We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a brill holiday made much better by the staff at the hotell.very friendy family”
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #40 of 90 Hotels in Malia
1 review
“Had a brill holiday made much better by the staff at the hotell.very friendy family”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Exelent servise ,very friendly and helpfull family run hotel .I would go back any day the brothers behind the hotel bar made my holliday.Real close to all the action but far enough away so its quiet enough to sleep.I would say get the air conditioning as it gets very hot lol.everything close by.also had great cheep food at the hotel bar and the pool was a fair size too.I would just like to say thanks guys hope to come back again1 day..leon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon cruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rooms were small and basic, bedding and towels changed once a week. the cleaner came everyday to empty bins, on one occasion wasnt too happy with the makeup on our bed linen. There was a leak in the shower which caused the bathroom to flood so we had to use the hotel towels to soak the water up. My friend and i took the sheets and towels to be washed at the laundrette on our 3rd day which cost us twenty euro. (not bad considering we got charged 15 for one sheet at the end of our stay for a small bit of makeup on it) air con was 50euro, well worth it as it was soo hot! not allowed on balcony after 1am. 20euro to keep the room on until 6pm the last day, which was great! The Ibiscus is situated in a great location as it is literally a two minute walk from the main strip! hotel was clean and the price we paid was fair. the shower was my only big problem. Somewhere to put ur head down at night, owners were nice and the little dog simba we loved! would go back, for no longer than one week. Malia itself is amazing i miss it everyday :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamanthaM209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Group of friends on holiday, get there at night and had to walk down a dark alley to get to the "reception" which was the pool bar. Owners were quite friendly but had to leave our passports with them for the whole week. We then had to cross a main road to get to our room... which by the way was not what I would call a room. More like a white box with a dodgey wooden bed, bits of furniture I was too scared to sit on and it looked like it had not been cleaned for the best part of 20 years. The shower was pathetic, it just dribbled, so I had to wash myself using water bottles. They said there was a cleaner, but nobody changed the sheets or towels, she would just mop the floor.To be honest the holiday was still amazing and we were hardly ever in the room so it wasnt a big deal. But my friend was accused of damaging a pillow case. We were just about to leave when one of the owners said there is a mark on the pillow case and it looked like a henna tattoo had rubbed off someones neck. Non of my friends had got a tattoo but they still tried to charge us 15euros. In the end we didnt have to pay but the owner said whenever you go somewhere and something isnt clean or damaged, you must let us or the owners know so that we dont blame you. And we were thinking, you might be insulted if we tell you everything that wasnt clean and damaged? Also if your not a fan of dogs, there are two dogs that are really cute but bark at everyone as they walk past. I dont think we will be going back... ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelibiscus, Manager at Ibiscus Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
There has to be a clarification of a few things to avoid misunderstandings. first the "dark alley" is a path paved with stone which belongs to the hotel. its private and nobody else walks it appart from hotel staff and customers. there r also lights on at night (about every 5 yards along the path) plus its being guarded by security all night. in addition, every time there has been a problem or defect, as soon as we know about it we take care of it. if there is a problem with the shower, we have to know about it in order to fix it. and we could have fixed it within the hour as we usually do. when there is a damage, usually there is a charge. in this case, the customer was asked to pay 10 euros (not 15 euros as there is a damage list in all rooms) if she is responsible for it or ignore it if she's not responsible. the latter was chosen and accepted by us. the rooms are cleaned regularly and sheets and towels changed. however if there are customers inside the room and do not allow the cleaner to enter and work, she obviously cant do her job. finally, there are 2 small sized dogs in the hotel area that have never ever been agressive and bark very rarely because of their nature (the breed is the most friendly) and because they have grown up with many people around them.its always a dissapointment when we cant be part of an amazing holiday. however the very possitive reviews posted by the vast majority give us strength to continue and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here from 24/08/2012 to 01/09/2012 , and i can honestly say this hotel was awesome ! just me and my mate went (Ollie and Christian) so only a small group ! the brothers aris and dimitri make this hotel so welcoming , we chatted to them for hours most nights about Malia and there experiences etc and they are truly two of the nicest guys you will meet . the hotel its self is very clean and tidy and very well equipped with a fridge kettle etc etc , the beds were changed everyday and were also more than comftable enough ! the pool area was great with sun all day , sky tv , wifi and plenty of sunloungers plus plenty or trees and a hammock in the shade for when it gets to hot !! All in all we had a wicked hotel and the hotel made it that much better ! thanks to Aris , Dimitri and George (aka Carl Pilikington)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is a basic stay for an 18-30 group of lads, we went from the 14th-29th of August and there was 13 of us. There was very minor problems with the rooms which were sorted straight away and apart from that i cannot fault the hotel. The owners Harry (aris) and Dimitri were the nicest guys going, always bringing food over and giving advice when needed even looked after my camera and bank card so I trust them completely. The pool area was best part of the hotel, pool was lovely and cleaned everyday but the same pool cleaner, the surronding area was in the sunshine but had trees well placed so could always get away from the heat when needed. Headbangers were a particular higlight with our group and so was the pool table, would 100% go back to this hotel and stay again and again and again. The strip was 5 minutes and small supermarkets was around a minute and large one being located at top of the strip. Been back one day and miss the place so much!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book self catering not room only, because these rooms are lot smaller and get quite ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ibiscus hotel is one of the best place i ever been .
Family run small hotel with total of 28 rooms .
Owners Aris and Dimitri make my holiday . Extremely friendly .
Pool are is great place for relax on sun or make nice pool party .
I will definitely visit Ibiscus hotel next year and recommended to every one who is looking for nice holiday

Room Tip: all rooms are basic some are have kitchen some not . If you want have kitchen facilities book sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario_Proc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel was amazing honestly, i would totally recommend this to anyone. Nice clean hotel room and pool area. Good food was served from the pool area. The brothers who run the pool area were extremely welcoming and made us feel right at home. I would defiantly go back to this hotel.
4 min away from the strip, 2 mins away from supermarket.

tom,Essex

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomashopkinson1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#21 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Property: Ibiscus Hotel
Address: 53 Venizelou Eleftheriou | Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibiscus Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing