The room I was given was large with two balconies and a very well equiped kitchen.I have been visiting Greece for 18 years and this was the first place which had a microwave.The bathroom was fine,decent size and a proper shower cubicle so the bathroom floor stayed dry,another rarirty !
My room and all public areas were cleaned meticulously every day.
The complex has a very good sizes swimming pool set in the attractive garden with plenty of loungers available.There is also a small childrens pool and playground.Also a nice bar area where food is available and Premier League football can be watched.
The location is very good,not exactly in open country but quietly situated amongst fields and a few other hotels.The centre of Malia is about 10 - 15 minutes walk,it easy to avoid the "strip" if you turn left out of the hotel and walk up to the main road.Stalis is also easily reached on foot,a pleasant 20- 30 minute stroll through the many tavernas,bars and shops.Beaches are within 5-7 minutes walk and are very nice and sandy.
I found this to be a friendly very well run family establishment and hope to return in 2012

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews