We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Safari Club Crete

Safari Club Crete
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.03*
and up
Full-Day Land Rover Safari from Rethymno with Lunch and Swimming
Ranked #1 of 13 Outdoor Activities in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For sure the most exciting day of your holiday in Crete. Far away from beaten tracks, you will discover the wild Crete, cross mountains, through gorges, visit stunning palm beaches, amazing landscapes and enjoy sceneries of traditional life. We can promise you a day full of fun, photos and local life with our professional drivers that are extremely knowledgeable and have a great sense of humor. Fauna, flora, wild animals, mythology, traditions. With lunch and unlimited wine included ... a day that you will for sure remember for a long time.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I would absolutely recommend this trip to anyone. Myself and a friend have just come back from Crete and this was the highlight of our holiday. Simon, our tour guide was a fountain of knowledge and made the day extremely enjoyable and interactive. It is a full day tour and a BBQ is provided for lunch, which was absolutely lovely, and the wine went down well too :) Crete is a beautiful country and this trip will really show you what Crete has to offer. A must!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    45
    6
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I did this tour in September 2013 as part of our holiday at the Nana Beach Hotel.

From the outset of this tour it was excellent. Sam our driver was an absolute pleasure to be with and had the added bonus of being a long time Cretan resident so came packed with interesting knowledge about the island.

This is our perfect kind of tour. He mixed his own personal background with some history but more relevantly, day to day knowledge of the life of the Cretan people which is exactly what we wanted. By the end of the tour we felt as though we were part of the island and this has definitely had a big part in our desire to return in the near future.

The tour itself is excellent. The land rover is very comfortable considering they take you on paths which are basically shepherd trails and which you would not be able to drive in a normal vehicle. All of the planned stops are perfect for breathtaking views of the mountains and of villages and points of interest. There are a couple of 'craft stops' but there is no pressure to buy etc and they follow the laid back approach of the rest of the day. The lunch stop is pleasant and the provided food was absolutely delicious.

I cant recommend this highly enough and would suggest that if you want to know more you book as soon as possible (is also a really welcome break from the intense heat!). The only thing I would say is that if you have back problems or joint pain, you may want to think about the trip carefully as it can get a bit bumpy at times however my wife has a bad hip and I had disc replacement surgery in my back and we were both fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good day out”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was a lovely end to our holiday in Crete our driver was Geoffrey who was very informative about the island and told jokes we were picked up at 9am and enjoyed every minute of the day with the goats and had a lovely meal also the cave was a long walk

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanrosemarybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went on this with my daughter from rethymo to preveli beach. Brian are guide was entertaining and informative. Have 8 people on each landrover and there are three so get to speak to others in group. Felt a bit like top gear at times on narrow shale roads but felt safe. See old Crete, small villages. Had lunch provided. A great day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bracken5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
““Rethymno to Preveli””
Reviewed September 6, 2013

28th August had a fantastic day, lots of interesting sights, a wonderful off road experience in extremely hot temperatures. Visited lots of lovely villages and the fountains of Spili. Our driver Michaelis was very informative and the banter between all the drivers made the day very enjoyable. the route was excellently planned with some breathtaking views which you would not have seen on your own. Something everyone should try at least once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Club Crete also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Safari Club Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing