We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great way to see the small villages along the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Train

Happy Train
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an independent company called the Happy Train that, is on route between Malia-Hersonisoss-Stalis and a half day tour to Krasi or Mochos, day after day, in Crete Greece. All tickets can be purchased from our office in Malia or our ticket booths opposite Ikaros Hotel, Anthoussa Hotel in Stalis area.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great way to see the small villages along the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to see what Malia has to offer take this 1 hour train ride through the village and you can see all the shops and restaurants so you know what you like and go back to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    34
    15
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Malia by bus...it's easy!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

In my last review I forgot to mention that we took the bus to both Malia and Ag Nic. The bus to both places runs along the main road,5-7mins walk from Nikos Appts. Don't expect a bus like ours in the UK,mostly they're coaches,and a lot more comfortable,although they are a bit more difficult to get on to,as the steps are a bit steep. We caught the bus at bus stop no 27. The fare to Malia was 1.60eu each way,but I think a return is available. Not every bus goes beyond Malia,I think every other one turns and goes back to Horsonisis(sorry about the spelling!!??) The fare to Ag Nic,was 3.80eu single trip,and was well worth it,some lovely scenery on the way. What really surprised us was...the buses were on time!!! So much for "Avrio..avrio!!Most bus-stops have a time-table. We were told that the market in Ag.Nic was worth a visit,so we gave it a go. If you are Self Catering,the fresh produce here is very,very cheap,albeit a long way to go. However,there is a very big,modern Spar supermarket in Malia,where you can get more or less everything,plus an in-store bakery. So if your're on a budget,make a trip there,much,much cheaper than buying in the local corner shops,which are fine for bread and milk ect,but very limited in their selection. There is also a Lidl,but not too sure where.
Another thing,I don't like Air Con,and intended to take a fan with me,but at the last moment I took the fan out of my case and resigned myself to buying one when we got there. Couldn't find one in Stalis,so we went to Malia,a shop called EXPERT.who had a really good selection. The guy in there spoke excellent English, I was expecting to pay about 30eu,but once again to my surprise...only 20eu's!!
Hope you find this helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Jub B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fun day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was good to see a bit of 'real' Crete up in the mountains with our visit to Krassi. Friendly guide with a sound knowledge of the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from Crete and a trip on this is a must go on the trip to the village in the mountains well worth it.
Good value for money

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mark67710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tourist train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This train takes you around Malia, Stallis and surrounding area's well worth a little trip if walking is not your thing it lets you see a little bit of the resort

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzeroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Train also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Happy Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing