We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
96
57
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
57
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transfernice small hotelbeach pool towelsold townbeach minutesminute walkrelaxing holidaylovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every dayviews of the mountainspool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailysofiastalissunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 181 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Overall a lovely place to stay. Photos do not do this hotel justice. Very clean throughout. Good location as only few mins walk to the supermarkets, few mins more to the beach. Depends what youre looking for on your holiday but its close enough to the nightlife yet far enough away to not be disturbed by the noise from it either. Staff were really friendly and helpful and 'Vanilla' the dog was very cute added bonus. Just had lovely new sunbeds delivered.

If you book through the hotel direct, they offer a discount, free air con and free airport transfers so highly recommended to go this route as we werent aware and had pre-booked coach transfers which took 2hrs for a 20 min journey.

helpful hint: not enough plug sockets. (very minor problem)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lissb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This spot was excellent for the cost! It was a treat from staying in hostels while backpacking. Very nice pool, excellent drinks and food. The staff was always very friendly, and they room was very close. They got us set up with an ATV rental, which was amazing, and made it alot easier to see the area. Its around restaurants and close to shopping!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegJCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We booked a night right at the end of the season to try to find some nightlife on the island, we didn't find that because everything was closed but what we did find was a lovely, clean comfortable hotel. The socrates is a brisk 10 min walk into the Malia strip but thats a good thing because i'd imagine its pretty crazy in the centre, the pool area is lovely, we had it all to ourselves as everyone else had left the island!!! the staff were friendly and respectful, beds were very comfy and clean, we didn't use the kitchen but is very well equipped. 1000000% better than the hotel we had in Hersonissos, just wish we'd booked there for the whole holiday, well done guys and i wish you future success :o)

Room Tip: we asked for pool view but the front of the hotel has the afternoon sun and sunset
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed here for 8 nights during late September 2011.The length of stay meant that I qualified for a free transfer from Heraklion airport and I was met in arrivals and takendirectly to the hotel by the owners son.That was a good start to my trip.The room I was given was large with two balconies and a very well equiped kitchen.I have been visiting Greece for 18 years and this was the first place which had a microwave.The bathroom was fine,decent size and a proper shower cubicle so the bathroom floor stayed dry,another rarirty !
My room and all public areas were cleaned meticulously every day.
The complex has a very good sizes swimming pool set in the attractive garden with plenty of loungers available.There is also a small childrens pool and playground.Also a nice bar area where food is available and Premier League football can be watched.
The location is very good,not exactly in open country but quietly situated amongst fields and a few other hotels.The centre of Malia is about 10 - 15 minutes walk,it easy to avoid the "strip" if you turn left out of the hotel and walk up to the main road.Stalis is also easily reached on foot,a pleasant 20- 30 minute stroll through the many tavernas,bars and shops.Beaches are within 5-7 minutes walk and are very nice and sandy.
I found this to be a friendly very well run family establishment and hope to return in 2012

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Socrates was the hotel that my 3 friends and I stayed at last summer as a our first holiday away together. It was expensive considering it was self-catering but we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. Most evenings we went into Stalis where we would eat and then spend the night in a bar, we found the 20-30minute walk enjoyable as it gave us a chance to check out the many restaurants and shops along the main street. We did venture into Malia on a couple of occasions but found the constant haggling with bar and club promoters overwhelming so preferred Stalis. We used the pool everyday of our stay, we found that it was never over-crowded, we always got a sunlounger and could easily do lengths in the pool. The rooms themselves were clean and spacious with a kitchenette and bathroom. We had one apartment which had two twin rooms. There were a few issues that we had, which was that there wasn't alot of storage in the rooms, being girls we have alot of make-up and toiletries and we ended up moving the televisions from its stand so we could put things down. Also when we were given clean towels and bed linen they sometimes had stains on, which for the money we were paying we were dissapointed. The food at the hotel was very good, we only ate there one night but we probably would have done again if we hadn't enjoyed going out into Stalis for our meals so much. We also went a few times to the internet cafe which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel on the road towards Stalis, it had wierd opening times but we found that going in the evening was the best time, and it was good value for money. For those who wish to travel around you can catch the bus from the top of the road from the hotel. We caught the bus to Heraklion one day and although it is a good hour or so journey it was nice to see another part of the island. We also took two trips on the happy train which can be caught on the road into Stalis. One trip is around Stalis and Malia, you get to see the little bit of history in the area and it also goes by the beach, its also very wierd seeing Malia in the daytime, very much a ghost town. The other trip goes up into a village on the other side of the mountain, the train goes in the morning and you return in the early afternoon, the train stops in the village for a couple of hours allowing you to walk around and have something to eat. This is where you see the typical cretian way of life. We also went on one of the excursions which took us to another popular town on the coast but on the other side of the island. Overall the hotel itself is in a great location and I believe this is what you are paying for, the views from the hotel itself are breathtaking and it is situated between two main roads, the highway and the coast road however you don't hear anything from either. We definitley enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and pool view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews