We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmospheric”

Malia Minoan Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.45*
and up
Spinalonga Island Day Trip
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Malia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The site of an ancient Minoan civilization, these majestic ruins are surrounded by the beautiful Greek countryside.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very quiet,plenty of time to explore at my own pace,no coaches or tour guides when I was there.There isnt a huge amount of information available and there is no reconstruction as happened at Knossos so you have to use your imagination a little bit.All in all,a very interesting and atmospheric place to visit with the added advantage of a lovely beach just round the corner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    223
    154
    34
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting but need a lot of imagination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was not a history student and I didn't study Greek or Latin at school but I was with my wife and she was so this helped a lot. If you do this, I recommend you buy the little book at the shop for 5 euros and have a quick read at the cafe before you go to visit the site. Or, read up on the site on the Internet before you go.. Once you know more or less what you're going to see you'll less dumbfounded along your discovery. I only gave 3 stars because there is no explanation or nothing to help you discover and no guidance as to which path to take to see everything without walking back and forth and forever recovering your steps. There is a hand out with a bit of explanation and 16 signs indicating things like North Court, Granaries and the like but that is all. There is also an M Quarter but entrance is prohibited. Visit but be prepared.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rocteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love history, so was interested in visiting the ruins when I went to Crete on holiday. My girlfriend and I went there for the guided tour. Upon arrival, we were told that the only tour given was in German. Without a guide to give us the history of the place, it was a rather boring visit. The site itself has little to offer. We took a few pictures and left promptly. Not worth the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank prkr485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“WASTE OF TIME!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Such a waste of time, if you are into ruins and History go the Knosos, much better then Malia ruins.

In this site all you see is some stones on the ground, no explanation at all

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank didiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice, but only German tourguides available :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a very interesting site and cheap! But they should have an english tour guide. But the staff is very friendly. There is a bus stop just on the road 4 minutes walk from the site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malia Minoan Palace also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Malia Minoan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing