We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Creta Verano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Creta Verano Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ok where do I begin? Well first of all they take your passport off you when you arrive which they are legally not allowed to do. Then they decide to charge you 55 euro per room for air con, which is on the website as included, in 34 degree temperatures. We didn't get the room we booked. We booked an apartment and were shoved into a tiny studio room with only basic facilities. There were twelve of us in one group and every one of us had to complain either because the balcony door did not shut or there was a hole in the bathroom where the neighbours could see everything etc, etc and eventually we were all relocated despite their reluctance. We were only given two toilet rolls to last us the week, which was ridiculous and not reasonable standard of service for a hotel. We were a group of young people who were completely ripped off and taken advantage of simply because of our age and inexperience as travellers. I paid £250 for a room in a hotel which didn't even include sufficient toilet rolls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is the best for young people: good prices, nice pool and rooms and the best part is that it is located 2 minutes from the clubs area.
recommended to bring some extra towels with you, cause they change em only once a week and then you don't have towels for the pool/beach, bring soap for the shower and soap to wash the dishes cause you don't get any.
toilet paper also...
few meters from the hotel you have a super market where you can buy all those things for cheep, so just bring towels, all the rest is cheap to buy.
***A/C and a safe deposit coast 20 euro per person for a week***

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Not sure where the bad reviews have come from. We went as a group of 20 boys and we arrived at the hotel after a 7 hour delay so were very late. We then left our bags and were welcomed on our way out to the strip by free shots from the bar man kostas. Now Kostas made our holiday absolutely perfect. Helped us sneak back girls, gave us free drinks, advice on which bars and clubs to go to and generally was a really nice guy!
All week the hotel staff were great and gave us all we needed. The pool is nice and the overall set out of the hotel was great. The general atmosphere of the hotel is what makes it one of the best hotels in malia and for a group like ours it couldn't have been better.
there's some negative comments about the security guard. He does make you go quieter past 11, but in no way is forceful. We always had a joke and a laugh with him! If you're friendly and chatty to him, he will be nice to you. On several occassions he let us stay out later than others just because we got on well with him.
This hotel is perfect if you go with a postive attitude and chat to all the hotel staff!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 week in july- the hotel staff were great, they know exactly what goes down in Malia and this is how they make there money all they ask I'd that you respect there stuff and don't break it or you pay for it- which is fair enough. The hotel is just a short walk from the strip but a distance from the beach, however a cab there costs €7 which isn't much between you. I woulddef reckomend for young people looking for a basic modern hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremydrewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just back from a girly holiday in Malia! We chose this hotel and are very glad we did, the staff are friendly and helpful especially the bar staff at night, always having a laugh with you! We orignally booked a large suit but got a smaller one, we wernt too bothered as our room had a balcony overlooking the pool etc.. We had to close our balcony doors at 11pm every night which was quite annoying but it was only for the locals sake which was fair enough! You wern't aloud your own water and food by the pool, if you did happen to bring it down they simply walked up to you and took it away from you haha! So buy it from them! Its in a suitable location, on the main road so no walking down scary alley ways at night and its a 3 minute walk to the strip! BUT.. It's a trek to the beach, would take you about 20 mins to walk to it, its quite hard in the 35 degree heat! But all in all very good holiday and would definalty reccommend the Cosmopolit (Especially females) They get given the better rooms.. :D

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alj93xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

stayed here for 10 nights in june, was a wicked hotel, staff was all friendly and amazing. Rooms was basic but clean and had them cleaned most days. Would advise getting aircon as was so hot, we had a room on the ground floor but was fine. Not allowed own food and drink around pool area, but think thats normal for malia as stayed at happy days last year and was the same. Manos is the man :) get a free welcome drink when you arrive and also sometimes a few cheeky shots.
Reccommend going to star beach, eating at red lion and sticky fingers and defo check out safari.
Defo would go back and stay at cosmopolit if was too return to malia again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire_solly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Amazing holiday. Fantastic hotel. The hotel was a bargain so we were a little worried about the quality but it suppressed our expectation. Only thing was that we had to buy our own loo roll. Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
4.3 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#36 of 172 in Hersonissos
419 reviews
15.7 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#13 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
672 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pela Maria Hotel
Pela Maria Hotel
#68 of 172 in Hersonissos
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#23 of 172 in Hersonissos
366 reviews
8.6 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
664 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#51 of 172 in Hersonissos
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Verano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Verano Hotel

Address: 183 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece (Formerly Cosmopolit Apartments)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creta Verano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Verano Hotel is located in a prime position at the high end of the pedestrian zone of Malia on the island of Crete. This 3 Star superior hotel, makes a great base for everyone with 45 rooms in 3 different types split between 4 blocks for all your needs. From the first sip of your welcome drink, our Hotel proves that it is the perfect choice for holidays in Crete, close to all the action in the resort, the city and the beach. Operates in All inclusive base. Renovated in 2013-14 winter time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Verano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolit Apartments Hotel Malia
Creta Verano Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing