We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal Heights Hotel is a piece of paradise in Malia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Heights Resort
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We have just returned from this amazing hotel after a 10 day stay. When we arrived, the hotel weren't expecting us due to an administration error back in England (nothing to do with the Royal Heights hotel). Michaelis who works on the reception met and welcomed us and told us not to worry, he would sort the mistake out. He then gave us a beautiful room and sorted the whole problem out for us. Julia works on reception too in the evening and is lovely and very friendly. Both Michaelis and Julia, between them, know everything about where to visit and what to do and become your little guardian angels on holiday.

The rooms are lovely, very clean and very well equipped. We had a one-bedroom suite which had a kitchenette, lounge with TV, large balcony, separate bedroom with another TV and separate bathroom.

We had a half-board basis but chose from the a la carte menu in the evening because the food was amazing. George (the gourmet chef) is an angel sent from the kitchens of heaven! His food is wonderful and we wanted to pack him in our suitcase and take him home with us! A special mention has to go to the waiters, they are extremely polite, friendly and attentive and make you feel special.

We went down to the main pool during the day because we didn't have a villa with a private pool but the hotel pool is beautiful, very clean, plenty of room and close to the rooms.

The spa is one of the best I have been to, very friendly and helpful staff on the desk and wonderful spa treatments. The spa pool is lovely and the gym has equipment I didn't even know existed!

There is a 10-15 minute walk down a steep hill from the hotel into Malia and a taxi back up the hill is about 8 euros. Malia is a nice little town with some amazing back street restaurants. We hired a car for 2 days and drove part of the way round the island and visited the Cretaquarium and the town of Heraklion for some shopping.

We loved this hotel and cannot find anything bad to say except there are only 2 english TV channels! We would definately go back and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 419 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had an amazing stay at Royal Heights Resort Hotel.

Julia and Mihaelis were so welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The hotel wasn't at all what I'd expected, despite having all the facilities, pools, reception, restaurant and bars of a large resort hotel, there are only about 30 rooms for accommodation (about half were regular rooms with balcony and half were villa/apartments with private pool). You really get the best of both - 5 star facilities with great personal service... they even made me a lovely personalised cake on my birthday!

The location's great for a relaxing pool break with an occasional trip into Malia's old town for a meal or bar street if you're under 25. The hotel's restaurant and bar were both nice for a quieter night, the club sandwich (hidden in the back of the drinks menu) was really tasty for those who don't fancy a formal dinner in the restaurant area.

We hired a car through the hotel (saved a lot of hassle, we filled in the paperwork when we checked-in) and had days out to Agios Nikolas and Elounda - both charming towns within 30min drive and definitely worth a visit.

A wonderful week, looking forward to going back one day.
Thank you!
M&G

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We just spent a week at this resort. Malia has bad reputation in Crete mostly related to the younger crowd described by locals as the 'hooligan"type. What a surprise when arriving at the hotel on a small mountain overlooking the sea. Mihaelis at the reception was always very polite and helpfull. The room was quite large, very nicely decorated. The bathroom was also clean with jacuzzi and shower. Breakfast was included and consisted of fresh fruits, cheese, cereals, jams, eggs, fresh bread etc.... They were nice enough to serve it to us till noon! All of this, sitting in large confortable chairs with a view of the town and of the sea.We rented a room. Villas each have a private pool. There was also a very large pool in different sections in a large green area, almost a garden. The dining room was very nice, the service was excellent and the food was great.
We had quite a large kitchenette in our room with a large fridge and electric 4 ranges oven.
The spa and gym were nothing but surprising in size and services. Many locals will come to the gym or spa for exercising or treatments, but it never caused any delays because of the size of the facility. They had all the new modern gym apparels including Power Plate and Power Vibe with well qualified trainers.Use of the hamam and sauna were free for guests of the hotel. We stayed there for a week and they offered a reduction. It ended up costing only 80 Euros per day! Now try to find a resort of this quality for that price! Not that many even if we realise that we were not in the open season. But Crete in october is still very nice. The sea is still warm and we swam everyday day on small beaches that we would find along the roads. And the weather was sunny everyday with a nice wind at end of afternoon. We have friends who own a restaurant in Sitia and they did not believe it when we told them that we were staying in Malia, bacause of the bad reputation it has. They changed their minds when they had a look at the magnific brochure of the hotel that we had brought with us ; and they are planning to come to the RHR for a day or two!! Nothing but kudos for the Royal Heights Resot in Malia!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PantaRei46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Could not recommend this hotel enough! quiet and peaceful and very clean, the restaurant serves some of the best food i have ever tasted in a 5 star hotel( which is no more expensive than other normal restaurants in Malia)
we stayed on a b&b basis and were really glad we did, really worth paying the extra as there was a great choice. As mentioned before it is a good 20 mins walk down to Malia and a tough walk back or 7 to 10 euros back up, we hired a quad bike in the end. If you want to relax and take it easy this is the place for you, a massive pool (only problem is it is so cold) where while we were there had about 8 people round it, every so often you do get a couple of workers come up from Malia (p.r's etc) who are a pain but did not bother us too much.

An amazing Gym with extremely helpful staff!
Julia and Michael at reception deserve a massive mention who will go out of their way to help you with advise and any help you need, a really lovely and welcoming staff
One of the best hotels we have been in Europe, please check it out

will go back 100%

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trueman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Set high above, and well away from, the frantic clubs of Malia the hotel was absolutely perfect for the relaxing break we hoped for. Amazing panoramic views down over the coastline. The spa treatments were first class and very well priced. Even better when there was another 20% off as a special officer. We ate in the restaurant for 4 out of our 7 nights - the other nights we went to the Tripadvisor top recommended restaurants - and found that the quality and service was superior. The prices, bearing in mind its a 5 star hotel, were the same as in the tourist tavernas. Top wines from 10 euros a bottle as well. Hope to be back next year. You do need to hire a car to make the most of the area

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caerberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
18.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,751 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heights Resort

Address: Pezoula, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#1 Family Hotel in Malia
#2 Spa Hotel in Malia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $85 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Heights Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Heights Resort is situated in Malia area-Pezoula on an amazing privately-owned hill consisting of 60 acres of land with breathtaking views of the beautiful Cretan Sea. Located just 2 minutes away by car from the amazing beaches of Malia and just a 20 minute drive from the international airport ‘Nikos Kazantzakis’ in Heraklion and five minutes from the golf of Herisonnisos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heights Hotel Malia
Royal Heights Resort Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing