We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm Favourite”

Restaurant Socrates
Ranked #20 of 99 Restaurants in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A trip to Stalis wouldn't be the same without a visit or three to Socrates, and Adonis and family. The warmest of welcomes in a land famous for them. Excellent food, freshly prepared and served in proportions which were too much for me on two occasions this time. The large pork chop is gargantuan! I'm always sad to leave, but look forward to next year. Thanks, Adonis.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 6648John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2019

One of our favourite places to eat. Visit yearly. Very very friendly and superb food. We have already booked our tenth year 2020. Definitely will be eating here once again.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Inkredibles1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

The food here is amazing and the owner is
really friendly. There is a wide choice on the menu - the calves liver was the best!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank cjt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Proper family run restaurant with greek hospitality. Authentic flavours and with agood atmosphere and happy service.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank AKDC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

The Socrates had kerb appeal to holiday makers looking for a Greek, rather than modern, experience. The owner, Adonis, was attentive, if somewhat barmy in an entertaining way. The service was good and the food was well cooked and came in sensibly sized portions - greek specialities as well as European dishes, and a good selection of child-friendly fare for the grand children.
At the end of the meal we were offered the statutory free Raki and water melon. Take care. Since Adonis has to drink a great amount of Raki during an evening, he did water down the Raki. However, once this was pointed out, the full strength "drink" arrived.
We were so impressed that we returned and were treated like long lost friends (with full-strength Raki). Recommended!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank handing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Socrates also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Socrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing