We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$83
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites(Malia)(Great Value!)
$73
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$242
$184
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$200
$168
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$821
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
90
54
12
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
54
12
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree transferold townbeach minutesminute walklovely apartmentthe main beach roadrooms cleaned every daypool viewrestaurants and barscleaned dailygreat holidaystalissofiasunbedsfridgeseptemberclubs
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Socrates was the hotel that my 3 friends and I stayed at last summer as a our first holiday away together. It was expensive considering it was self-catering but we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. Most evenings we went into Stalis where we would eat and then spend the night in a bar, we found the 20-30minute walk enjoyable as it gave us a chance to check out the many restaurants and shops along the main street. We did venture into Malia on a couple of occasions but found the constant haggling with bar and club promoters overwhelming so preferred Stalis. We used the pool everyday of our stay, we found that it was never over-crowded, we always got a sunlounger and could easily do lengths in the pool. The rooms themselves were clean and spacious with a kitchenette and bathroom. We had one apartment which had two twin rooms. There were a few issues that we had, which was that there wasn't alot of storage in the rooms, being girls we have alot of make-up and toiletries and we ended up moving the televisions from its stand so we could put things down. Also when we were given clean towels and bed linen they sometimes had stains on, which for the money we were paying we were dissapointed. The food at the hotel was very good, we only ate there one night but we probably would have done again if we hadn't enjoyed going out into Stalis for our meals so much. We also went a few times to the internet cafe which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel on the road towards Stalis, it had wierd opening times but we found that going in the evening was the best time, and it was good value for money. For those who wish to travel around you can catch the bus from the top of the road from the hotel. We caught the bus to Heraklion one day and although it is a good hour or so journey it was nice to see another part of the island. We also took two trips on the happy train which can be caught on the road into Stalis. One trip is around Stalis and Malia, you get to see the little bit of history in the area and it also goes by the beach, its also very wierd seeing Malia in the daytime, very much a ghost town. The other trip goes up into a village on the other side of the mountain, the train goes in the morning and you return in the early afternoon, the train stops in the village for a couple of hours allowing you to walk around and have something to eat. This is where you see the typical cretian way of life. We also went on one of the excursions which took us to another popular town on the coast but on the other side of the island. Overall the hotel itself is in a great location and I believe this is what you are paying for, the views from the hotel itself are breathtaking and it is situated between two main roads, the highway and the coast road however you don't hear anything from either. We definitley enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and pool view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just what we needed, I booked this on the reviews of trip advisor and are pleasantly sup prised it is better than we expected. Big George and little Geroge are nice people and take car of you needs very well. The hotel is fantastic very very quite and a nice relaxing place to be away from the mayhem of Malia. It is however in the right location for any group of all ages or couples etc..straight onto the main road and turn right and within five minutes walk your in the centre of the bar strip. Ignore all the crap about it being full of underage Brits he'll bent on causing mayhem, yes if is busy but it caters for all ages you can have a quite drink in some of the bars around without bang bang music. Even better is the fact that if that is still too much for your taste you can walk ontonthe road and turn left and take a nice walk to Stalis which is a nice 30 minute walk with nice bars restaurants and shops along the way, so kore relaxing. It has had an increase in price since I was last here and is more expensive. Greece tax has gone up and They have also raised the price on alcohol to try and reduce the amount of drunken holiday makers making trouble and my understanding from chatting to bar and hotel owners is that it has worked and it has seen a great reduction in drunken problems, I must note I have not seen one bit of trouble while here, yes you get druken groups of people but nothing more than I would expect in the UK.

Basically great hotel family run who are very nice, and a great location, we are looking at booking again now for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cd7978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I found this place on booking.com and was a little worried after reading some reviews on here about the noise level from the young groups of British people who tend to go to Malia to party party party. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived and found George and Eva to run an absouletly beautiful hotel. The room is clean, has air con and a basic kitchenette and fridge. My friend got lost on the way to the hotel and they even drove around looking for her and picked her up.
The hotel is in a great location - 5/10 min walk to the craziness of Malia and about 15/20 min walk to the more subdued Stalida with plenty of bars, great restaurants and taverna all around. In 5 minutes you're at the beach or with a nice big pool and free sun chairs right outside, lazing around the pool is a great option. The bar staff were super friendly and the food was a very high quality - the club sandwich is awesome!
The staff are really what make this place... they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and help you in every way possible.
As for the noise, we had no problems what so ever. The hotel was full of younger groups who were all very respectful of noise levels and kept it down during the night/morning.

Overall this is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it to groups or families who want to be close to the action, but far enough away to just unwind and relax. Oh and the free wifi was a definite advantage!
Thanks Socrates!

Room Tip: Ask for room 301, 302, 303, 304 for the best views of the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bde232748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Socrates is a family hotel that managed by an amazing family. They provide an excellent service and help with anything that you can imagine (restaurants recommendation, route trip, car rental, flight confirmation etc.). Service is the main motive at the hotel. The room are very pleasant and clean. The pool is fantastic.
We were with 3 children that feel there like at home and wish to stay there longer.
We are looking forward to be there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronit30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here last year and had a lovely time. A great location as its near enough to the strip to comfortably walk but far enough away that your not going to be kept awake and 7am. This hotel is perfect for groups of girls and couples, if your looking for a friendly place to stay which has a great pool, good food, and nice staff....this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiShaw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews