We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel”
Review of Sunshine Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Studios
Ranked #40 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was amazing. 13 girls stayed here the last week if July, all 18, and we had an unbelievable time. The hotel bar was really good value & the staff, especially the young women, were really friendly. Scary Mary isn't that scary as long as you respect her, same goes for the security guard. We were never rude to him and did what he told us to do, like be quieter or not sleep on the sun beds when we came in because of this him seemed to be fond of us. However, if you are rude to him he's not very nice. While we were there he chased some boys a girl at our hotel brought back down the street with a pool Que.
As for the rooms the floors weren't that clean and bed sheets a little stained, but the bathroom was clean. The cleaner came a few times but she did smoke in our room, as the rooms are all smoking.
The pool was a nice place to be and everyone was really friendly, we made lots of friends in the hotel.
Be warned, ESCAPADES REPS ARE RUBBISH. Do some of the events but don't buy the whole package, most clubs are free entry anyway you just have to pay to go with them.

Overall we had an amazing time and would go back to Malia and that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtisannabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
5
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Firstly, when booking our holiday we had read the reviews, and to say the least they were not very pleasant.

Upon arrival, Mary took our passports and handed us our room keys, she was pleasant and welcoming, and was more than happy to help when our room keys got muddled up. I would rather that Mary took our passports and locked them away safe than keep them in our room, available for anyone to take.

As a group of 13 girls, we dropped our suitcases off, freshened up and hit the strip. Firstly not one of the girls in my friendship group were disappointed by their rooms, they were clean and had everything you needed. Granted, two rooms did not have a kitchenette to store things like water etc, so some of the girls shared a fridge.

The pool and snack bar area was absolutely amazing, the atmosphere was buzzing and everyone was friendly and got to know one another really well, we made lots of friends who we are planning to meet up with. The bar staff are lovely and will happily tell you the best deals so that you do not get ripped off. The food and drinks are so cheap, you are guaranteed to be smashed before you even hit the strip, great place to pre-drink. Food is reasonable and tastes great, I lived on the Club Sandwich and the Lasagne.

The cleaners were all friendly, they came every 2 days and changed bedding, towels and gave you toilet roll etc, I could always trust them to be in our room alone.

Manos the security guard is only doing his job, he is moody at times, but wouldn't you be if you had to control a bunch of rowdy tourists 24/7? likewise with Mary, you treat them with respect, they will treat you with respect. Never had a problem with any of them and they were both lovely to us.

Malia as a whole is AMAZING, I would recommend anyone to go there, great clubs/bars/pubs events/great beaches. We all had the best holiday of our life's and met some great friends. This hotel was great for us, at the end of the day you get what you pay for. And this hotel was way above what we were expecting.

Room Tip: We had room 210, was overlooking the pool, had a kitchenette and was lovely. Rooms 8 and 9 were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paige w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

To begin, I would recommend Malia in general to anyone as the nightlife was absolutely fantastic and we had a brilliant time on the strip and in the day doing activities, but I would not advise staying in this hotel to my worst enemy!
The problems began almost instantly on the first night when Scary Mary demanded our passports on arrival. We had to pay 40 euros for air conditioning which was not much use and had to pay to use a safe which was not even in our room. It was situated downstairs with everybody elses and was locked completely at 12:00 at night, meaning you could not get to any of your belongings you had stored in there after or during a night out.
We were not allowed to bring anybody back to your hotel room whatsoever (even if friends are staying in different rooms and try to go in and out of one anothers they are asked to leave at a certain time if caught) which was the most annoying thing ever as the creepy security guard Manos was always lurking about trying to find people doing this.
To continue, we met a group of girls from the same place as us that told us they were fined 20 euros for putting a small stain on a towel and threatened with not having their passports returned if they did not cough up.
We paid for bed and breakfast and did not receive breakfast once throughout the week, having to go to local restaurants and pay instead. This was particularly frustrating seeing as Mary had promised that our breakfast would be delivered to our rooms in the morning. There was no complimentary drink on arrival either, as promised in the holiday details.
The biggest reason that I would not recommend this hotel is simply the attitude and ignorance of the staff. Everybody that we spoke to that stayed in the hotel at the same time as us all agreed that it was the worst hotel they had ever stayed in. Mary was, as most people say, scary and shouted at anybody she could for no reason at all. (We overheard her talking to her husband about how the English are brought up wrong, which was a bit rich after experiencing what the Greek kids were like). Manos was more of a creep, walking into our room uninvited on a number of occasions when we could have been doing anything.
He always lurked around the hotel after a night out and eyeballed you on your way back in.
Also, we were promised a fridge and kitchenette in our room and never had either so had to settle with drinking warm water for 7 days. Every room is said to have a balcony but my friends did not have one whatsoever.
Aswell, we were not allowed to take a bottle of water purchased somewhere else in to the pool area, Mary often went absolutely crazy at us for doing so.
There are many more awful things about this hotel, too many to mention in fact but I would be sat here all day writing them all.

Basically, if I wanted somebody to feel like they were back at nursrey and to have a week of frustration and hassle and to feel like they couldnt blink without being kicked out, I would tell them to go here.

Seriously, this is the worst hotel you will experience. Mark my words!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malia hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reading the reviews before we got put there, made us expect the worst hotel ever! But after a day of being there we had fallen in love with the place. We called it our home and 'scary Mary' our mum, when we had to leave we all cried! The rooms were basic, but had everything you need and the pool was the best place to be during the day, seeing as you had to pay for a sunbed on the beach! Nikos the bar man was funny, making us the craziest drinks! And forcing shots all day long!! Manos the security guard was the best, he made us feel safe and was fine with us switching round rooms with our friends that we met at the hotel. He let you be as loud and crazy as you wanted up until a certain point which was fair enough, and he was also polite in asking us to be quiet. ' scary Mary' was lovely, on our last day the coach never picked us up so her and her husband drove us to the airport for nothing! She only got angry if you did something to piss her off. We went out there as a group of 10 girls for our first holiday, but all the people we met at our hotel became like family, meeting for pre drinks together and spending all day round the pool together. All we is say is if you don't like this hotel you obviously just don't know how to make friends and have fun! You get what you paid for! Love CB, NS and 'The Avengers' xxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook of Devon, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 9 of my friends for a week in June this year. We all had a phenomenal time and part of this was down to the hotel staff. Yes, 'Scary Mary' was reasonably scary but she was perfectly nice if you were nice to her, although, some of the friends we made had some troubles with her. The bar staff, Dianne and Nikos were amazing, they were such nice people and Nikos was such a laugh! They definitely had an effect on how good our experience of Malia was in general. The security guard, Manos, was really good. He'd make sure that we were all okay on coming in from the strip and if there was anyone missing he would stay and watch out for them coming home safely. If one of us was to return to the apartments earlier than the rest he would check on them to make sure they were okay. He was a good laugh, he's the kind of person that will show you respect if you give him respect in return.
The food at the bar was amazing, it wasn't too expensive and it was good quality in comparison to what we were expecting! They offer full english breakfasts and all sorts! The kitchen was clean as was the bar and eating area, which we weren't really expecting from a reasonably cheap clubbing holiday!
The rooms we stayed in were pretty basic, but were definitely worth what we payed for them. The only thing I'd have to say about the rooms is that our fridge/freezer didn't work exceptionally well, it cooled water but it wouldn't keep ice cubes frozen for any length of time. Our shower was also extremely weak, but that wasn't much of an issue, we managed to work around it! The beds were reasonably comfy and there was plenty of storage space in the room too!
The hotel was only a five minute walk from the strip which was extremely convinient for us! There was also a pizza restaurant just up the road that we stopped at every morning when we came in. It was amazing and a pizza is just what you need afer a long night out!

All in all, I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I was going back to Malia, I had such a good time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If your after a cheap week away then this hotel can't be faulted. Basic but clean with an ok pool and pool bar. Decent location 5 minutes to bars 15 minutes to beach. Manos the security guard is a bit over the top. Might not be suited for young rowdy groups. No wi fi in hotel air conditioning available for a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monmoreglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sunshine Apartments in Malia from the 11th to the 18th of June and had the most amazing time. To make it clear, there are 3 buildings; the Sunshine Hotel which has the pool and reception, the Natali Apartments next door and on the other side are the Sunshine Apartments where we stayed. We booked with Thomas Cook Escapades and although there was a little confusion upon getting to the hotel we made it to our room just fine.
I would say to avoid any unwelcome charges on damages, have a look around your room first and let the security guard Manos know of anything that you think you could be charged for; for example, our 2 chairs were a little cracked and there was a small dent in our bathroom door but he appreciated us telling him. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed including a kitchenette complete with fridge/freezer, kettle and two hob rings.
Reception was closed when we arrived so we couldn't access air con or a safe until the morning, but it wasn't too hot anyway and we managed fine. There is a small charge for using the air con and safe but we thought it was worth it.
The hotel is the perfect distance from the strip, too far away that you aren't up all night with noise but close enough that you can easily stumble back when you need to, only around 5 minutes walk maximum. There's a supermarket literally 2 minutes away at the top of the road and there's 2 restaurants next to the hotel. There's also a cash machine at the top of the road too.
We only encountered the owner, Mary on a couple of occasions but she was nice enough, and we had no problems with her - even when we paid 30 euros to keep our room for the day we left as our flight wasn't until 1am.
We saw Manos once more in the whole holiday when we came back from the strip and he asked to see our keys, but that was no problem and he obviously just cares about the guests and the hotel.
The maid cleaned our room twice during our stay and changed our bedding and towels once even though we were only staying for a week. Our towels were really dirty as we had been using one for the floor but we were never charged for anything.
The pool area is big and as we didn't go at peak time we had no problem with getting a sunbed. The pool was clean and we enjoyed spending time there. The staff behind the bar were really nice and the prices are cheap.
As for the Malia strip it is brilliant. We had the most amazing week of our lives and would come back in a second. 20 euros per night was enough to get us pretttttty drunk and usually we came home with change! Don't get drawn in by the 'special offers' that the PR's give you though as you'll find the same offers- and probably better ones- 20 meters down the road. Plenty of nice cheap restaurants around as well!
We didn't go to the beach so can't comment on that but it was quite a walk, maybe 15 minutes away and we decided the pool was just as good.
All in all, we had a great great time and didn't want to leave. I really don't know why the hotel has such bad reviews as we had no problems at all. We still played music until late and were never told off and never charged for anything. I think that if you respect the hotel and staff, they will respect you too. This hotel definitely contributed to our fantastic time and I would have no qualms about booking it again when i come next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 90 in Malia
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ceratonia Apartments
Ceratonia Apartments
#51 of 79 in Malia
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Days Studios
Happy Days Studios
#6 of 79 in Malia
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesse Irida
Princesse Irida
#9 of 22 in Malia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios

Property: Sunshine Studios
Address: Zoodochou Pigis, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Sunshine Complex)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful modern studios, rennovated in March 2017. Bright and airy, with colourful wallpapers, wooden furniture and white details. All studios are equipped with a new kitchennet, new fridge,new appliances and aircondition. All studios have a balcony overlooking the village of Malia. The hotel is located in the center of town, just a 2 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars S/M and ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing