We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place I have ever stayed.”

Marie Melie Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marie Melie Apartments
Ranked #58 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst place I have ever stayed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Do not stay here, I warn you now, it is the most awful place to stay. The owner and his wife speak no English, they will not speak to you at all apart from when shouting at you to get out because it is 10 o'clock, where is anybody meant to go at that time of night.
During our stay our apartment got burgled, 500 euros was stolen and phones and ipods ect. The worst bit was I was punched and knocked down when confronting the burglar who had just woken up one of my friends in another room. How the burglar got in, master keys, the windows were locked and no keys were left around. The owner was most definately something to do with this robbery as he only went to the rooms without safes, which only the owner would know. As soon as the burglar had ran off, the owner 'George' walked round the corner, he did not seem to care what so ever and just told us to go back to bed, even though I had just been punched and the girls were crying in shock. He had no respect for any of us and even threatened to kick us out that night. He is the weirdest person in the world, the night after this robbery I was too scared to go back until the morning, so i went home at 530AM and i was just about to walk in the front gate, when i heard rustling in the bush the other side of the road, i waited a few minutes and from the bush he walked out just like it was a normal thing. I advise you all not to go here, it is not good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Recently returned from a week stay here with 14 of my friends, at first the apartments seemed to be beautifully kept with a great sized pool and a respectable distance from the strip (about 5/10 minutes). However after the calm, came the storm, this included: the owners a man we named "George" and his wife speaking the SMALLEST AMOUNT OF ENGLISH ever, he was extremely rude and tried kicking us out almost every night around 10 for being "too noisy" - what would he expect from a group of young adults ready to party - Also on one of the nights we were burgled around 2 in the morning where the owner really didn't seem to give a toss and tried to kick us out yet again. Other negatives included poo being found on the floor in the toilets when we arrived, the resident chickens being killed in front of us and the owner filling up fresh water bottles with pool water to sell to us. Finally just don't visit here!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You can't choose the rooms the owner just has a random guess at which rooms to give out when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malia hotels

Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently stayed here with 14 of my friends and it was appalling. The owner who we named 'George' only spoke minimal English, and made no effort to communicate with us in any way. The only time he would speak to us would be when he was swearing at us and threatening to kick us out for being too noisy. We were burgled at 2AM and a few members of the group were distraught, and all he did was tell us to be quiet and that 'The English' must leave the following day. On top of this he had serious hygiene problems, he would do the washing up with the same hose he used to water his lawn. We even caught him on one occasion spitting on a glass and then cleaning it with a cloth. He was one of the most rude and disrespectful people i have ever met, i strongly advise you to not visit this hotel, as at no point on my holiday did i feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a small hotel/apartment business, run by a Greek man and his wife that speak VERY LITTLE English. The man running the business is could only be described as being 'strange' and is always looking suspicious. On numerous occassions he threatened to kick us out for being to loud, with his definition of loud being talking in a group amongst friends. Along with the fact that we got broken into one night during our stay, he then suggested that we should not call the police and that it was a bad dream, to me that looks like he is a man hiding something. I would suggest people stay away from this accommodation as ownership of it seemed to be corrupt and wrong with both of them offering no sympathy when we had been broken into! Only positive is the location of it, however this should not make you look to book here as you will be able to find better places closer to the beach and strip at similar prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here with my partner in Sept 2010. We were a bit apprehensive after reading some bad reviews prior to our trip, however we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to see that the rooms were nice and clean, unlike the reviews told us! the rooms are basic but for what we paid we weren't expecting anything amazing. the owner was lovely and helpful, and the pool area was spacious and clean. it is in a good position as it is a short walk to the busy part of malia, and a short walk to the next resort, so it is perfect for couples who dont want to stay in the busiest part of malia!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank srb_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We booked our hotel as allocation on arrival for the first time with 5 of my mates. Couldnt have been happier! Rooms are airconditioned (for a charge) and comfortable. The bar was lovely, cheap and the swimming pool large enough with lots of sunbeds. There is a large footy pitch for havin a kick about which is great fun doing before jumping into the pool to cool down. Location is great as there is no noise from the clubs but is only a 10 minute walk for the main strip. Will be staying here again next time we go malia!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tadsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

I stayed here with my 2 friends and we were looking for somewhere to just chill out and lay by the pool for a week with some nightlife for the evening - these apartments are perfect for doing just that! The pool is of a good size for the small number of apartments and there are enough sunbeds for everyone as well as a larged grassed area - perfect for a quick football game lads! There is a pool bar/snack bar which is run by the apartment owner - he doesn't speak much English but he is always happy to help! If there is something that he doesn't have he will just pop on his little scooter and get it for you! It's a great place to spend a few hours before you go out on an evening because the drinks are fairly cheap. To the main strip of bars in Malia it's 5-10 minutes walk - you can ask the owner to book you a taxi but it's minimum 8 euros taxi fare so really not worth it! The walk to town is along a main road so it's well lit and seemed very safe to me. For good places to eat it's best to head down towards the beach as there is lots of choice on the main road just before you get to the beach. The apartments themselves are standard for Greece but we never had any problems getting hot water (however the apartments were not all full when we were there!) Also do head down to the local beach for a day - it was only 7 euros for 3 sundbeds and an umbrella and the beach bar was fab. Generally great accommodation if you want something simple and in a good location.

  • Liked — Small and friendly in good location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.0 mi away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
0.0 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Creta Mar-Gio
Creta Mar-Gio
#17 of 78 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marie Melie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marie Melie Apartments

Property: Marie Melie Apartments
Address: Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marie Melie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marie Melie Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing