We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay and value for money!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yiannis Manos Apartments
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay and value for money!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a fab time at this resort. Wanted a last minute cheap getaway and I couldn't honestly fault this place. We booked through Olympic Holidays and read all reviews on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed at all. I would imagine that people in their late 40's as am I would be worried about going as Malia has a reputation for young party people. However, we found the resort a good mixture and not as many young people. We couldn't fault Yiannis Manos at all. The room that we were allocated (201) was very clean with the linen smelling nice and fresh and for once the beds were very comfortable. The room was very basic with minimum utensils, but that didn't bother us as we knew we would be eating out all the time although there were enough plates, cutlery, cups & glasses for breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beautiful pool. The cleaner came in every other day with clean towels and to empty bins, sweep & mop. The bedding was changed mid week and as we were only there for 1 week that wasn't a problem. There is a list in the rooms of charges if you cause damages. I for one think this is very reasonable, if they had to cover the cost for every breakage the complex would not be in business and I'm sure there is quite a lot in the 'mad season'. You can eat on the complex as Aris the chef does excellent food or there are many tavernas for you to choose from, all very reasonably priced. The complex is about a 10-15 min walk from the main strip which some people did say was far to walk however, if it was closer you would hear more noise from the strip, also it was a good way to walk of your evening meal. You could also get a taxi near McDonalds for around €6-7. Illianna was a great host behind the bar together with Manos & Stephanos with their cheeky banter, especially Illianna who had a smile for every person that was served. She worked long hours 7 days a week and still managed to laugh and joke with all the guests. Elaina who works on reception was very helpful also as we had problems getting connected to the Wi-Fi but she got it sorted for us and finally George the night watchman who sat outside all night near the gates making sure there was no trouble from unwanted guest's and that the complex was safe and secure. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Yiannis Manos and would recommend anyone thinking of going to Malia to check this complex out first!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    69
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
49
75
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, null, Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff at this hotel are amazing. Illiana was lovely, always smiling and made every morning worth getting up for, despite being hungover. She knew our daily breakfast order and was so helpful, had the answer to any questions we asked. She made "the best sex" (sex on the beach cocktails) which was always a great way to start our evenings. The pool was lovely, clean and we had no problems trying to get a sunbed. Steven was great, came and made sure we were alright and offered us drinks as we were sunbathing! Manos the bar man was a great laugh, lovely to chat to and made us feel really welcome! Reception staff were very helpful and were also really nice about the fact we broke a glass! Yiannis made our holiday the best holiday ever, he was always happy, joking around with us! There's a small shop which is literally a 5 minute walk away which had all the basic essentials. I would definitely recommend eating in the hotel restaurant, Aris the chef was amazing! They serve almost everything, was never short of choice and everything we had was delicious! Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the strip which is ideal for holiday makers who are going for a party holiday! Would definitely recommend this hotel, looking at prices to book myself a holiday for next year again! Cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying Illiana makes the holiday enjoyable. She is very friendly, attentive and outgoing. A wonderful member of staff. She always has a bright smile and makes you
feel good.

Best quotes from her are, "Henry come shake your balls" and "I sabotage you, I am sorry" haha.

Moving on to the actual review. The hotel is basic and from what you pay, you cannot complain. It is clean and safe.

The pool is good and there was no problems in getting a lounger.

The food is good and the chef is friendly.

The grounds are well kept and there were some lovely birds flying around the pool.

If you are buying groceries, do not buy from the local shops. They are expensive. There is a spar on the strip which is cheaper or you can walk up the strip at the top end by the old town by the church and there is a grocery where the locals shop. That is very very cheap.

The hotel is far enough from the strip to be away from the craziness but if it is the craziness you are after, its only 10 mins away.

Some feedback for the hotel is;

Consider a kettle in the rooms.
Consider changing the shower curtains so the bathroom does not get flooded.
Update the beds as they can be a bit uncomfortable and unstable.
My flight was at 3:30am and I tried to extend my room cause you had to check out 12:00 the day before. Receptionist tried and said there were no vacancies. We saw like 5 people arrive even though 25 of us were leaving and there was vacancies.


These are minor things and had only a small impact on the holiday.


I would definitely recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iereboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After booking aoa with Olympic we landed here the first of the all inclusive what a holiday hot weather, fantastic food and the staff what can I say service over and above, nothing to much trouble for them .please book with them for a great holiday you will not be disappointed very clean well looked after, thank you guys for smashing time hope to see you next June and not forgetting reps Lizzie and Nicky thank you girls


Mum Jackson one of the crazy gang

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked allocated on arrival and couldn't have been happier. Travelled as a group of 7 males females ages from 49 to 66! Age didn't matter, we were made so welcome from start to finish. Getting towards end of season so quieter than usual which gave us plenty of sunbeds and not much waiting at the bar. Drinks are reasonable with special offers. 2 pool tables. Food is fresh, delicious and also reasonably priced although kitchen is well equipped for cooking something up, (no kettle though) 2 ring hob, toaster, fridge. Beds are noisy... ahem!.... but comfy enough. 2 pools - nice garden bits - clean - well laid out. Staff are wonderful. Security guard will stop any late night noise and sits 'on guard' ensuring you feel safe. Views over the pool and mountains.. lovely. We all want to return.
We like Stalis for our nights out and we went on our quad bikes but the police are on the ball so this is at your own risk. Taxi's can get pricey but if drinking in Malia then its not too far (although my old bones and high heels wouldn't have made it on foot). :(
We found the quads handy for getting to the better beaches too although there is a beach quite near by.
I liked that the sunbeds are on grass too rather than concrete around the pool.
All in all it was a great place to stay and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pool view with lower floor because there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is lovely, if took us only 5 mins to walk to the strip and sometimes would get taxi back if we went into the old town, it cost around 7 Euro's. The food was lovely, my only complaint was we paid bed and breakfast but this did not include tea or toast and cost another 6 Euro's for this, but it was no problem as we just got some bread/butter milk and teabags and had our tea and toast in the room. There are several lovely beach's nearby. the staff are so friendly and make you feel very welcome. We stayed 2nd week in September and it was wall to wall sunshine, a lot of the pubs and clubs on the strip were closed but there are still plenty of pubs open at this time of year although a lot more laid back i would imagine than July and August. The pools are lovely and always plenty of sunbeds. I WOULD DEFFO RECOMEND THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Ground floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollytemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wow, just arrived back from Yannis Mannos. Where do I start? FRIENDLY, clean, great atmosphere, fun, attention to detail, even concern for peoples well being. Thank you all for a FAB time Iliana, Monos, Alexis, (Super) Mario and even George the grumpy night security guard helped us with every thing.

Oh and don't forget to ask Iliana about Henry's Underpants.........Soooooooo funny lol x

YAMAS!

Room Tip: I was alone and was allocated a 4 bed room where others had smaller rooms and some wher empty so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.6 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
1.4 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 90 in Malia
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.5 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#6 of 90 in Malia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Manos Apartments

Property: Yiannis Manos Apartments
Address: | 1866 Str, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Yiannos Manos Apartments Hotel Malia
Yiannis Manos Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing