We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value for money.”
Review of Sunshine Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Studios
Ranked #51 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
walsall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but good value for money.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If your after a cheap week away then this hotel can't be faulted. Basic but clean with an ok pool and pool bar. Decent location 5 minutes to bars 15 minutes to beach. Manos the security guard is a bit over the top. Might not be suited for young rowdy groups. No wi fi in hotel air conditioning available for a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monmoreglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sunshine Apartments in Malia from the 11th to the 18th of June and had the most amazing time. To make it clear, there are 3 buildings; the Sunshine Hotel which has the pool and reception, the Natali Apartments next door and on the other side are the Sunshine Apartments where we stayed. We booked with Thomas Cook Escapades and although there was a little confusion upon getting to the hotel we made it to our room just fine.
I would say to avoid any unwelcome charges on damages, have a look around your room first and let the security guard Manos know of anything that you think you could be charged for; for example, our 2 chairs were a little cracked and there was a small dent in our bathroom door but he appreciated us telling him. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed including a kitchenette complete with fridge/freezer, kettle and two hob rings.
Reception was closed when we arrived so we couldn't access air con or a safe until the morning, but it wasn't too hot anyway and we managed fine. There is a small charge for using the air con and safe but we thought it was worth it.
The hotel is the perfect distance from the strip, too far away that you aren't up all night with noise but close enough that you can easily stumble back when you need to, only around 5 minutes walk maximum. There's a supermarket literally 2 minutes away at the top of the road and there's 2 restaurants next to the hotel. There's also a cash machine at the top of the road too.
We only encountered the owner, Mary on a couple of occasions but she was nice enough, and we had no problems with her - even when we paid 30 euros to keep our room for the day we left as our flight wasn't until 1am.
We saw Manos once more in the whole holiday when we came back from the strip and he asked to see our keys, but that was no problem and he obviously just cares about the guests and the hotel.
The maid cleaned our room twice during our stay and changed our bedding and towels once even though we were only staying for a week. Our towels were really dirty as we had been using one for the floor but we were never charged for anything.
The pool area is big and as we didn't go at peak time we had no problem with getting a sunbed. The pool was clean and we enjoyed spending time there. The staff behind the bar were really nice and the prices are cheap.
As for the Malia strip it is brilliant. We had the most amazing week of our lives and would come back in a second. 20 euros per night was enough to get us pretttttty drunk and usually we came home with change! Don't get drawn in by the 'special offers' that the PR's give you though as you'll find the same offers- and probably better ones- 20 meters down the road. Plenty of nice cheap restaurants around as well!
We didn't go to the beach so can't comment on that but it was quite a walk, maybe 15 minutes away and we decided the pool was just as good.
All in all, we had a great great time and didn't want to leave. I really don't know why the hotel has such bad reviews as we had no problems at all. We still played music until late and were never told off and never charged for anything. I think that if you respect the hotel and staff, they will respect you too. This hotel definitely contributed to our fantastic time and I would have no qualms about booking it again when i come next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and my friend went to malia for a week last year as a last minute idea. The hotel was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed at. we never had our room cleaned once, my friend was sick on her bed sheets so she took them off and we told the hotel so they sent the maid and she put the sheets with sick on back on the bed. We had one towel for the whole week also, the pool was green and never got cleaned. The bar was never open, the staff were extremely rude and I had an arguement with the awful hotel owner 'Mary'. we had to be out of our rooms on the last day so put our suitcases in the girls room next door, she said we couldnt do that so she made us leave our things un attended in reception where there was never anybody there. The whole place was awful and the staff were so rude, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy to stay there. However we loved Malia, had the best time and would go back just not to that hotel. I wouldn't let a rat sleep there

Room Tip: just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malia hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here August 2012 and to be honest i wouldn't be going back. Mary is one hell of a scary woman and that Manos security guard is a pretty dodgy guy... walks into your rooms to see if you have more people in your room and he will not let you bring someone back after a night out.
The only good thing about the hotel is the other people staying, we made some awesome friends while there.

you will get fined for everything, they tried fining us for 2 missing bed sheets when all the bed sheets were there... we didn't pay for that. They tried fining us because one of us was drinking a drink by the pool which wasn't from the bar (he was a tool anyway).

Overall, i would't recommend this hotel for anyone. Manos is a terrible security guard, he is extremely creepy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiallBotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was a last min holiday as id already stayed in malia two weeks before and wanted to come back so I got this place last min. Its a good 15 min walk to the strip down a dark unlit ally :S Its split into two hotels with a use of one pool. The rooms are dated and small and the bathroom and shower are horrible! The owner is so moody its untrue! She kicked us out on the last day because we let some people leave there travel bags in our room when they where departing (as you have to leave your room at 12midday on departure day! which means nower to put your bags!) When she found this out she kicked us out of our room too and wouldnt have any reasoning and im a mature 26 year old who came out with one girl mate! Food is cheap and nice and the pools clean and well kept. Booked to come back to malia this year but ive booked somewhere closer to the strip as i wouldnt want to walk down that dark alley to the strip again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Holiday was great, nikos you are a great laugh made the holiday great with your red cola your ball no one could touch, went in June with 4 friends, great food, really friendly staff. Rooms were good. Will definitely go back. Oh and vodka slushes they are something that was different.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sherbert852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had an excellent time staying in the natali appts. Hob, fridge, micro etc all available (although apparently this isnt the case in the sunshine appts attached)

Great selection of food and drinks from the pool bar, along with very friendly staff. Nikos the barman in particular couldnt have been better, free drinks and shots all night.

The only problems we had were the owner of the sunshine part (mary) seemed very unapproachable, was constantly seen SHOUTING and swearing to our rep and other staff.

The security guard has quite a bad reputation but if u respect him he will respect you. Obv hes gunna get annoyed if your blasting music all hours and bringing random people back to the rooms, he is only here for your safety. However if you dont respect him, look out!! Lol he was seen to be psycho to a group of lads, but no trouble for us.

The sheets were minging on the beds, only changed once during the week, if that. When we arrived they were stained with nail polish and god knows what else! The towels were only changed once also. The shower hose was broken and we had to shower by holding it above our heads! There was no shower curtain so the bathroom was constantly flooded. However they are quick enough to point out a notice of charges (fines) for any damages.

Other than that, great location, 5 mins walk to the main strip, 2 mins to the supermarket, 15 mins to the beach.

The strip couldnt be heard from the rooms at night however quad bikes raced past every 30 seconds which was a pain!

Plenty of restaurants close by at good prices. Be prepared to be stopped by every single rep as you walk down the strip, they all offer the same drinks deals (we had to literally run past everynight til we got to our chosen bar!) to sum it up, great 18-30 based hotel, basic but fine if you just want somewhere to crash! Xx

Room Tip: Ideally have a 2nd floor room, as ground floors down have a balcony or any personal outside space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.3 mi away
Stelios Apartments
Stelios Apartments
#69 of 90 in Malia
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Diasselo Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vergas
Hotel Vergas
#37 of 90 in Malia
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#31 of 90 in Malia
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#70 of 90 in Malia
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios

Property: Sunshine Studios
Address: Zoodochou Pigis, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Sunshine Complex)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful modern studios, rennovated in March 2017. Bright and airy, with colourful wallpapers, wooden furniture and white details. All studios are equipped with a new kitchennet, new fridge,new appliances and aircondition. All studios have a balcony overlooking the village of Malia. The hotel is located in the center of town, just a 2 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars S/M and ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing