We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Cretan food with great Cretan hospitality”
Review of Kalesma

Kalesma
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lovely choice of food, both greek and international. One of the best restaurants in the Old Village of Malia. Nice ambience, good music, good wine!
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Authentic Cretan food with great Cretan hospitality”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We went there late November, when almost all tourist staff are closed. We found the restaurant through the beautiful narrow alleyways in old town Malia. The restaurant is delicately cozy and beautiful. The owner told us he didn't have a menu today, coz is not the season. Since we are the only customers (normal for November, when most restaurants r not even open), he took us in the kitchen and showed us the dishes that he had for the day. We had no idea what to order as we are not familiar with Greek did at all. The owner then severed us a sampler of 8 dishes and raki. Very comfortable and happy meal:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wenhuang19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    61
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best appetizers”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant, very traditional and we had baked feta tzaziki and this fried cheese as appetizers they were just great we had souvlaki as main course, the meat was very tender only minus point the waiter wasn't so nice.i recommend this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Wobbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere at Kalesma!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Old Malia. Exceptional cuisine, family owned and hospitality of the highest standard. Thanks for 2 great nights of fine dining!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macherio, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be # 1 !!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my personal #1 restaurant in Malia! Located in a small (really really small!) street in old town Malia, this restaurant has everything i look for in a restaurant! Atmosphere, cordiality and....GREAT FOOD! A MUST try for me is their Moussakà, so soft and delicious...different from Moussakas i've tryed in other restaurant and for sure it is the best one! Great selection of appetizers! You don't wanna miss the opportunity to eat in this restaurant while you're staying in Malia!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valeriaRivolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good food but limited menu choice”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I 'ummed & ahhed' about whether to give this restaurant 3 or 4 and decided, purely based on the food we had, on a 4.

This restaurant was #1 in Malia on TA just before we left.

It's in the Old Town.

We had belly pork in port wine, honey & thyme sauce and stiffado.
The food was cooked well and was very tasty, although we thought the stiffado was a little on the expensive side at 11.5 euro.

We thought the menu was a little limited - there were only 2 traditional Greek dishes on - so we only ate there once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prettypollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalesma also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Kalesma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing