We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in malia!”
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Mare Monte
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A family run hotel about 10 minute walk from the main nightlife. Nestled in the mountains. Which is great as you have an escape from the nightlife.When you first walk through the doors you a greated with beautiful gardens a great pool and bar area for guests. The rooms are well with all the essentials and kept extreamly clean, fresh towels every day!! but what really makes this a really great hotel is the amazing staff! You feel like you are part of the family here. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one that wants to visit malia. I will be returning again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poppys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here in August with my girlfriend, the hotel is great for a couples holiday it is situated in a very good location surrounded by stunning scenery. It is a perfect distance away from the Malia strip to enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday although for a crazy night out it's only a ten minute walk to the strip so we spent quite a few nights down there. The hotel is also located quite close to the old town of Malia which has some nice Greek restaurants. The staff are very friendly and would do anything to help, whilst we were there they sorted out our car rental, water park tickets, etc. The rooms are quite spacious and have everything anyone would want for a great holiday. The pool area is fantastic there are loads of sun beds to cater for everyone even when the hotel is full, so there's no need to get up early to reserve your sun bed which is a big plus. Finally I'd definitely recommend attending the hotels BBQ which is held on a Friday night the food is brilliant and is all you can eat.

Overall a great hotel, great location and great staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AandN z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The perfect stay in Malia, along with 4 other guys (all of us 19) we experienced mad crazy night life and by day the most relaxing experience. Situated a 10 minute walk away from the strip no noise is heard whatsoever, the hotel is driven by the most incredible people Khula (the cook) Ulgar (the cleaner) and Mandy and Sharon who were like mothers, can't praise them enough. A good variety of food on the menu and reasonably priced for the great quality and speed. Can't recommend Villa Mare Monte enough, truly made our holiday the most amazing experience imaginable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to Malia, there was myself, my wife and 2 friends we were out on a clubbing holiday visiting people working in Malia and other friends that stayed elsewhere but having these villas and facilities during the day made the holiday so much better.
We were getting in late but down by the pool/bar by 11 and first it was Sharon working and she was very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble the on the later shift Mandy came on and again was very friendly and very helpful!
The room was excellent clean and tidy and the room was tidied and changed on a daily basis.
Being 15 minutes from the beach road strip during the day was the best part becasue it was very quite and the surrounding views were amazing.
The pool was a very good size and the perfect cure from a heavy night. They also let our friends come up during the day to use the pool as they were not really busy.
I would 10% recommend these villas for both relaxing and clubbing holidays

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbartlett1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The experience at Villa Mare Monte was exciting and friendly. The pool is lovely and great for swimming lenghs or having fun with your family and friends. There is lots to do inside the hotel or in Malia, for example, you could play chess, billiards and mini golf or go sight seeing in the mountains. The walk to the supermarket is about 10 mins but the shop is very big so it is worth it. There are also some nice restaurants in the old town like St Georgiou. Villa Mare Monte also does bbq's and happy hours which are great fun!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Me and 3 friends went to Villa Mare Monte for 10 days at the beginning of July, It was our first girls holiday without parents etc, and obviously we were excited, yet also slightly nervous. However as soon as we got to mare monte we felt right at home, the apartments were a good size, comfy beds and very homely, and the views from our balcony of the sea, mountains and most of Malia was a stunning thing to look out to. The pool and bar area was a great place to relax in the day and Mandy and Sharron looked after us, and made our stay very comfortable. We heard the walk to the strip and supermarket was difficult, but we found it fine, although we did use taxis and quad bikes at times, when it was really hot during the day.
Malia itself was unforgettable, leaving was one of the hardest things I've ever had to do! We met some lovely people, who we are already planning on seeing again... Overall I would say that Malia and Villa Mare Monte are highly recommended to young people who are looking for fun in the sun, and also some relaxation. I miss it already, after being back for only 2 days, I would definitely, without a doubt return to Villa Mare Monte!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wow what a great place to stay. Villa Mare Monte itself is lovely, well kept building, beautiful well kept gardens, nice clean pool and a good size, free sun beds, free crazy golf....and what really topped it off was all of the staff A************* What an amazing bunch of people.
As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Mandy, still smiling and making us feel right at home even at 1am in the morning. In fact she was due to finish but stayed there and kept the bar open so we could have a drink. Each and every one of the staff looked after you and genuinely wanted to know how you were, always made the effort and making you smile. Wasn't a day that went by where you didn't feel at home.
As a couple we wasn't sure whether we would feel the odd ones out but their was a mixture so we was absolutely fine.
Thanks again to all at Villa Mare Monte. You definately made our holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.7 mi away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#13 of 91 in Malia
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#27 of 91 in Malia
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Matheo Hotel
Matheo Hotel
#31 of 91 in Malia
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Address: 2 Kondylaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $26 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing