We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its honestly really really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malia Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malia Holidays
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its honestly really really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Review from a group of 20/21year old male gone to Malia for a 2week party holiday. the holiday was amazing and the hotel was good.

FIRST VIEW-when you first arrive the hotel actualy looks alot better than i expected it to and when you get inside it has a very old fashioned feel to it. the recptionist is friendly enough but will take your passport for the duration of the holiday (for damages, its like there power because they have them and u dont get them back till you are heading home).

ROOM- Small, clean and basic. beds ok comfort, toliet ok, shower cold at peak washing time approx 11pm-1am. when i did have a shower at 11am it was perfctly hot. no shower curtain so the bathroom does get soaked, be careful not to slip. AIR CON IS GREAT a must, got great sleeps because of it,infact my room mate was cold sometimes haha .having to buy a fridge is shocking but needed.

HOTEL/POOL- receptionist are nice usualy, if u are nice to them. so i just decided to be constantly freindly and stay in their good books. Safety deposit is at recption, i personly think its good like this and someone is always at recption so felt safe to use it (more charges tho). Pool is great, seems clean and 3m deep at deep end. Pool bar, family owned and people are lovley and friendly, just wat you need after a heavy hangover. i manily bought water (1euro), friend eat at the pool bar, extremely basic, i wouldnt eat there. Security at night- can be a bit scary but again i was nice and made 'friends'with them. yes.... 40euro to bring someone home ....MORE charges haha. security make sure ur quiet and sometimes follow you 2 room. they often had 2 let me in because my roommate was asleep and they were good about it. Cleaners- come in everyday for ur bins and i think every 3 days for towels, only had my bed changed and room cleaned once on a 2week holiday ... i was ok with this.

All in all, its a good hotel .. . just do not break anything or even hint at getting anything on ur sheets etc .. .its money money money money for them .. i would say thts the only bad thing


MALIA- EATING- personaly my fave was the UNION JACK or further down the strip .. THE BULL.. food v v good in both these places. HEAVEN is ok, good for fry up. Much further down the strip is a smoothie bar, think is a normal franchies u can get here but honestly made me feel so much better at times!!! get them!! mcdonalds,subway .. always there wen u need them..... pizza slice on the way home seemed like i couldnt say no.

MALIA- going out- DRINK BEFORE U GO OUT.... its all so good tho!! ZIG ZAG the best club
BARS- get ur deal get ur deals get ur deals!!! and ur holiday wont be that expensive (loft,wkd,brits)

GOOD [--] luck with the PR .. if you go u will know wat i mean

this holiday was the best holiday i have EVER been on, you will love it!! and malia holidays was part of the stories and fun


ENJOY

happy scottish boy!!!

Room Tip: get aircon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Just came back from this hotel, and I had an amazing time. Malia holidays is run by a very sweet family and is well looked after, the rooms are very basic and appliances and air con is quite expensive ... We paid 95 euros for a fridge. Our bathroom was tiny, and you had to slide under the sink to get to the toilet, the shower does soak the floor but this is inevitable as there is no shower curtain. The balcony was lovely and spacious, if your room is on the front of the hotel it does become noisy especially at night but this is also unavoidable as the hotel is on the main strip. The pool is gorgeous and is easily one of the nicest and biggest in malia, there is always sunbeds available and the food from the pool bar is lovely. The security, as said in other reviews, is very strict at night I thought this was a downfall as the hotel is escapades and most of the guests are 18 - 30 so they should expect some noise, being escorted to your room with a baton is not nice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccajanehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We just got back from staying in Malia Holidays Hotel and honestly do not listen to the bad reviews! There was 18 of us (girls) that stayed in this hotel and managed not to get kicked out so all these small groups that got kicked out you must have either made some serious noise or set the hotel in to flames. The security guard does chase you around the hotel at night thou with his torch and tells you to be quiet be he finds it funny.
The security are really nice and so is the man that looks like he should of died 20 years ago. The rooms are basic and get very hot without air con! You also have to be stick thin to get into the shower without getting water on the floor. The wardrobes are a decent size and so are the balconys. Dont eat the breakfast unless you like rock eggs and mouldy toast. The pool is very clean and a nice size with plenty of beds. The lady at the pool bar is so sweet and there salads are beautiful. Dont be fooled by the rep she will knock you with her 'package deal' you are much better off booking it sepretaly. The reception lady during the day is sooo rude and moany. the strip itself is wild lush, safari, banana, candy and appolo are great places to go at night and then onto the beach if your looking for a large porno lol. DO NOT EAT IN STICKY FINGERS it is rotten the pub on the right as you walk down is the best place for food cant remember what it is called now something Lion it does all english food. Be warned the quads are an absaloute con and you will get robbed or hurt on them there was so many crashes while we where out there one girl even hit her head and died on one of them. The alcohol is like petrol out there and all drinks are 4 euro but for an extra euro you can have British alcohol which is sooo much better. Malia is an amazing place and i would defo go back there tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonGirlies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Me and my 4 other friends arrived here on the 12th - 19th july we left our passports at reception all week. Immediatly the rep sat us down and talked about the various activities throughout the week within 10 minutes she had us all convinced and handing her 150euros each. Can I just say don't do it this way, we found out off other guests you could just pick and choose what activities you wanted to do and pay separately, as we found ourself stuck as we had paid for everything, some activities we didnt even want to do and she wouldnt refund our money. Although I would absolutely recommend the booze cruise had the best time ever! and the bbq at the hotel.
The rooms are relatively small and compact. Place to sleep, dressing table and wardrobe. The shower well all I can say is it's basically a wetroom no shower curtain what so ever so be careful the floor does get very wet. I just have to mention the room CHARGES if anything is broken or goes missing are ridiculous. E.g - 30euro if bedsheets get dirty, 6euro if the glasses in the room go missing or broken. So basically don't break anything. We decided against getting air con as this costed 50euro although I have to say after going into other guests room with air con and experiencing it i wish i had got it.
The pool is always clean and a good size, just enough sunbeds and some music is played via the pool bar. The lady at the pool bar is sooo lovely asks if your ok says morning to you very easy to talk to.
Security is very secure at night they know who stays at the hotel and who doesnt. We left our room key at reception before we went out. There is NO way of getting anyone in at night as everyone has to go through reception... if you think that guy/girl is worth it then you can pay 40euro for him/her to stay the night! pffttt!
Food - I mainly stuck to the english food as very fussy eater. I would definatly recommend straight opposite the hotel, golden lion for lunch and 100% the union jack! good british food for tea before a night out! our favourites were the full rack of bbq spare ribs and chips or half a chicken and chips with gravy these were all under 10euro aswell!
Nights out - recommend candy, zig zag, apollo, bananna club... these are all either opposite each other or next to each other. Prices for drinks on night out pretty expensive minimum 4euro drink although most 5-6euro.... sooooo PRE-DRINKING is definatly needed either get some cheap booze from duty free before you arrive, or there is a little shop half way down the strip past the tattoo place and the medic centre its on the left hand side of the road, they sell very cheap alcohol and some food, very lovely lady who works there aswell.

All in all pretty basic hotel, lovely pool, excellent location right at the top of the strip close enough to the clubs and bars but you can still get a goods night sleep. I LOVE MALIA!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Four girls went here for a girly holiday, and absolutely loved it. We had read bad reviews so were slightly sceptical on arrival, but by the end of the holiday realised that it was definitely one of the better hotels in Malia.
It is located right at the top of the strip, so very ideal for nights out, as a good distance to stumble home. The pool is by far the best in Malia, we spent every day here. The pool bar is also very nice, serving drinks and nice food throughout the day; with the friendliest lady running it.
Although the rooms are rather small, they are absolutely fine to stay in for a week, and we didn't notice them to be uncomfortable or cramped like some reviews say.
Overall, for the price we paid, and the type of holiday that we went on, we couldn't have asked for a better holiday and would definitely return here and recommend to friends.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank smithers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

booked cheap n cheerfull last min thomas cook n didnt really no what to expect after reading so mixed a reviews but was blown away,breakfast is basic but its their every morning n the large coffee pot started my day off perfectly,our room was basic but clean,tidied n maintained daily,my view overlooked the pool which was brill,had single beds which we pushed together but were unable to make a double due to wood surround,i hated it but the wife loved it lol.the pool is by far the best on the strip and the biggest and for us the place to be everyday,plenty of sun loungers n parasols, pool tables snack bar run by the kindest sociable most willing to please staff you could wish to meet.the hotels interior is dark but clean n quirky n has drinks machine and evening cocktail bar,and the reception area and staff is an excellent area for socialising.all the staff are brill and the family members are so welcoming especially snack bar manager eva,i loved you xxx robert redford xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertredford_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

The title somes up Malia holidays. It's located in a great lively place at the top of the strip which is near plenty of bars, Clubs are quite a walk down. The Hotel is nicely structured with a nice pool and pool bar which is usually very lively. The rooms are very small and uncomfortable, which makes you very hot and forces you to pay 50 euros per week for air con. The shower is small and awkward. The 3 women who work there are very pleasent and always smile and joke with you. The main man and the security guard are not very nice. They always give you dirty looks and refuse to allow you to have any one back to your room unless you pay. One night me and my two mates were talking to a girl who ended up paralletic, she could not tell us where she was staying so we thought we would put her in our room for the night leave her there to sleep it off whilst we go back out, however the security guard followed us and asked us to pay 40 euros (when she was crashed out on the bed) or get rid of her. We refused so he fireman carried her outside and just laid her on the pavement. She obviously did not have a clue what was going on. Malia is great, Malia holidays not so sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.1 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#32 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#12 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vergas
Hotel Vergas
#36 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.5 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malia Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malia Holidays

Property: Malia Holidays
Address: 4 Zachariadi Mattheou | Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malia Holidays 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Malia Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malia Holidays Hotel Malia
Malia Holidays Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing