We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastro Beach Apartments
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I came here on holiday with 9 friends and we had the most amazing time! All of us girls felt completely safe and at home at Kastro apartments. The staff were so friendly, and Charlie's bar downstairs is the perfect place to start your night with Nikos' cocktails.

The food and drinks were lovely, the rooms were spacious and clean with air con, I couldnt think of a negative point!

We had an amazing holiday and all miss it already, take us back to Malia!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 583 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here with a group of 12 girls and Kastro beach was perfect! It was so close to everything and Charlies bar was amazing for pre-drinks. When we first arrived we were greeted with arrival drinks, then when we left we were given 'see you next year' drinks.
The rooms and the pool were lovely and Gregory was constantly walking round asking if we wanted drinks or food. The hotel had a lot of events on and some nights none of us wanted to leave Charlies bar and go out on the strip. The last night we stayed at Charlies Bar until around 5:30 and the staff all stayed up with us.
All the staff were so friendly and welcoming and it was definitely the perfect place to stay and made our holiday as amazing as it was. If we were to go to Malia again we'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescaplows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is not one thing I would change about Kastros. The Staff were lovely! always welcoming , up for a laugh and very approachable . Nikos is the loveliest man ever and always went the extra mile to make our holiday super special. The rooms were clean , comfortable and well equipped. Never once did any of us, (10 girls) feel unsafe or at risk as the apartments have security all night. This holiday was amazing and I am truly going to miss this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived home yesterday from a week long stay at kastos and can honestly say we all had the best holiday ever!!!! and one of the main reasons for this was Nikos the owner of charlies bar and kastro. Could not fault anything about our stay. The staff waited up until 5.30am to greet us with drinks and show us to our rooms. The rooms are well looked after and very comfortable and all perfectly sized as our group were spread across 3 so got to see all the different kinds.

Charlies bar was the number one place to be at night and we often found ourselves staying there until 2am or later because we were having to much fun to leave. Would definitely recommend the BBQ night one of the funniest nights ever. The food is amazing and served so quickly and the cocktails are also amazing !

All in all Kastro was brilliant we could not have hoped for anywhere better and i know that all 10 of us definitely want to come back, i'm still gutted to be home and not drinking charlies special cocktails!!!!!

Amazing hotel and pool, Great staff and the perfect location

WE LOVE YOU NIKOS XXXXXXX

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all let's start with the positives as there are not many. Friendly and helpful staff, great location (2 minutes from the beach), Charlie's bar. But that's where it ends.

Now the bad... The rooms are nothing like you see on their website.
Our first apartment was close to the pool. The door had like 20 punch marks on it. That's when I first realized that we are in for quite a vacation. The apartment was so small that we barely had room to move. I don't know exactly why but the humidity in that room was extremely high thus causing it to have a rather retched smell. As I already said the staff was very helpful and they agreed to move us to the main building.

The next apartment was larger, cleaner, had a great view and most important we had gotten reed of that smell. All the pictures I've taken are from this apartment. First I noticed the sign that said that we are not allowed to bring glass bottles in the room, and to refrain from using the balcony area between 11 pm - 8 am. That must be one of the stupidest things I've ever read, and so we ignored it. The bathroom was dirty, the shower curtain was ripped, the drain was clogged up (I'm sorry I forgot to take a picture of that). The walls were cracked, the mirror was also cracked, and right above my bed there was a very nice spider web. There was a radio that seemed something out of WWII, and that, of course, didn't work. After the first night I flipped my pillow only to find that the other side was filthy. And when I say filthy I'm being kind. The thing looked like it was used to wipe the floor. I set it aside and waited to see if the maid would change it. It wasn't changed once during our stay there. As much as I was able to figure out, they changed the bed sheets and towels once every three days. Needless to say that after I saw the pillow I restrained myself from using the towels.
One of the worst things was the noise, but I guess this is applied to all of Malia. I usually sleep with the window open and there were nights when I had to count the cracks in the ceiling as I couldn't get any sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VladMI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Absolutely loved it. Me and my 10 friends were looked after so well and Nikos and all the staff were amazing. Rooms were comfortable and clean, the pool was really nice and the bar was one of the best things about my holiday. Seriously going to miss it

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilFiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Myself and 9 other girls have just come back from a week at Kastro's and we had the best week ever!
All the staff were so kind and friendly as soon as we got there with welcome drinks waiting for us and Nikos gave us some really good advise about our stay.
Charlie's bar is a really good place to start the night off and we never realised how long we were there for each night before we went out because the atmosphere and company was so fun!
All staff members were so lovely and we had so much fun with them every night and it really seemed they went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable! Especially when Nikos changed the day of the weekly BBQ to make sure we were there for it, which was so kind and the whole night was really fun!
Our room was bigger than we expected and very clean!
The hotel is really close to the beach and the strip which was a huge bonus!!
All 10 of us would definitely recommend Kastro's and we all miss it already!
Thank you Nikos!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abiwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#18 of 91 in Malia
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Beach Apartments

Address: 143 Dimokratias, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $22 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastro Beach is a great place to stay during your holiday in Malia. It is a family owned complex of apartments and studios. Having the greatest location on beach road, we are 1 minute away from the beach and a few steps from all the bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. An enjoyable 10 minute walk from our hotel will lead you to the Old Town of Malia where you can find more traditional taverns and cafes.Kastro Apartments offers a warm welcoming atmosphere for a pleasant stay. Each unit includes a balcony and has access to all our facilities such as swimming pool, pool bar, and 24 hour reception. In front of our complex your can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails at Charlie’s Bar. You can also watch all sports live and big selection of new movies. Nikos’ cocktails, games and smile are a perfect way to begin your evening in Malia. Our pool area offers a relaxing atmosphere and a pool bar where you can order food, snack, coffee or drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kastro Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Hotel Malia
Kastro Beach Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing