We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to relax ? This is the right place !”
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Mare Monte
Ranked #3 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Want to relax ? This is the right place !”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went to Greece for the first time and it wont be my last ! The Villa Mare Monte is a small complex where you can relax from all the stress.

We arrived on the 18th of july around 11pm and Mandy was already waiting for us. First impression was really good. We went up to our room and were more than happy with it. Good size with a little kitchen and small balcony. Went to the bar cause it close at 1am to have a nice cold Mythos. Later on we met Koola the owner of that lovely place and she promised us that they will do everything for us and we only need to relax. This promise was kept!

The next morning we woke up with an stunning view to the mountains (see pictures below)

Thanks to the air conditioning we slept really well and run against a wall after we opened the door. 30 degree at 9am, yes we are on holiday ;-)

Breakfast is continental. Bread, toast, cheese, ham, cereals, greek yogurt ect.

Sharon was really nice like all the other staff members and served us every morning with fresh eggs. Omelet, boiled egg, scrabbled egg what ever you want.

The pool/bar area is big enough for all guests and also enough sunbeds are available even if a couple of germans would block the sunbed with there towels, but lucky for us non where blocked at any time ;-) There is also minigolf area and relax building with two pc´s which internet using is free and free wifi at the bar area. Also pool billard is available.

The complex is a bit up the mountain in a really nice and quiet location, but not to far away from Malia or the beach. But if you like to leave the complex every day and got walk restrictions you may need a taxi. Young and fit people dont have any problems.

On the third day we had a problem with the air conditioning which wasnt working anymore. Later the day the janitor came around to check it but couldnt do anything, i guess a broken cable.

I just went to Koola to tell her the bad news, but before i could say a word she apologized and said that we get an other room and apologized again. So we get an other room which was an upgrade in the end, with a bigger balcony with seaview.

We enjoyed our stay so much that it was really hard to leave that place again.

If your a couple or family, this is the best place to stay and relax cause no party is allowed !

THANK YOU AGAIN TO ALL THE STAFF !!! WE WILL BE BACK !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loykymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    45
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went over on my first independent holiday with three of my best friends and could not have asked for a better place to stay. It was clean, quiet and welcoming! Not too far away from beaches or 'the strip' Villa Mare Monte was a beautiful hotel to be staying at and we will all come back again next year! Food and service was excellent and the room was lovely too! Massive shout out to Mandy who made us feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to be staying there! 5/5 from me and my friends and see you in a year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyTidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just arrived home from Malia, where me and 3 friends stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and I can honestly say that I couldn't have asked for a better hotel.
This is absolutely 5 star! It is situated in such a safe, quiet area away from all the noise, yet only a 15/20min walk down to the night life, which was great for me and my friends! The surrounding views are also BEAUTIFUL and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony which is just what we asked for. The staff are so nice and look after you very well. The food is great especially the BBQ night! Drinks and food are very well priced with lots to choose from. The rooms are nice and big with lots of drawer and wardrobe space, which was suitable for us 4 teenagers!
The only downside of the hotel is that it is situated on a big hill which wasn't pleasant walking up in the heat, but taxi's are always available, although they are quite pricey.
The hotel is definitely suitable for all ages and if you are young, like me and my friends, we all felt very safe and well looked after.
We had the BEST time and can't wait to return in the future! (hopefully veryvery soon!)
This hotel is definitely worth the money and my friends and I were very sad to leave!
Shall definitely be returning to this incredible place! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. We had a lovely relaxing week in the sunshine in a peaceful setting. The bbq night was delicious and well worth the price. The self catering accommodation was clean and spacious. Olga is a star. On the downside, there was no internet for most of the time we were there. There is a charge for air con which we were not aware of when we booked. The walk up the hill is horrendous and off putting in the dark, with dogs barking in derelict buildings and little lighting, after having a lovely relaxing meal and a few drinks it soon sobers you up. The taxi fair up the hill is 7 euros which is extremely excessive for a two minute journey. The room charge to keep your room on is worked out per person and as we were 2 parents and 2 children aged 16 and 17, classed as adults, it was 40 euros, which again I felt was excessive and a strange way to work out a charge. All in all we did have a fantastic holiday. The restaurants in the old town are lovely and serve delicious food and the ones on the strip are good value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gills763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a find the Villa Mare Monte is! On one hand, you want to tell everyone to go there, but on the other, it's such a special little place, you selfishly want to keep it to yourself so it remains an unspoilt secret.

We've just returned from a wonderful week there, during our first visit to Crete. At the modest prices charged, one might expect modest standards, but no – we were accommodated in a large, spotlessly clean, sun-filled suite with a living and dining area plus kitchenette, and a balcony with a spectacular sea view. Our inclusive breakfast of local breads and pastries, yogurt, honey, fruits and cereals, plus eggs every which way (and a full cooked breakfast can be whipped up by cook Olga for a small extra charge) was fresh and ample and we enjoyed it outdoors, under the shade of the pergola by the pool and its simple bar, which is set in a small, lush garden filled with orange trees, bougainvillea and hibiscus.

The setting, in the foothills of the mountains above Malia, and a pleasant 10-minute walk down a dusty road from the winding narrow lanes of the charmingly picturesque Malia Old Town, could not be more perfect. It's too far from the clubs and bars of the Strip for your lie-in to be disturbed by anything other than birdsong, but near to the main road for catching local buses to Aghios Nikolaos (for boat trips to Spinalonga, the former leper colony made famous by the novel The Island by Victoria Hislop, wife of Ian) and Heraklion (for the vast Minoan ruins at Knossos) or hiring a car, moped or quad bike to explore the hinterland of the verdant Lasithi Plateau atop the vertiginous range (recommended: lovely Mochos, which hosts a night of Cretan music and dancing in its village square every Wednesday), criss-crossed by switchback roads, or the spectacular coastline (recommended: ridiculously pretty Sissi, with its natural harbour and tall ships; chic Elounda, holiday haunt of Jennifer Aniston, with its waterside fish restaurants; the unspoilt, near-deserted golden sands of Potamos beach – perhaps the best in Crete - near the ruins of the Malia Palace; the five-star resorts of Stalida, such as the Blue Sea Village, the grounds of which you can sneak into from the beach to marvel at how the other half live).

Malia New Town has a wow-inducing Orthodox church with jaw-dropping wall and ceiling frescos – just remember to be dressed modestly when you visit so as not to be denied entry – and, out towards the harbour, a fascinating cemetery with poignant glass memento boxes of the deceased's favourite possessions on each marble tomb. The road that runs directly behind the very pleasant if busy beach has taverna after taverna offering good, inexpensive food, towering ice-cream sundaes and the very quaffable Mythos beer (just 2.50 euros for a pint). Order light – many meals are served with a complimentary starter and dessert, plus the obligatory if undrinkable shot glass of ouzo. Even the undeservedly infamous Strip is worth a wander by day – we enjoyed lounging at the stylish alfresco Drossia bar – and braving the dozens of teenage touts (mainly British students desperate to lure you into their club so as to keep their jobs for the summer) offering the legendary (and lethal) 'fishbowl cocktails' at rock-bottom prices by night is worth doing at least once, however old you are, for the xperience! That's about as near as you'll come to the 18-30 crowd – the hotel is too far from the adolescent action to make it a viable venue for those wanting to party (all-)nightly. Better still, if you come in late-May/early June, as we did, the bars will have opened for the season, but the punters won't yet have finished school or uni for the year.

For a more peaceful drink, be sure to visit Giannis's atmospheric, creeper-clad cafe-bar, on a corner of a street in the Old Town to sip a glass of something cooling in the roof garden as the sun goes down – you'll recognise Giannis's Welsh wife Sharon from the breakfast shift at the hotel. Alternatively, pull up a stool at the Villa's bar and chat to Mandy, who's on hand to dispense drinks and dry wit after dark. Friday night is barbecue night – as much meat as you can eat, amazing rosemary roast potatoes as well as baked spuds and a range of salads, followed by desserts, for a bargainous 17 euros.

What's really remarkable about Villa Mare Monte, though, is the hospitality. Owner Koula treats every guest with the same care and personal attention as a guest in her own home – which indeed you are, as she and her husband George and her father, known by everyone as Papi, live below the rooms they rent out, just beyond a little rose garden. She and her Greek and British staff offer tip-top service and tireless advice in equal measure – no wonder so many of our fellow guests were returnees, a good number of them having holidayed at the hotel annually or even bi-annually for over two decades. At the end of an action-packed week – though there were ample poolside loungers, we barely lay on them, so much was there to see and do – we exchanged hugs with Koula (and the gang) like old friends. But I don't suppose it'll be the last time we see them – we're already talking about when we might make a return trip!

Room Tip: Suite 18 for a party of up to 6, or 19 for a couple or a family of 4: corner position, upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WingNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights on June 2013 and then changed our plans to return for another night.
The rooms are huge,nicely furnished, well maintained, clean, spacious and extremely welcoming.
It seems like the staff has made it their life goal to make each guest feel at home (without having to take care of cooking and cleaning naturally). Every single request, every single inquiry and every single suggestion are met with a genuine smile and a hearty, and from experience a successful, attempt to get the job done.
The location itself is unique as it combines vicinity to the beach, a mountain view and the song of birds alongside the chitter chatter of wild goats roaming the mountain side.
All in all, saying that we've got our money's worth would be a crude understatement.
Thank you Koula, Sharon, Mandy, Olga and the rest of the staff we neglected to mention for a truely envigorating stay. You've made our holiday better than we had hoped for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podliszewskilavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, myself and our 2 daughters (aged 12 and 10) spent the half term week in Villa Mare Monte. It was a much welcomed change to the All Inclusive we have got used to but are now very sick of!! The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The food was very good but a little expensive compared to the town bars and restaurants. But to get to the town was a 20 minute walk through baron lanes. The walk wasn't very pleasant but once you arrived in Malia town it was very good. Loads of bars and things to do etc. Back to Mare Monte - a little gem really, set in the mountains and very quiet. No scrambling for Sunbeds at the crack of dawn, no loud music - quite idyllic really.

But there is always room for improvement - the rooms were very basic - there was Air Conditioning but you had to pay for it - it was so hot a night, it was a must. Unfortunately, the WiFi was down for most of the week we were there, through no fault of the hotel but it was still a little inconvenient.

I would definitely recommend this place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebraO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.8 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#5 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Property: Villa Mare Monte
Address: 2 Kondylaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing