We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of Spice & Royals

Spice & Royals
Ranked #34 of 99 Restaurants in Malia
Description: Contemporary fine dining Indian restaurant, modified to cater to pan European customers. Family friendly eatery located off Malia main road leading towards the Old town. We get all our produce from local Cretan farms and butchers, while all our spice are carefully handpicked from the best suppliers in India & the UK. First ever Indian restaurant in Malia & certainly one of a kind in Crete.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary fine dining Indian restaurant, modified to cater to pan European customers. Family friendly eatery located off Malia main road leading towards the Old town. We get all our produce from local Cretan farms and butchers, while all our spice are carefully handpicked from the best suppliers in India & the UK. First ever Indian restaurant in Malia & certainly one of a kind in Crete.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great curry
Staff and chef all very welcoming really looked after me and my daughter
Take away available

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank TracieM148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was told about this hidden restaurant from a friend the food was fantastic so fresh really friendly staff lots to choose from clean spacious seating didn’t feel like we were sitting to close to other table like many restaurant these days. We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 527andrewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata J, Owner at Spice & Royals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We really appreciate you taking the time out to visit our establishment and also to leave these very kind words here. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food and the service so much. It really made our day. Thank you and hope to see you soon.

Team Spice & Royals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Take some young guys who have a vision to supply top quality Indian food. They look for premises find an almost derelict old pub and start trying to locate the owner to make an offer, close the deal and then start the tortuous transformation into an Top Quality Indian Restaurant, not easy as direct flights stop in October from England so it had to be via Athens so many days a month. Thankfully they succeeded and now produce superb food possibly the best Indian food I have eaten, I am being nudged by the wife to say that the Pasander was THE BEST she has ever eaten. Re the chef, he must have had a brilliant mum and grandma to teach him because his understanding of spices and flavours are second to none (thank you mum, thank you grandma) you have produced a star. All the staff add to the enjoyment of the evening so I can't speak highly enough of them. GO ON GIVE THEM A TRY YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED. This is Indian household food at its best.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravellerDave2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata J, Owner at Spice & Royals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Nothing is more rewarding than getting appreciation from content customers like yourselves! We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for acknowledging the hard work and passion we put into our work, everyday. Our chef is really flattered to hear that and we can't wait to welcome you and your family again some time soon.

Namaste,
Team Spice & Royals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot fault this place at all. The hospitality and vibe here was so relaxed. Some of my friends are fussy eaters and these guys catered to our every need. Food was bang on. Drinks nice and cold. Even the entertainment which they didn't have to provide was spot on. A good evening spent with the staff. Will be sure to visit again when I'm in the area. Nice one boys . Yamas .

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Mr_H_Johal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata J, Owner at Spice & Royals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you ever so much for the appreciation and your kind words. Made us feel really special!
Look forward to hosting you, with your friends and family in the near future.

Regards,
Team Spice & Royals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

The food and service is excellent. We were welcomed in good hands of one of the managers who asked us how much spice we wanted in our food. Very welcoming people and selection of asian food great. Impressed with the service and quality

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank GopyPanesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgorzata J, Owner at Spice & Royals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Paji for your kind words and appreciation. Means a lot to us! Hope to have you back at our restaurant if you plan to come back to Crete again.

Thank you,
Team Spice & Royals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice & Royals also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Spice & Royals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing