We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek hospitality”
Review of Villa Mare Monte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mare Monte
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived, without any reservation, in the late season in Mallia. The GREAT Greek lady, the manager, was so kind to give us a room for a few nights. Very good facilities, nice personell, good breakfast, very tasty Greek barbecue/grill, nice pool, and this all on walking distance from the centre and the beach of Mallia. But far enough away to not hear any noise from the city, but just the bells of the sheep in the mountains! The owners of this resort are the examples of what the Greek people are famous for: hospitality. Still, when I think of the few nights me and my friend spent there, I have warm feelings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diekejanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here with group of friends last year and it was brilliant its not like hotel it's small apartments which is better they were clean and had everything we needed ! The staff here were brilliant treated us like we were family and all had the time of day to have a conversation with u ! There is a small walk down to the strip but it wasnt that bad but wouldn't advise anybody to do it alone at night ! Overall great experience and nice food !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindzDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here July 2011 very pleased when we arrived the bed was huge !! Me and 4 friends came to Malia for a week to party at night but relax by day, these apartments were ideal !!! Staff were amazing, Koula was a lovely woman who made us feel very at home apartments were so clean and just a lot more than what we expected. One downfall was the security guard kicking off at us for being loud when with a group of 20 year old girls what do you expect, would easily recommend this place and would consider bringing my daughter when it's not Party season !!! X

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gejox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Me and my Friend stayed here for one week in 07-14 October 2011.

We had a great time.

The accommodaction was perfect, we were on the ground floor, Room 17. We have a open plan living room and kitchen with everything needed to cook (we eat out most night).
The bathroom was clean. The bedroom was massive, very big. Best of all from the bedroom you could open up the double door and walk out into the patio with chair and unto the garden with beautiful view of malia, stalis and the sea.

The walk to the beach and the town was not as bad as we thought, we just took our time walking there and back. Only thing was being two female we didn't want to be walking out late at night (no street lighting on the road) so this meant an early dinner in town in order to get back to the hotel before night.

On couple of night we eat at the hotel, Koula is a wonderful cook. We had the meze, which was to DIE FOR!! i'm still thinking of the wonderful food Koula cooked for us.

The staff were amazing, thank you all for a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Been back a week after staying at the mare monte for ten nights. Had a really wonderful holiday there. I was a last minute booking after finding this on teletex hols and it seemed to have good reviews. Its located about fifeteen min walk from the village of malia which is five mins from malia strip. Its at the foot of the mountains and is in a really stunning loaction, never got bored of watching the mountain goats climb the shear faces.
Most of what can be said about the location is already on the reviews we found it just right but we were after relaxing time but within walking distance of resurants etc. i don,t mind a short walk on hols in exchange for peace and quiet!
The beaches are half hour walk and there is a good choice. Buses run to the main town and st nicks both well worth a visit, loved the beech at st nicks.
Or room (24) was basic, bit small but very clean and just right for us. The Mare monte is a family run complex with the owner living on site. Its spotlessly clean and very well run the pool is crystal clear and the complex has trees well kept grass etc. The owner Koula made us feel welcome and is genuinly frendly and approachable. Nothing is to much trouble and Mandy and sharon are both lovely. Its the first place ive been where the first thing i was given was a warm welcome and a cold drink. We met another two couples whilst there and had some great evenings eating in the old town and having a drink at the pool bar afterwards.
I would recomend this location for familys, couples and maybe some of the more sensible youngsters who want to visit the strip but not stay there.
We may well return next year, but i will book flights direct and book direct with the villa rather than book a package Hols taxi from the airport is 50 euros so you can stay here on a budjet and still get a much better level of accomodation than a package holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AverageGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well here we are again another wonderful two weeks at Mare Monte,this just keeps getting better & better,there is not a lot more we can say other than thanks to everyone involved in making our holiday so wonderful,to the raki drinkers from the first week,hi everyone keep taking the medicine,Prash you are going in the pool next time so learn to swim,to the students in the second week,I do hope life back at uni isn't too strenuous,still the walking must have kept you fit,pleasure to see you in the middle of nowhere waiting for local buses instead of the damn quad bike that you youngsters seem to love in Malia,quite refreshing I have to say.
Mandy I'll will be in touch soon & don't forget Yvonne & Ken really want to see you at their house
Koula & George only one thing to say to you we love you this much !!!!!!!!

Olga & Sharon what a wonderful job you are both doing keep up the good work,you are both wonderful.

We would like to meet all of you once again,perhaps not next year although we will be there but certainly the following year as it is someones special birthday,but please stay away from Room 18 that is ours,we have paid for it it belongs to us,Koula knows what I am saying,
Please everyone reading this don't think I am being biased because I have been here so often it is truly a wonderful place.

Love you all

Ken,Gill & Geoff

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WINDSOR034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have not stopped thinking and talking about our memorable stay we had Mare Monte, and can’t wait to come back next year.
Firstly we want to thank you all for making us feel so welcome to your wonderful family run holiday accommodation in Malia on the beautiful island of Crete, we couldn’t of asked for anything more perfect for both of us to enjoy.
The location of your villas in the mountains made our stay very private and relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of “ The Strip”. But with the advice of Sharon we hired our quad which allowed us explore the very stunning surroundings you have right on your doorstep ( we are jealous).
Our room was very clean and had an amazing view of the sea so we were able to sit and relax and take it all in as the sun was going down each evening.
The grounds were very well kept with beautiful trees and plants…lovely to see.
We enjoyed our breakfast each morning by the pool, with lots to choose from and as much as we wanted.
But most of all your hospitality and kindness made our holiday one not to forget…ever!!!!!
You truly are a very lovely family and all work very very hard, and that’s what makes Mare Monte so Amazing.
We were so sad to be leaving, but have our memories. We were delayed 24 hours on our outbound flight but it still did not spoil our holiday.
We will keep in touch, and let you know when we have found some flights for early September 2012.

Thanks again your one in a million.

Much love
Richard & Zoe
xxx

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardnZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.7 mi away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#27 of 91 in Malia
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 91 in Malia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 91 in Malia
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mare Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mare Monte

Address: 2 Kondylaki, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $25 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mare Monte 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Mare Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mare Monte Hotel Malia
Villa Mare Monte Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing