We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alcohol loving, 18-30s friendly only!”
Review of Sunshine Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Studios
Ranked #43 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had an excellent time staying in the natali appts. Hob, fridge, micro etc all available (although apparently this isnt the case in the sunshine appts attached)

Great selection of food and drinks from the pool bar, along with very friendly staff. Nikos the barman in particular couldnt have been better, free drinks and shots all night.

The only problems we had were the owner of the sunshine part (mary) seemed very unapproachable, was constantly seen SHOUTING and swearing to our rep and other staff.

The security guard has quite a bad reputation but if u respect him he will respect you. Obv hes gunna get annoyed if your blasting music all hours and bringing random people back to the rooms, he is only here for your safety. However if you dont respect him, look out!! Lol he was seen to be psycho to a group of lads, but no trouble for us.

The sheets were minging on the beds, only changed once during the week, if that. When we arrived they were stained with nail polish and god knows what else! The towels were only changed once also. The shower hose was broken and we had to shower by holding it above our heads! There was no shower curtain so the bathroom was constantly flooded. However they are quick enough to point out a notice of charges (fines) for any damages.

Other than that, great location, 5 mins walk to the main strip, 2 mins to the supermarket, 15 mins to the beach.

The strip couldnt be heard from the rooms at night however quad bikes raced past every 30 seconds which was a pain!

Plenty of restaurants close by at good prices. Be prepared to be stopped by every single rep as you walk down the strip, they all offer the same drinks deals (we had to literally run past everynight til we got to our chosen bar!) to sum it up, great 18-30 based hotel, basic but fine if you just want somewhere to crash! Xx

Room Tip: Ideally have a 2nd floor room, as ground floors down have a balcony or any personal outside space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and 5 girlfriends stayed here for a week in July as a post A levels/leaving school holiday. We were dreading the hotel beforehand after hearing bad things but it exceeded expectations massively. True, the owner is grumpy but the rooms were a good size, very clean and the maid was so friendly. Food and service at the bar was excellent and cheap. The bar staff are also really friendly and there were enough sunbeds around the pool during the day. It's in a good location, can't hear the strip at night but less than 5 minutes walk to it. Unfortunately, there was nothing for a self catered holiday which we were on. The Natali side has a kitchenette with hob and fridge but the Sunshine has nothing, not even a mini fridge. Wasn't a problem because restaurants nearby are good and cheap, as is the hotel's food, but meant we couldn't keep water and alcohol cold in the room. You have to pay for aircon but we managed fine without it. The security guard, Ramos, was kind of mental. He didn't get on with the lads in the room next door to us to put it mildly (banging on their barricaded door yelling 'I going to f*****g kill you little b******s! at 6am whilst they played 'wish it could be Christmas everyday' on full blast and honked airhorns), but they pissed him off on purpose because it was hilarious when he got angry, we didn't do anything to annoy him so he was perfectly friendly towards us. Just don't make massive amounts of noise after 12 and he's fine. If you go, try the Pit-Stop pizza takeout a few meters down the road, perfect on the way home from hitting the strip. Lack of fridge was the only drawback really, but a perfect hotel for an 18-30s style holiday where living in 5 star luxury isn't priority. Brilliant holiday, brilliant memories!

Room Tip: Definitely get 2nd floor rooms or above otherwise you have no balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was decent appartments , nice living space, lovely maid, lush pool side, lush bar/ food and staff. I was happy with this appartment couldnt fault it EXCEPT for the fact they have the MOST MENTAL SECURITY GUARD ever!! And OWNER!. They like hate the world lol. The owner was basicly shouting at the staff all day every day! And the security guard was NUTS! You coulnt bring anyone back to the hotel which is far enough because many hotels have that policy but the fact tha you couldnt evevn go to ur neighbours to hav a drink or chat was bizzare! Not just that you couldnt even chat on ur own terrace without being told to shut up. Basically u werent aloud any interection socailly after hours which really let the place down. Other then that the rest of the satff are really friendly and lovely and couldnt fault the ameanties.
Although it was some nightly enetertainment as we watchd the maddness unfold watching the guard chase down and shout at all thous tha tried to ninja ther way around lmao!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrysteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

me and my 6 mates stayed in this hotel last week and it was HORRIBLE, the owner (scary mary) was so rude and did not let you do anything without being told off! the rooms were horrible and dirty, my bed sheets did not get changed all week, we had to PAY for AC with was £50 for the week, somebody broke a plastic chair which is worth about £2 and mary charged us £20!

Overall it is a RUBBISH hotel and im sure alot of people with back me up on this one!

DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia_v_Italii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Dominika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: С видом на бассейн.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grivit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.9 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
0.8 mi away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 91 in Malia
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.1 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#19 of 91 in Malia
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios

Address: Zoodochou Pigis, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece (Formerly Sunshine Complex)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $34 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful modern studios, rennovated in March 2017. Bright and airy, with colourful wallpapers, wooden furniture and white details. All studios are equipped with a new kitchennet, new fridge,new appliances and aircondition. All studios have a balcony overlooking the village of Malia. The hotel is located in the center of town, just a 2 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars S/M and ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing