We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch for a group of boys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Diasselo Apartments
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch for a group of boys”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As our coach transfer pulled up for the umpteenth time, only a few holiday going groups remaining on board, the driver called out 'diasselo' and fearing an inbetweeners like welcome, a deep seated expression of anxiety swept over every face in the group as we prepared ourselves for the worst. Exiting the coach, we were met with a deadly silence, standing on a dirt track to nowhere and a million miles away from the pandemonium of the famous Malia strip. However, any lingering worries dissipated following a warm welcome from the boss, Panos. From the outset, he was helpful and informative, advising us on things to avoid and be aware of, but equally without forcing us to conform to his 'code of conduct' - contrary to some of the other reviews. He proved to be a light hearted host throughout our stay, and this was despite a few misdemeanours on our behalf - even an incident involving a desperate search for an early morning packet of crisps, setting the apartment alarms off, was met with jokes, laughter and a polite plea of going to bed. The further the week progressed, the further we warmed to Panos and Diasselo. Small touches, from the communal midnight complementary shots, to the leniency of the swimming pool hours (we routinely exceeded the 8pm curfew), proved just how accommodating a venue Diasselo was. Perfect proximity to the beaches, restaurants, bars and the strip only reinforced how these apartments were a great choice and despite taking an initial gamble based on some previous reviews, demonstrated why you would be stupid not to choose this location. Great value for money, Great hospitality, Great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeStorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    19
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
18
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barton under Needwood, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at Diasselo for a week with a group of lads ranging from 18-25 and it was an incredible place to stay. Panos the owner is a great guy, he was very helpful, looked after us made sure we had a great stay. Great location, short walk to the beach and to the centre of malia, Lovely resteraunts on your doorstep although you must be sure to eat at Diasello as Panos's mothers cooking is simply amazing! Overall a great stay and great people at Diasello. Wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Diasselo as a group of 8 lads and, before arriving, checked some of the reviews. As the majority of the negative reviews were from young groups we were left to assume that the owner, Panos, would begin our stay with a warning-laden welcome followed by an uncomfortably close eye on everything that we were doing for the duration of our stay. The experience we were treated to couldn't be further from our initial assumptions.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, handshakes all round, and shown to our rooms. Panos advised us against buying into the quad-bike hype that dominates Malia due to the number of accidents, but made it clear that it was entirely our choice. Given that the hotel is within walking distance of the Malia strip we decided against it anyway.
The rooms themselves are cheap and cheerful as the price would suggest, but unlike some more expensive options were impeccably clean. The hotel has a bar right next to the pool, both taken great care of by Panos and his Mother. There is also internet access at a negligable fee of 1 euro/ 20 minutes.
I don't usually take time to write reviews, but the thing that inspired me to make the effort was the quality of service from Panos. He made the effort to come round and see us on our first night and was very insistant on a free round of shots every night before going out in Malia. I find it hard to imagine how or why negative reviews were left based on Panos' treatment of his guests, but I have a feeling it has something to do with how the guests treated Panos and his facilities during their stay. If you act like a disrespectful idiot, you deserve to be told off. During our first night a couple of the lads decided to have a late night dip in the pool which closes at 9pm. If the negative reviews were to be believed, Panos would be quick to give us a dressing down. Instead he quietly asked us to dry off and go to bed and shared a laugh with us about it in the morning. If you take the time to have a chat with Panos you'll realise how much he and his family have put into the hotel to ensure that its success continues. After talking to him he showed us a few photos of his bodybuilding days and an impressively sized fish he caught with his late father. I can honestly say that you would have a difficult time finding a more genuine hotel owner in Malia. The family-oriented nature of the hotel didn't impede our ability to make the most of what Malia had to offer. Rather, it accompanied our stay to make us feel welcome and at home while we were at the hotel.
Overall our stay was practically faultless. Just to demonstrate how much further our experience ranked against some of the negative reviews, we were also let off for breaking a component of one of our toilets. Panos said that he ought to have charged us for it, but because we were a respectful group and had taken the time to get to know a little about him he couldn't take any money from us, even though it would only have been five euros. For me, this sums him and his hotel up and anyone staying at Diasselo shouldn't have any worries. If we ever return to Malia we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I would, however, consider bringing along an Arsenal shirt for Panos to hang in the bar to go along with his collection.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmarks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

8 guys (19-22) stayed here for a week from 18th-25th June 2013. Had an amazing stay here with Panos (the owner) who is a really great guy. The bar was great value for money and the food was excellent. The location of the resort for a group of people wanting a party holiday is perfect. This was down to the fact it was only a 10 minute walk to the famous Malia Strip which meant it was ideal for going out but quite when you came back and wanted to sleep. I would recommend this resort to any families and groups of friends as there is a really friendly atmosphere and we all had a fantastic week. I would definitely stay here if I came back to Malia. Panos really nice guy and is an absolute legend! Quality holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markpicken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romiley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Villa Diasselo is a great place to stay it is close to both malia and stalis with plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance ,
I am a single dad with two boys with special needs i found the rooms both comfortable and clean for the two weeks we spent there and Panos was a pleasant host very helpful and even made sure my two boys had plenty of sun cream on ,We often saw Panos on his scooter whilst out and about and he always pipped his horn and waved to the boys which they thought was a great game when out walking . I will certainly take my two boys back again as we enjoyed our stay very much so Thank you Panos and Mariana.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our holiday at Diasselo was late in September 2012, but we did not expect to be there with only one other couple on the final day of the season for this delightful, family run, complex. The general financial decline had resulted in Thomas Cook severely cutting the holiday season for Diasselo and ultimately failed to renew their contract.
The good news is that we have been informed that Panos, the owner and host, has negotiated a new contract, with Hotels4you; so for anyone seeking a quiet, well run, friendly place to holiday, convenient for good sandy beaches and within easy walking distance to the restuarants, bars, nightclubs and shops of Malia & Stalis and close to bus stops for the rest of Crete, Diasselo could be your best choice.
The complex has a good sized pool and covered pool bar area serving drinks and food. The apartments are of good size, clean and well maintained, with basic facilities for self-catering. A room safe and air con are fitted but charged for at local rates. each apartment has a balcony or patio.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our annual holiday at Diasselo for the past 4 years, and the hospitality and care of Panos and his family have played a major part in making each vacation memorable and pleasant. This year was no exception, with the added bonus of Panos finding time to introduce us to bars and restaurants owned and run by some of his friends, outside of the noise and mayhem of Malia Strip.
Like many of the smaller complexes in Crete, Diasselo has, undeservedly, been hit hard by the recession: but for us, the location, comfort and friendly atmosphere cannot be bettered. We hope, and expect, to renew our acquaintance with Panos, Mamma and Fanula in 2013, and recommend that YOU consider Diasselo for your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volleyball02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Well where do i start from
Panos is a top bloke and his mum is very nice to i would be going there again as it was very clean
i no my girls loved it there and the pool to some of the time we could not get them out cos my kids loved it so much.i must say i will be going back there so if anyone gos to greece i would say Diasselo is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.9 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#31 of 90 in Malia
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#16 of 90 in Malia
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ambrosia Hotel
#50 of 90 in Malia
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Diasselo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Diasselo Apartments

Property: Villa Diasselo Apartments
Address: Papa Michali Katsouli Street, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Diasselo Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Diasselo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diasselo Hotel Malia
Villa Diasselo Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing