We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Danaides Apartments
Ranked #26 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just got back from two weeks in Malia, I would definitely recommend it to young people looking for a good time, best two weeks of my life no doubt!

The location of these apartments are absolutely perfect. Bang on in the middle of the strip, the spar and places to eat are just up to the right, and all the best clubs and bars are down to the left, with a few other clubs off ahead.

The apartments are attached to Mango bar, which is the perfect place to start the night with a headf***er for four euros! Also after everywhere shuts people from the apartments tend to come back there after.

The pool is the perfect place to sit and nurse your hangover, the pool bar serves good enough food and they play music all day.

When I arrived I was quite sceptical as I'd read that the staff will try and scam you, but our experience was very positive, with only a few run ins with the staff during our time there. One was quite near the beginning where we were making quite a lot of noise and standing/ lying on the grass, which the staff really do not like, as they are very proud of the gardens and every day I'd see a man out with a hose watering the garden. So the hotel owner started yelling at us in Greek. When we tried to run away we realised we had lost our apartment key. However, the security man, Dennis was very helpful. He let us into our apartment and brought a new one for us quickly. He told us to pay a 30 euro fine, however, that was the last we heard of it and we were never actually made to pay the fine.

Our only other run in was with the cleaners who started screaming at one of my friends in greek because our room was untidy. However, the manager was very nice to her and simply said that it was OK this time, but we would get charged if our room was that untidy again, which was fair enough we had food all over the floor and everything. The cleaners also claimed to the manager that we had broken the electricity key slot, but again nothing came of this and we managed to leave without any fines.

I'd heard they are very funny about towels, bed linen etc but I got make up all over some of the towels, plus the strip makes your feet very dirty which brings in a lot of dirt on the bed linen. However we never got charged for any of this. I folded up my towels to hide the marks and it seems to have worked!

I'd heard the manager was very scary, but every time I met her she seemed lovely. The hotel owner, Stella, walks about slowly with an air of authority and she is quite intimidating. However by the end of the holiday I'd even seen her cracking a few smiles.

Be careful about taking people up to your apartment though, its a 40 euro fine per person you bring back! Its very easy to get into the other guests apartments, though.

All in all these apartments are GREAT, and if I come back to Malia I would not hesitate to stay here again!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank itsamaliaoohooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

i went to malia beggining of last august with 5 of us girls and we had the time of our lifes!! the location is really good right in the middle of the strip thats the only good thing its got going for it. we all basically all went to malia for partying our butts off, drinking all day and night and boys! haha! were not fussy about how the rooms are or if its cleaned every day or anything like that we just wanted a good time. ALL the staff was rude and told you off for every thing all they want is your money! they even tryed chargeing us for bed sheets because they had a bit of make up and mud on them, and wouldnt give us our passports until we replaced them or payed for them but all our money had been spent on alcohol by the end and we had none left but we said we would replace them so some of the girls nicked some boys bed sheets from another hotel lol!. few of my mates stayed at the illios a few hotels up the strip from us and they wernt even aloud in to our hotel to sunbath so we ended up going to there hotel and spending money there instead. if you want to bring boys back with you they try and make you pay them 25 euros person! other than that malia was the bestt! defo got to go to the foam partys too! the holiday was mental loved every minitue of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tel22Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location, right in the middle of the strip. What more can you want. Room was very spacious, think we got lucky as was right outside pool. Hotel prices little bit dearer on food etc but can get cheap on the strip. Hotel room was clean although maid was every 2 days (i think as was asleep when they turnt up) No one from outside the hotel allowed back though and if you break anything your be paying for it. Overall excellent place though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damien m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at Danaides Apartments with 5 other girls in August 2011,
We arrived during the middle of the night, and were welcomed by friendly staff, once shown to our rooms we literally just unpacked and slept, it was very clean & spacious!!!

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A HOTEL NEAR TO THE STRIP, this is the one. it literally is on the beginning of the strip, so perfect if you wanted to nip back to fill up your drinks lol.
The staff are friendly, although they are sometimes weird about letting other people come in your hotel room, but youve just gotta butter them up with compliments and they are fine.
The security guard is a joker, he literally patrols all night looking for drunk boys that shouldnt be in girls hotel rooms! saw him kick out so many half naked boys over the course of the week!..
It is such a fun hotel, we were lucky to meet people our age and was just a really nice hotel, although the pool area is relatively small there are enough sunbeds to go around!
During the day, music is playing all day and the pool bar serves nice breakfast especially if your trying to cure the hangover! and drinks are cheap, i think a malibu and coke was 4 euros and it was quite strong so..

It is a really nice hotel which we were surprised at, and the location and staff are really good It was our first holiday away and i literally would recomend it to anyone!! [especially younger people that arnt expecting to fall into bed earlier than 10am!]
[also rooms get cleaned once ever two days with fresh towels etc!!!]
GO HERE! xx

Room Tip: Try and ask not to be situated near the poool, our room was right next to the pool area and music st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Danaides Apartments is aesthetically appealing. Fabulous pool and gardens, the rooms are basic but practical and not bad at all for the price paid. The best thing about the hotel is the location seeing as it is right in the heart of Malia.

As for the staff, not as much positivity there I’m afraid. The main problems being the greedy, obnoxious manager, and the ignorant and scheming owner.

I honestly believe that they come into the rooms and vandalise things just to make you pay. Anything they can fine for, they will, so my advice would be to be very careful and take pictures of everything on arrival. If anything looks fishy tell the manager straight away. She's not hard to spot, just look for the middle aged artificial blonde that probably screeching at a customer.

As for their customer service, in the beginning it's all smiles but soon after the complaints arrive- Why are you touching the grass? Why is the blanket on the floor? You’re going to pay for that you know, Too much noise, I just got older guests! Only four on a balcony! Four!

They're rude and everything is screamed at you, as if you are incapable of understanding what they say any other way.

The manager is a money grabbing witch who becomes even scarier at night when she puts on that mask that she calls make-up and lets out her damaged hair.

The owner is something else. A woman at the wrong end of sixty with an appearance likened to that of Roger from American dad. The woman is a creature of the night who is literally always watching and speaks to you completely in Greek (as she only knows 3 English words) demanding your full attention and understanding.

To be fair, all of the other staff are lovely and they understand the meaning of customer service, something the other two don’t seem to have grasped yet...

In conclusion Danaides would be much improved if the owner stayed in her room and the manager was hit by a quad bike or alternatively, resigned allowing someone better manner and more professional to take over.

I would recommend Danaides based on the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went to Malia on the 2nd of September this year for a week, after reading some of the reviews on here we were a bit scepticle about whether we were going to get charged over the odds for 'broken' items but in the end all was ok and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms are in good condition and i would definitely recommend getting the air con for 50 euros when you get there as it gets boiling at night/early morning! The pool/bar were really good and well kept and also the bar out the front looking onto the strip is great aswell - i would definitely recommend the headf#@kers for 5 euros, they kept you absolutely twisted :) The one thing i would say is they have a security guard (taser mcgrew) who carries around a knuckle duster and a taser and apparently if your rowdy when you come in he WILL use it but he seemed alright and we even spoke to him a couple of times! It's opposite a really good restaurant called Sticky Fingers and is literally on the strip so it's not a long walk at all! Thinking about going back to the Danaides next year as for the price we couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: We were quite close to the front and still wasn't kept awake so all is gravy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed with 3 other girls in the Danaides apartments last week, and could not fault it! For young people looking for a lively holiday it can't be faulted at all.
The staff were really helpful and welcoming, the rooms were clean with all the necessities, and best of all was the location - right in the middle of the malia strip, but set back so that it was never noisy to sleep.
As a group of 4 girls we felt very safe there, and really wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a lively holiday in Malia next summer.

Room Tip: Second floor apartments, and those towards the back of the Danaides will be quieter than those neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy0157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Stelios Gardens
Stelios Gardens
#21 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#44 of 95 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#31 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danaides Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danaides Apartments

Property: Danaides Apartments
Address: Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Danaides Apartments Hotel Malia
Danaides Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing