We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and owners”
Review of Parthenis Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parthenis Beach
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place and owners”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place and people!
We make reservation through booking.com for Parthenis suite hotel. But the owner Mr.Parthenis was so nice and gave us suite on the top floor I his Parthenis beach hotel.
It was huge suite with separate bedroom, spacious living with fireplace, well stocked kitchen and gorgeous terrace.
Hotel is about 5 min drive to Malia and about 30 min drive to the center of IRAKLIO.
We been there at the and of March and beginning of April, so it is low season in Crete. Our family was only who stay at the hotel at this time. But Mr. Parthenis and his wife Mrs. Eleni always was there and help us.
Mr. Parthenis gave to our son canoe to enjoy sea waves and also showed to us good restaurant in old part of Malia.
It is very nice hotel and next year we will be back for sure!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mari-ya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
45
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petrozavodsk, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Parhenis Beach 11 nights in September and enjoyed vacation very much. This family owned hotel has very convinient location - right on the beach with easy walking to Malia center. We had a room on the roof called Diaz with stunning view at the Cretan Sea, so we could hear the sound of the waves breaking on the shore while sleeping. Fabulous! All staff is very friendly and helpful. Parthenis greeted us himself every morning and his wife Eleni the whole day was on site. Breakfast is cheap and quite good with fresh orange juice, tea or cofee, with two eggs any style and some choice of breads, vegetables, cheese and ham. It was always nice to start the day looking at the sea and feeling the breeze. We usually had lunch in the hotel bar which offer various salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and even fish. Huge portions at very reasonable prices. Mixed drinks and local draft beer were also very good. We liked the atmosphere of the place and felt ourselves like at home. Our best greetings to all guys: Parthenis, Eleni, Kostas, Sofia, Alex, Katerina, Rada.and all others who took care of us and helped to make our vacation so comfortable and pleasant.
Good idea is to visit for dinner Parhenis owned Drossia Restaurant which is right in Malia cener, 10 minutes to walk from Parthenis Beach.. Next year it will celebrate 40 years anniversary.
One request to owners - please, add some Russian and English TV channels.
Want to come back again next year. Definately recommend.

Room Tip: Take sea front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikhail190656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for the third time at Parthenis Palace, as always the service was great. The hotel location and outside facilities like he sun beds are one of the best on Crete. Also the restaurant of the same owner "DROSSIA" serves great food. This time we had fresh salmon.
Looking forward to go again next year !!!! - Ron & Corina Verschuur - The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Parthenis Beach Appartments in the first weeks of the summer season (April) so it was very quiet, only about 4 people on the beach, luxury! So it was a very peaceful, relaxing stay. The apartment was very clean (cleaned daily) and kitchenette provided with enough basic equipment to cook a simple meal (2 electric hobs, kettle, fridge, sink). A few pieces of fruit were provided on arrival, which was a nice touch. I did find the Deluxe Studio (for 2) a bit bare and drab compared to the promotional photos of the appartments, a few nice pictures on the walls would have really brightened it up. The size of the studio was decent (especially as most time was spent outside) for the price, the bed was comfortable, plenty of hanging space in wardrobe and free safe in room was a plus. I didn't really need a TV, all channels were Greek apart form one Dutch (?) one, a couple of the Greek channels were showing English language films with Greek subtitles. The balcony was a generous size and had a beautiful view of the sea, as promised. The hotel's restaurant Drossia was closed as out of season (as were many facilities in the resort), but I was recommended 2 restaurants in the Old Town. Staff were very helpful and gave me a map of Malia and guide book to borrow to read up about Knossos and Malia archaeological sites. Food served all day at the pool bar was quick, cheap, basic but tasty, with quite a good range. Portions were enormous and the Cretan Salad was especially nice. The staff, particularly one Dutch girl, were very helpful and friendly, which made staying as a lone traveller much more enjoyable. The one disappointment I would mention, is that there is no hot tub at the hotel. I had chosen the hotel on the basis of this (listed in the hotel description on booking websites) as I was staying early in Spring and knew the pool was unheated. So this was disappointing to be told when I got there that there was no hot tub, but a visit could be arranged (at extra cost) to a place which had a hot tub, gym and massage services. I chose not to pay extra for that, so I can't comment on what it's like. Other than this, I would recommend the hotel as a good choice for a budget stay on a beautiful beach where you couldn't possibly be closer to the sea!

Room Tip: My room was on the West side of the building, which meant the lovely balcony got the sun all day (ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a week in October here with my wife and all I can say is Thanks to the staff and owners of this hotel for a fantastic stay.
The hotel is very clean, fresh and decor upto date, and is located 5 mins walk from the main bar st.
The owners of the hotel are present everyday and cannot do enough to make your stay great.
Food is good and they also own a restaurant on bar st called Drossia which is one of the nicest places for food.
If you have read any negative reviews about this hotel I can only assume its by competitors or their families, I can highly recommend this hotel for couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great place owned by a lovely family wanting to provide a special experience. Fantastic location on the beach, great pool area, good snack menu and tables located between the pool and beach. Good rooms, very clean, the big suite overlooking the pool and beach is amazing.
I find the 1-star review I have read to be very disappointing. It is full of misleading statements. For instance, there are some rocks at the beach in front of the hotel, but it's a small area, and the rest is sandy and perfect for swimming, so it's not an issue. There are switches in corridors to turn lights on, so that's not an issue. If you don't know that Malia attracts the young crowd in summer, how is that the fault of the hotel?! And so on.
I am a great fan of Tripadvisor, and through it we have found some lovely places to stay. But it does seem to bring out the worst in some people. Please - believe the good reviews. When we stayed in October 2012, there were British guests, but most were Dutch, and they just don't accept poor quality.
And finally, the family owns Drossia restaurant nearby, and it's fantastic and immaculate. You won't be disappointed. Thanks to Parthenis and Eleni for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The suite with no number overlooking the beach is incredible. 504 next to it is smaller but still ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMacphersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cheapest hotel we've ever seen... ever! Lights in halls are on timers, so they're always dark. No full time front desk person, so sometimes you need to ask the pool bartender for help. WiFi is terrible and was not able to connect with any Apple devices. pool closes at 7 pm. Beach at this property is rocks, only the neighbors have sand into the water. the chair cushions outside all have rust stains on them. the owner advertises for his restaurant inside the hotel rooms with framed posters! no hair dryer in bathroom. worst shower head ever. very tacky room decor. super low quality partial kitchen in the junior suite, with a random bed 2 feet from the counter that sits on a metal table... do people sleep on this? For Americans who travel a lot, this was a 1 start hotel, not even CLOSE to 4 stars. The price was high $200/night for quality less than a $50 per night Howard Johnson in the states. We're blown away at the other ratings of this place. Malia was also a town for 18 to 21 year olds looking to drink all night... being in our late 20's we surprisingly felt way out of place and would not recommend staying in this town to begin with.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, or better yet, a different town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickAmanda2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.3 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 90 in Malia
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akrogiali Beach Hotel
Akrogiali Beach Hotel
#22 of 90 in Malia
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#11 of 90 in Malia
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parthenis Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parthenis Beach

Property: Parthenis Beach
Address: Tagmatarchou Grammatikaki Nik., Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parthenis Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parthenis Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parthenis Beach Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing