We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastro Beach Apartments
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

KASTRO APARTMENT HOTEL on nice but over-run Malia Beach, is a true DUMP.
Management extremely disorganized - 2 serious, possibly unscrupulous, problems
with internet reservations through Booking.com. No soap in the bathroom, bare,
bare hostel type room, extra $$ for feeble AC. Disingenuous about "1 Last room
Available" on Booking.com? 100 Euros/night!!! BOO!!
W White

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank WWW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 583 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have just got back from a 2 week holiday at kastro with 4 of my friends and out of the 5 holidays we've been on together this was the best hotel we've stayed in. The rooms are really nice and are in the process of being updated so can only get better. The air con in our room was really reasonably priced and our room was cleaned every other day without fail by the maid who was really friendly. The staff were friendly and happy throughout the entire holiday everytime they see you they always say hello and check you're ok. The bar staff at night are amazing! we drank int he hotel bar every night before goin up to the strip and had the best time ever. Theres always something goin on in the bar and everyone gets involved. The food and drinks were all cheaper than we were expencting and you could actually taste alcohol in them unlike a lot of hotel we've been to. The hotel couldn't be in a better location, you can see the beach from the front of the hotel and the start of the strip is about a 2 min walk away but you cant hear any noise from it at night at all. Theres also security at the entrance thoughout the entire night which we thought was really good.
Overall an amazing hotel that i would recommend to anyone going on holiday to malia, we couldnt hav asked for a better experience there it was PERFECT!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank amyfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Getting back from Kastro Apartments only last week, I already can't wait to get back out there! Its a perfect location, on the strip with a 20 second walk to the beach and 2 minutes to the busiest clubs in malia! Wonderful, accommodating staff who ensure that you are enjoying yourself and that your room is clean/the food is good etc, and are more than willing to give you a helping hand should you need anything! The rooms are of a good size and suitably equipped for self catering, and air con and safety deposit boxes come at a cheap, per week price! Lots of fun games and a communal swimming pool which ensures that you'll soon be friends with everyone in the hotel- and the best part? It's dirt cheap! Truely THE BEST hotel in Malia!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Kastro apartments and I could not of had a better time! If you're looking for a place to stay that has a great location, brilliant atmosphere and unbelievably friendly staff than this is the place for you.

If, like me, you are on a holiday with your friends, than there is no better place to go. The Kastro apartments are located right at the bottom of the strip, attached to Charlie's Bar. Nikos will always make sure your night gets off to the best possible start with a few special cocktails in Charlie's, then you are perfectly situated to start your night off up the strip!

The rooms themselves are basic, but it's all you need to have a great holiday, they are cleaned once every other day, with fresh sheets and clean towels being provided.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to people looking to enjoy the Malia night life, enjoy the beach and pool, and generally let their hair down whilst they're on their hols!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
7  Thank SteelONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I booked for me and seven mates for a lads holiday to Malia. We stayed here on the basis of reviews on tripadvisor and we werent disapointed. The apartments are basic but clean, we got the top floor apartment block to ourself which felt nice and safe, the pool area is small but was nice and deep and had a bar attached to it. Charlies Bar was a great starting point for a night out. Niko's made our group feel very welcome. The Malia strip is straight walk 300 metres away and the beach was 100 meters away. I recomend paying for the Aircon for a cooler room. The supermarket next door was good value and the food at the Red Lion was awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

best hotel in malia, everyone is so friendly. always feel welcomed and safe in the hotel day and night, nikos and family are lovely and will make you feel at home the second you get there! clean compact rooms, 5mins walk away from strip and opposite beach it is perfect location! also food and drinks are great and really well priced :) deffo would go back now if i could! will always go straight back if visited malia again :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Good well run place, the hotel bar was fun and your well looked after! Made to feel welcome by all the staff! Would definitely go back and recomend it to groups going for the lads/gals holiday.

Great fun and value for money 5 starts :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reedler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
14.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Beach Apartments

Address: 143 Dimokratias, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $22 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kastro Beach is a great place to stay during your holiday in Malia. It is a family owned complex of apartments and studios. Having the greatest location on beach road, we are 1 minute away from the beach and a few steps from all the bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. An enjoyable 10 minute walk from our hotel will lead you to the Old Town of Malia where you can find more traditional taverns and cafes.Kastro Apartments offers a warm welcoming atmosphere for a pleasant stay. Each unit includes a balcony and has access to all our facilities such as swimming pool, pool bar, and 24 hour reception. In front of our complex your can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails at Charlie’s Bar. You can also watch all sports live and big selection of new movies. Nikos’ cocktails, games and smile are a perfect way to begin your evening in Malia. Our pool area offers a relaxing atmosphere and a pool bar where you can order food, snack, coffee or drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kastro Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Hotel Malia
Kastro Beach Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing