We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a really lovely time”
Review of Melissa Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melissa Apartments
Ranked #6 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Melissa Apartments for 1 week from the 15th June 2010, we were greeted by Ingrid who is the owner along with her husband George and family, they made us very welcome, inviting us to have a drink with them and a few guests at the relaxing seating area next to the pool bar. They are lovely friendly people who could not have looked after myself and my 13 year old daughter any better. When we asked where we should go to eat out they directed us to the nearby restaurants Petrinos and San Georgio, where we had some fun and really good food (although their tomatoes were not quite as good as Georges home grown ones!) We absolutely loved our week, and have talked constantly to family and friends recommending the Melissa, as we know that they too would appreciate a stay in a friendly, comfortable family hotel, that has everything you need for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaylorLIverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed here for the first two weeks in September 2009. This is a basic self catering accomodation as stated. We found the apartments basic and clean. We stayed on the ground floor and had quite a lot of space and a nice area to sit out if we wished. Pool area excellent no problem getting a sun lounger. Large supermarket next door and Malia strip two minutes down the road and the old town two minutes up the road on the right as you come out of the hotel. Staff friendly and owners also. I would not recommend this place for young groups as the owners like to run a quiet establishment. This place is in an ideal location. We used local bus service quite a bit and this was an easy way to get out and about. Old town has lots of nice restaurants and lovely authentic taverna where we spent a lot of time. If you dont like a crowded beach there is a lovely one half an hours walk towards Sissi which was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sozza601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is not the place to stay if you want to have a holiday in a friendly enviroment, the owners were money grabbing, rude, unproffesional people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My wife and 2 kids(14+12) stayed here in may ,the apartments are basic but very clean . The owners greeted us on arrival at the pool bar (also the reception) and showed us to our rooms personally , then back down to the pool bar for a drink. The kids really enjoyed the pool as it felt like we had it to ourselves as there is only 16 rooms which make it a lovely place to stay. Most of us who stayed there went out on an evening for dinner then back to the pool bar to see catherine who works behind the bar . Take time to have a walk into the old town while you are there with the little tavernas and shops. The apartments are only a couple of mins walk from the lively new town but far enough away for you not to be disturbed by any noise .We are hoping to go back in October for another week of sun we really enjoyed our stay here and met a lot of new friends

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOZ1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

this is not a place for lads the staff treat u like youre 13 they are rude no ball games no splashing in the pool hotel is ok not great no one is ever at the reception not allowed people back security were rude as well as the bar staff .

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ben999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

What a great holiday the owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming people. I went with my husband and 2 children (13 &15) they loved it. It was a very clean place and the old town was lovely, if you dont want the busy nightlife or you want a lovely meal. It was so lovely that it was hard to leave after 2 weeks and come home. Malia is not just for the young i had children with me and they thought it was brillllllll. We ALL want to return and would definitly stay at Melissa Apts again. Great people great holiday, would recomend to all including families.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

I would definatley recommend this place! i loved it. The people who run it are good people and very trustworthy. If your going Malia stay here because its in walking distance of the strip and at night you won't get woken by any noises. I would definatley go back. My favourite part of Melissa Apartments is the pool its so relaxing with a pool bar and filled with sun, theres also plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to shade under. I do miss this place and hopefully will return!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clairey271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.6 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 91 in Malia
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#17 of 91 in Malia
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#10 of 173 in Hersonissos
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melissa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melissa Apartments

Address: 21 Kyprou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $28 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melissa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melissa Apartments, a delightful, family-run property in Malia Crete, occupies a superb position in the quiet part of the village. It is just moments away from the romantic Old Town of Malia with its local taverns and restaurants and from the lively Malia Beach Road with its many pubs, bars and clubs. The beautiful sandy beach is only a 10 minutes' stroll away.The atmosphere at the Melissa property is friendly and inviting: family Fragakis welcomes friends, families and couples alike and gives its best to make you feel comfortable and at home. The many repeaters who spend their holiday at Melissa apartments can only confirm this.A large swimming pool with sun drenched terrace and poolside snack bar add to the appeal of the charming Melissa apartments property. Active or relaxed holidays in Melissa Apartments Malia: the choice is yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melissa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melissa Apartments Hotel Malia
Melissa Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing