We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite location at the beginning and end of the season”
Review of Villa Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Contessa
Ranked #32 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quite location at the beginning and end of the season”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Family owned studios and apartments. George and Nikos are very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Children are welcome. Can be noisy when the 18/30 sesson starts, due to the hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Studios sleep two, appartments sleep four and George will provide a cot for younger children if requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A lovely property . The only problem I found was getting to the rooms as there are about 5 steps to get to the room and the shower room is very small.(room 5 and the one upstairs 10) Having said that the rooms are large and extremely clean.George really knows how to look after his guests. Loads of places to eat .I ate at Toto Lotos most evenings. Real Greek food and good variety, not far from Villa Condessa. It got quite dark early and as it was my first visit to Malia old town and the streets are like a maze and not very well lit I tended to eat out a bit earlier than usual. The mosquitos must of emigrated and for once I came back bite free.The strip was all closed down but I can imagine in the summer it will be manic.Ok for the younger set but the old town is very quiet.Coffe shops open from about 7.30am untill whenever on the main road. Good bus service to everywhere although you do have to change at Agos Nickolias for Elounda.I did a trip to Matala.Stopped at two monastries then Matala.Not a very good beach and it dips suddenly. The village and the scenery was nice but dont buy the ice cream in the beach cafes.3.80 euros for a scoop. Just a short walk along the road for drop off and pick up at Oasis hotel(closes September) so no pool use in October as advertised by Olympic. I can recommend the Villa Codessa for everyone.

Room Tip: front rooms and meet the locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for a week in August with my mum (26 + 47). First time to Malia So we had high hopes being in the old town, Slightly dissopointed as it is not really a town as such, more like an old street with 6-7 resturants. not really what I was expecting, so we ventured to the top of the strip a few nights which was ok, as the party goers tend to bypass these bars in search of better deals on drinks.
The apartment was lovely, clean, and spacious. However could do with a toaster/ microwave/ oven if it is meant to be self catering. The main concern for us were the Greek neighbours who were in the complex next door, Very loud! shouting in Greek all day from 7am until the early hours! So If you want a power nap in the afternoon, or go to bed before 12 no chance! There is no TV to even try and drown out some of the noise. The bed and pillow were very hard, to the extent I had backache every morning. No air con, so can get a bit stuffy. NO POOL, which I was not aware of when I booked.
Good 20 min walk to the beach/strip.
Quad madness on every street!
7/10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went on a fmaily holiday to Malia old town with my parents and sister. The apartments were spotless and cleaned three times during our stay where we were given new towels. As theres only 10 rooms you do tend to meet everyone whos staying there which is very nice and friendly. The road outside is the main way for people staying in the 18-30 hotel down the road to get to the strip so you do get some noise but we found that once were in bed by midnight we missed most of the noise. There is also no air con so I'd advice hiring a fan from George as the rooms do get quite stuffy in the evenings. There is no pool at Villa Contessa which would be its only downside for me but you are allowed to use the pool at other apartments such as the 18-30 hotel. I wouldnt recommend that pool as it is filled with young people but the Stelios Apartments which is two minutes away was perfect - there was no one there apart from us and there was lots of sun loungers and a pool bar!
George is an amazing host and was really welcoming! On our first morning we all sat with George and he asked us about our flight and gave us some home made Raki. One piece of advice I'd give is to mix the Raki with orange juice - it tasted a bit like paint stripper but when in Greece.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

very clean apartment with veranda onto front street beautiful flowers flowing over to give privacy very impressed with apartment more than enough room for the two of us wish I could have stayed longer no pool but can go pool hopping round the neighbours gentleman George was very welcoming to his hotel - if you could pick the hotel up and move it near a beautiful beach you would be in heaven - but you are in the middle of 18 to 30 territory so ideal time to go would be second week in September when most of them have gone home then you could hire a scooter to nip to beach without facing an army of quad bikes - the old town is beautiful but would love to ban all traffic after ten at night - so much to do so many places to eat you need two weeks to do it all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mobyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a cheap and cheerful week away in the sun and decided on Villa Condessa. The property front is beautiful, with trailing flowers and a circular staircase. I have never stayed in such a well maintained and immaculate 3 star apartment in Europe. George obviously puts a lot of time and care into maintaining them and we would definitely go back/recommend a stay there. We were facing out the back so never had any bother with noise, but heard from other guests with front facing rooms that they had been disturbed by people returning form the strip. The strip itself is far enough away to avoid it on an evening if you want, but if you do want to go down there, it gets busy from about midnight onwards. The old town of Maila is a complete contrast to the strip in terms of people and atmosphere, despite being so close. For a self catering apartment, it was amply supplied with utensils etc, even the glasses sparkled! However, if you do plan to cook while on holiday, there is no oven and only one hob ring. There are several restaurants in the old town, all within a few minutes walking distance which serve good food. San Giorgio even does its own Greek night with plate smashing, dancing and live music on a Friday at no extra cost to the food. We should also mention that if you continue past the old town square (if Toto Loto is on your left), you will reach the restaurant Kalesma which is lovely, and you will also come across the gorgeous Connexions secret garden bar. You'll get a friendly welcome from the English owners and a good drink in there!
We got a public bus to Aghios Nikolaos and Elounda for the day for about €15 return for the two of us, so never bothered with any excursions from the tour company. You can reach Spinalonga Island from Elounda on one of the many ferries. We had use of the quiet and clean pool at Stelios apts. For the beach, we went to Aeolos beach resort. It's €3 each a day for a lounger, parasol, use of their amenities, pools and its water slides. Although initially we were a little dubious of going to Malia as a couple over the ages of 17-21, we had a really lovely holiday!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank smt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having just returned from the Contessa I cant wait to go back. The villa is ideally situated in the old town not far from lovely restaurants and also the strip in in walking distance. The one bed apartments have all the basics you need. I have never been anywhere where you get constant hot water like here. George is so helpful and nice nothing is too much trouble. The only downside to it is that you have to book through Olympic holidays to stay here, and they are a nightmare for service and changing your flights.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the villa have the sunshine in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FuerteKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.0 mi away
Hotel Efi
Hotel Efi
#64 of 90 in Malia
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#65 of 90 in Malia
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#17 of 90 in Malia
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartments
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartmen...
#3 of 8 in Gournes Pediados
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stelios Apartments
Stelios Apartments
#48 of 90 in Malia
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Contessa
Villa Contessa
#1 of 2 in Xirokastello
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Contessa

Property: Villa Contessa
Address: 12 Fragaki Armandou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Contessa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a garden, Apartments Villa Contessa is situated in Mália, 30 km from Heraklio Town. Hersonissos is 8 km from the property. All units include a seating area. Some units have a terrace and/or balcony with mountains or garden views. All units feature a kitchenette equipped with a dishwasher and refrigerator. A stovetop and kettle are also featured. There is a private bathroom with a shower in every unit. Towels and bed linen are available. Apartments Villa Contessa also includes a terrace. Ágios Nikólaos is 25 km from Apartments Villa Contessa, while Eloúnda is 24 km away. The nearest airport is Heraklion International Airport, 27 km from Apartments Villa Contessa. We have had hundreds of satisfied guests, many of them becoming regulars and friends that every year reward us with recurring visits. So, put on your swim suit, add some sun screen and relax. Your holidays start here and we promise it will be more than you expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villa Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Condessa Hotel Malia
Villa Contessa Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing