We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
136
21
9
2
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
21
9
2
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great holiday next year these apartments malia strip minute walk cant wait perfect location couples and families week stay small supermarket views of the mountains large pool sun all day a lovely stay pool bar plenty of sun loungers pool side
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 180 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

When reading previous reviews you will fear the worse for when you arrive at Diasselo. However this is not the case me and 7 others stayed here on our lads holiday after comparing reviews with our hotel and theirs we thought we were been sent to a prison camp run by a dictator.
When we arrived we the "guard" took us in showed us our rooms and helped us with the Cases. In the morning we met panos who we thought we were going to have major problems with. On first sights he is a large man I think he was a former body builder (from pictures behind the bar) so is physically imposing. As soon as he speaks you realise he is a very humble and respectful man he explained the rules to us and then told us about Malia and where things were and what to watch out for: quads, unbranded alcohol, gypsies (two gypos tried to pick my pocket on the strip) and the water (the minerals used in the filtering system can make people I'll). After this we only spoke when ordering food or drinks or greeting him goodbye before going out. On our final night he thanked us for been brilliant guests as we remained respectful all of our stay.
Whilst staying here we played music in the rooms on the balconies by the pool talked across the bar made a lot of noise in the pool. We came home every morning at 7 earliest (if one of you hasn't got the key or gets separated get back before 7 or after 9 otherwise there won't be anyone to help you get in your room with a spare key) even with us doing all this; not in an obnoxious way but just enjoying a holiday panos didn't complain once.
The services are good at this hotel the rooms are cleaned every three days however they are thoroughly cleaned and tidied so makes up for the duration of them not been cleaned. There is a computer you can pay to use for Internet or gaming a pool table a well stocked bar and a very nice menu. Prices seems a
Bit steep compared to the strip. However most of the restaurants on the way to the strip know panos and his hotel so if you let them know your staying with him you get special offers and or maybe free
drink(s). the rooms have sufficient cooking equipment but when comparing the prices of panos' food to ingredients it's more value for money to eat in the bar.
I would go back to this hotel in an instant it's what you need for a basic holiday. 20 mins from the strip and beach at a slow walk which is nice as you aren't constantly greeted by drunks and reps. Plenty of restaurants, bars and supermarkets on the way to the main areas. Also nice facilities for the price you
Pay and run by genuine people. You would have to seriously annoy panos for him to say anything bad against one of his guests. The only people who annoy him are local lads as they make stupid amounts of noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I've stayed at the diasselo many times, and i've never been able to fault it. Went this year with 5 others and all had an amazing time. Panos and Mairanna arewarm and welcoming, and if you get chatting to them and they ask you if you want a bbq then do it! absolutey delicious! The rooms are spacious and clean with the pool plenty big enough. I'ts about 10-15 mins walk into malia with stalis the other way. If you enjoy eating out ask Panos for advice he knows where all the good places are.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the air con otherwise it gets very hot
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The purpose of my holiday was to just go out as it was a lads holiday, so i just booked into any hotel i could find, but diasselo was just brilliant. We arrived in the middle of the night, and straight away we were greeted in a welcoming manor. Panos is a great guy, really laid back, and respects all of his visitors. The food was incredible, really good quality at more than reasonable prices, i would strongly recommend diasselo to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I came to Diasselo with 5 others and couldn't fault it. Panos and Marianna are truly amazing hosts! The rooms are immaculate as is the pool and bar areas. It has a great location not far from the strip or Stalis. Sit and have a drink with Panos and Marianna before going out on the town because you will end up leaving Crete with two great friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were a group of 10 teenage girls going to Malia for the nightlife and, contrary to what some of the other reviews on here say, we weren't given a respect speech by Pannos. We were never shouted at, but that was probably because we were quiet when we returned from a night out. We were only given one toilet roll for a week between 2 of us, so we did have to buy more, but it wasn't expensive. The maid cleaned our rooms every 3 days and she did so well. We were provided with one towel each, but it was not small, unlike what one review further down says. The food at the hotel was cheap and was good quality, so that was great. We were provided with a kettle, two hobs, a set of cutlery, a couple of mugs and glasses, and a frying pan. Some of the other rooms had pots instead of frying pans, though.
The main beach, the one closest to the strip, was about a twenty-minute walk away.
Pannos and Mariana were both nice, of what we saw. They only spoke to us a few times, but then again we weren't around much.
It's €7 a night for air-conditioning, but if you don't get it and are on the second floor, the rooms stay constantly hot, if the windows are not left open.
We were close enough to the strip to be within a reasonable walking distance (about 15 minutes), but not too close that we could hear the music from the strip at night.
Overall, Diasselo were very good, definitely better than I expected, and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura2011Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews