We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what You pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunshine Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Studios
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You get what You pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Sunshine Hotel ,the apartments and the Nataly are all near identical buildings lined up in a row owned by the renown Scary Mary. They share the swimming pool bar and eating facilities shown to the left of the photo behind 2 ladies on deck chairs and also the upstairs area with pool table.
The hotel is for bed and breakfast bookings and is a mixture of smaller rooms and also some apartments.The other two buildings either side are all apartments so I guess.

We were late bookers arrived at midnight with no bookings advised to Mary but she quickly had a bed made up for two pensioners in the 20-25 disco led hotel.

As we had asked for an apartment,this was soon sorted out at a reasonable extra cost for the larger rooms next day. We decided to stay with the youngsters and apart from odd looks we had a great time.Not sure about what they call music ? which was played at acceptable levels.
I have no doubt Mary has had a few bad visitors and is quite capable of sorting them out and her command of English is second to none.A Noisey drunk lady returned early morning and was soon sorted out
Food is basic, reasonable and somewhat limited as are the bottled or canned beers.Otherwise cocktails and liquor are far more than adequate.
The cheap or sometimes included continental breakfast was identical each day which could be the only easy improvement.She does know how to make an excellent cuppa.Breakfast times are stricktly adhered to, what would you expect.
Facilities in the Hotel are basic,ie no phones televisions or microwaves in the rooms.
Safe is in lounge and security is monitored.
Location wise this place is near perfect and you can set off in three directions, two to the beach and one into town and also goes to the beach/strip.
Cleanliness seems highly important and above standard for this level though the sheets provided seemed well used but would have been changed 4 times in seven days had I even used the top one.(Surprise heatwave in Sept).
Minor problem are the quad bikes/motors that pass close by but in Sept this was minimal.
All in all it is pretty quiet as only domestic properties are now directly over the other side of the road.
Giant TV with Sky for football had unstable picture so we left rather than watch it..
I am aware someone was less that happy with the place but believe their expectation of a two star Greek disco hotel was unrealistic.
Very minor point is that the solid doors do tend to slam (blame the mental age of some of the customers)
Charge for keeping a room after the midday deadline seemed highish and was not taken up.Suitcases were monitored in reception though.

Room Tip: Depends when you go ? Overlooking the pool is possibly noisier. Information about the town then ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ignore all the bad reviews, just got back from here with a group of 16 lads. Never been treated so well at a hotel, we respected them and they respected us. Manos can be rude but he's just doing his job and thats to keep the locals happy. Danai who's the owner is probably one of the nicest ladies I have ever met. I recommend the food at this hotel, very nice and good value for money!

The only downside is that its quite tucked away from the beach, but only a short walk to the strip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Overall my holiday to Malia and stay in the Sunshine Apartments was to a 5 star standard and beyond, however there was one negative that was out of the control of the Sunshine Apartments - The reps!

With this being my fourth 18-30s lads holiday I knew what to expect on arrival, reps trying to sell you their excursions like their lifes best thing. Do not book these, as they are firstly over rated and secondly you can booked them for much cheaper with companies on the strip! Anyhow, me and my four friends booked a paint party with the rep, paid 35 euros each and accidently missed it as we where not made aware of the time it started... 5pm, we were at the beach! Obviously this can't be blamed on the rep but on request of a possible refund or using this money towards another excursion such as the boat party (we were all willing to pay the difference) we were told this wouldn't be a problem... we never heard from this rep again the whole week... and he said their not on commission anymore... sure! The other escapades rep spoke to us twice the whole holiday, a hello on arrival and to fill in an incident form for a friend of mine who suffered illness while on holiday... in fact, he was left to fill the form in while she sat away in the shade as it was too warm for her to take 5 mins to fill in the form on his behalf! Like I say, Ive been to Ayia Napa, Magaluf and Gumbet on 1830's holidays and the reps where fantastic there... a big no no to these repping at the sunshine apartments! we didn't even get offered the big reunion tickets which we were planning to attend as we had been there before and had a great time, we'll have to look at booking these tickets with another rep that I know! Shocking customer service and this was the sunshines only downfall! This can easily be improved though by thomas cook employing reps that actually want to be there!

Moving on to more about the apartments... This place comes in for a lot of stick! Anyone who puts this place down must live in some sort of luxury mansion or something! it's a 2 star clubbing holiday, don't expect it to be like the hilton! try reviewing it for what it advertises!

"Scary Mary" is definitely not scary, shes a nice lady who greeted us well upon arrival and we didnt see too much of her the rest of the holiday! The bar man Nicos is an absolute legend who gave us great advice and countless free drinks and shots in order to kick start our holiday! The food around the bar area was spot on and the prices where fantastic! The pool area is very clean and there was never any trouble finding a sunbed! also, great music is played around the bar area daily, they also offer PS3 games free of charge and show live football matches on the big telly by the bar... a lads perfect saturday hangover cure!

The security guard Manos again gets put down a lot on here... another cracking lad who looked after us well! I can't see what anyone see's wrong in him!

The rooms are basic, but like I say, its a drunken clubbing holiday destination, you only need a bed and a shower, your hardly ever even in the rooms anyway! Air con is available for 6 euros a night, well worth it!

Malia itself is absolutely buzzing, probably the best clubbing place ive been too! very cheap, would recommend Loft bar, Union bar and for the night clubs Candy Club, Zig Zag and Cloud 9 are a must! The beach is also awesome as well!

So to sum up, Sunshine apartments are fab with terrible reps who clearly dont want to be there anymore, Mary, Nicos and Manos are all legends - treat them with respect and they will look after you well! And finally, go away for the right reasons and you will have an epic holiday in Malia!

If you are going to this hotel, go knowing your in for a fantastic holiday... i'm jealous!

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: We had rooms 101 and 102.. balcony view isnt the best but the rooms are fab and do the trick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Metcalfe888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Where do I start?
On arrival a fat state named Scary Mary sits at reception and nibbles on your passports. The security guard, Manos aka Death breath is a joke. If you've come to be quiet and have a quiet tug then this is the place for you.if you want to make any sort of noise then this isn't the place for you. Speak too loud, he's on your case. Poo too loud, he's on your case. The cleaner wakes you every morning when naked trying to sleep to clean your room. One morning she put her mop stick up my bum which I wasn't happy about.
The pool is ok, plenty of totti around which is good. Woman behind the bar is nice and would get the treatment.
Malia is a place is awesome however this hotel has seen better days. Little tip for dinner - ilios on the strip, Ngie does top deals.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryanspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malia hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was amazing. 13 girls stayed here the last week if July, all 18, and we had an unbelievable time. The hotel bar was really good value & the staff, especially the young women, were really friendly. Scary Mary isn't that scary as long as you respect her, same goes for the security guard. We were never rude to him and did what he told us to do, like be quieter or not sleep on the sun beds when we came in because of this him seemed to be fond of us. However, if you are rude to him he's not very nice. While we were there he chased some boys a girl at our hotel brought back down the street with a pool Que.
As for the rooms the floors weren't that clean and bed sheets a little stained, but the bathroom was clean. The cleaner came a few times but she did smoke in our room, as the rooms are all smoking.
The pool was a nice place to be and everyone was really friendly, we made lots of friends in the hotel.
Be warned, ESCAPADES REPS ARE RUBBISH. Do some of the events but don't buy the whole package, most clubs are free entry anyway you just have to pay to go with them.

Overall we had an amazing time and would go back to Malia and that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtisannabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Firstly, when booking our holiday we had read the reviews, and to say the least they were not very pleasant.

Upon arrival, Mary took our passports and handed us our room keys, she was pleasant and welcoming, and was more than happy to help when our room keys got muddled up. I would rather that Mary took our passports and locked them away safe than keep them in our room, available for anyone to take.

As a group of 13 girls, we dropped our suitcases off, freshened up and hit the strip. Firstly not one of the girls in my friendship group were disappointed by their rooms, they were clean and had everything you needed. Granted, two rooms did not have a kitchenette to store things like water etc, so some of the girls shared a fridge.

The pool and snack bar area was absolutely amazing, the atmosphere was buzzing and everyone was friendly and got to know one another really well, we made lots of friends who we are planning to meet up with. The bar staff are lovely and will happily tell you the best deals so that you do not get ripped off. The food and drinks are so cheap, you are guaranteed to be smashed before you even hit the strip, great place to pre-drink. Food is reasonable and tastes great, I lived on the Club Sandwich and the Lasagne.

The cleaners were all friendly, they came every 2 days and changed bedding, towels and gave you toilet roll etc, I could always trust them to be in our room alone.

Manos the security guard is only doing his job, he is moody at times, but wouldn't you be if you had to control a bunch of rowdy tourists 24/7? likewise with Mary, you treat them with respect, they will treat you with respect. Never had a problem with any of them and they were both lovely to us.

Malia as a whole is AMAZING, I would recommend anyone to go there, great clubs/bars/pubs events/great beaches. We all had the best holiday of our life's and met some great friends. This hotel was great for us, at the end of the day you get what you pay for. And this hotel was way above what we were expecting.

Room Tip: We had room 210, was overlooking the pool, had a kitchenette and was lovely. Rooms 8 and 9 were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paige w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

To begin, I would recommend Malia in general to anyone as the nightlife was absolutely fantastic and we had a brilliant time on the strip and in the day doing activities, but I would not advise staying in this hotel to my worst enemy!
The problems began almost instantly on the first night when Scary Mary demanded our passports on arrival. We had to pay 40 euros for air conditioning which was not much use and had to pay to use a safe which was not even in our room. It was situated downstairs with everybody elses and was locked completely at 12:00 at night, meaning you could not get to any of your belongings you had stored in there after or during a night out.
We were not allowed to bring anybody back to your hotel room whatsoever (even if friends are staying in different rooms and try to go in and out of one anothers they are asked to leave at a certain time if caught) which was the most annoying thing ever as the creepy security guard Manos was always lurking about trying to find people doing this.
To continue, we met a group of girls from the same place as us that told us they were fined 20 euros for putting a small stain on a towel and threatened with not having their passports returned if they did not cough up.
We paid for bed and breakfast and did not receive breakfast once throughout the week, having to go to local restaurants and pay instead. This was particularly frustrating seeing as Mary had promised that our breakfast would be delivered to our rooms in the morning. There was no complimentary drink on arrival either, as promised in the holiday details.
The biggest reason that I would not recommend this hotel is simply the attitude and ignorance of the staff. Everybody that we spoke to that stayed in the hotel at the same time as us all agreed that it was the worst hotel they had ever stayed in. Mary was, as most people say, scary and shouted at anybody she could for no reason at all. (We overheard her talking to her husband about how the English are brought up wrong, which was a bit rich after experiencing what the Greek kids were like). Manos was more of a creep, walking into our room uninvited on a number of occasions when we could have been doing anything.
He always lurked around the hotel after a night out and eyeballed you on your way back in.
Also, we were promised a fridge and kitchenette in our room and never had either so had to settle with drinking warm water for 7 days. Every room is said to have a balcony but my friends did not have one whatsoever.
Aswell, we were not allowed to take a bottle of water purchased somewhere else in to the pool area, Mary often went absolutely crazy at us for doing so.
There are many more awful things about this hotel, too many to mention in fact but I would be sat here all day writing them all.

Basically, if I wanted somebody to feel like they were back at nursrey and to have a week of frustration and hassle and to feel like they couldnt blink without being kicked out, I would tell them to go here.

Seriously, this is the worst hotel you will experience. Mark my words!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#72 of 95 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.3 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#29 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stelios Apartments
Stelios Apartments
#70 of 95 in Malia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ceratonia Apartments
Ceratonia Apartments
#36 of 78 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios

Property: Sunshine Studios
Address: Zoodochou Pigis, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Sunshine Complex)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful modern studios, rennovated in March 2017. Bright and airy, with colourful wallpapers, wooden furniture and white details. All studios are equipped with a new kitchennet, new fridge,new appliances and aircondition. All studios have a balcony overlooking the village of Malia. The hotel is located in the center of town, just a 2 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars S/M and ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunshine Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing