We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect holiday place in the Sun”
Review of Melissa Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melissa Apartments
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday place in the Sun”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On arrival at Melissa Apartments, we got a fantastic welcome, your eyes open a the sight of a beautiful blue pool with bar. The apartments are self-catering with ample provision to do any meal or like us eat at pool bar, in day and any of the quiet local restaurants near by. The location is perfect near everything but far enough not to here bump bump of night life. Thanks to Ingrid, George & Christina , and the excellent cleaner we are having an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Every room is kept to the same excellent because I checked so all are great but we prefer room 301...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    18
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent 10 days here self-catering at the end of April. It was a lovely place to stay. George and Ingrid were the perfect hosts, friendly and very helpful. If you needed anything or had a problem, all you had to do was ask! The accommodation was clean, light and airy and well looked after. We had a one bedroom apartment with balconies.It had a kitchen (2 ring hob and fridge plus basic crockery etc) & shower room and the living area had two extra beds/sofas.The cleaning staff came in daily but were happy to fit in around our schedule so it wasn't an inconvenience. The pool area was lovely - with bar and lounge. It was located on the edge of the Old Town which was great - short walk to wonderful restaurants and much quieter than in the newer development which stretched from the main road down to the beach. Numerous clubs and bars open during the main season if you want late night life - but not close enough to disturb sleep. Local beach was good but other beaches were also close. Plenty of places to eat and local supermarkets/shops.bank etc easy to access. 2 minute walk to main road where you could get a bus or taxi to most other towns on this stretch of the north coast - or hire a car at very reasonable prices. We loved our stay and would definitely use this accommodation again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We’ve just got back from yet another fantastic holiday on Crete. I’ve lost count but it’s at least our 10th time, if not our 12th. Over the years we have stayed in many hotels/apartments in Malia, but Melissa Apartments remain our favorite. Nothing is too much trouble for George and Ingrid, ably supported by Christina. The apartments are large, clean and well furnished and we love the pool/bar area. It was the second time in Malia for our son (the first time doesn´t count as he was only 10 months old) and he loved every moment.

The biggest advantage of Melissa Apartments is that the owners live in the building. You feel part of the family and you know you will be well looked after on all fronts. And you can expect the owners to take a personal interest in you. It´s all part of the service and helps them give you hints and tips which take your likes/dislikes into account. You are in good hands with George and Ingrid.

The reviews below bear no relation to our own experiences over many years and at many different seasons. Our expectations have always been met so we can only assume that the reviewers did not research Greece/Crete/Malia properly first. Even good weather is not a given. We’ve been to Malia in mid-April and watched shivering hordes of tourists get out of their buses in the pouring freezing rain. As it was the beginning of May, we had brought jerseys and raincoats and were rewarded with unusually warm weather. And, yes, the Greeks were throwing firecrackers but this is all part of the Greek Orthodox Church Easter celebrations which are a cross between Christmas, New Year and Guy Fawkes, and the most important event of the year.

In summary… If you want to party, don’t come to Malia before the tourist season starts, and do book your accommodation on or near the Beach Road. But if you are looking for a caring family environment with good facilities at excellent rates in a quiet location, either as a base to explore Crete or just to chill out (we have done both), we can definitely recommend Melissa Apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rifka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having booked our holiday here almost 4 months ago, Melissa apartments only filled the pool a couple of days before we arrived giving it no time to warm up. Given that they had so much notice, and the pool was one of the listed amenities I was VERY disappointed that they had not done this in advance as the weather was lovely but the pool was freezing cold. The staff/owners even laughed that we were going in!! We found out later on that the sea was much warmer! Not being able to use the pool more frequently at a pleasant temperature was a massive downer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cats_in_hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

One of my travel companions has provided her own review which is far more extensive than this. However, I just wanted to make a few additional comments to supplement her review.

As stated we are young professionals in our late 20s. We wanted a nice chilled break with some sun in a reasonably priced easy going apartment/location. We chose this apartment on the basis of previously good reviews and the fact that Crete at this time of year would be likely to offer some good weather compared to the UK. The weather definitely delivered, unfortunately Melissa apartments did not.

Positives

Clean-ish. Cheap. Service at the bar is friendly. The lady from london who works during the day is lovely.

Well resourced kitchen. Lots of natural light.

Negatives

The location was ok. Avoid if you have mobility issues as the road leading to the apartment was very uneven. Also we were dropped down at the taxi rank as buses are unable to drop off outside the apartments. we were required to navigate independently along a narrow road to the apartments with our cases and lots of scooters and cars hurtling toward us. There are a couple of small signs but its not brilliantly demarcated. This was not too much of an issue for us, but this may be if you have your own mobility issues or children in toe.

Malia in April. Very hostile and unpleasant welcome from the locals. i would have expected a warmer welcome given the fact that the greek economy is in dire straights and that tourism is so important to small islands like crete. We were walking to dinner one night and a group of youths threw fire crackers at us and swore at us in Greek and English. Not the apartment owner/manager's fault. Just a note if you come out of season.

For me the accommodation was basic. Could do with an upgrade. Particularly the bathroom. I appreciate you get what you pay for, but the bedding and soft furnishings felt pretty grubby. Upon arrival our toilet had flooded (which was fixed). Then the cistern water was running through the night which disrupted my sleep. Again this was fixed the next day. I just didn't anticipate these issues at the beginning of a new season. Showers are dreadful. No other words can be used!

Ingrid. As noted in the other review, as the week progressed I did start to feel like I was back at boarding school.lots of lists of rules as well as lists of extortionate charges for any damages to property (20 euros for damages to a towel for example). The towels had seen better days!

On occasions ingrid's manner left a lot to be desired. On the majority of occasions she seemed disingenuous. I feel she may need to consider whether a career in hospitality and tourism is really her bag. The point at which she barged into our room really wound me up. Huge breach of privacy which would not be tolerated in the u.k. She did apologise for this at a later stage, but unfortunately the damage had been done.

Bar prices (2.50 euros for a soda water). This was upsetting!lager is the same price so drink that instead if you have the misfortune of staying here.

In summary...

If you are looking for a very quiet holiday in basic accommodation then Melissa apartments would suit your needs. If you are hard of hearing then that would be beneficial as the apartments are poorly soundproofed and i can imagine they would be very noisy in peak season.

I would not recommend if you fancy a chilled time and a few drinks. If you want a party pad to crash at, pre drink in, or hang out at during the day then avoid at all costs! I can't speak from direct experience but given our experience out of season, I anticipate you would have lots of issues with the owners.

I hope that this review supports the owners to address some of issues and ultimately to improve the service they offer. In no means should this feedback be construed in any other way. I also hope this supports prospective holiday makers to make an informed decision.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara_L_R_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited the Melissa Apartments along with five other girlfriends in April 2013. We are all young professionals approaching 30, so were looking for a chilled out holiday with lots of good food, wine and laughs. Firstly, I would not advise that anyone visit Malia in April... The town is completely shut down, with only one or two eateries and bars actually open. We tended to be gawped or laughed at by locals who often exclaimed 'why are you here?!?'.

In terms of good points, Melissa Apartments offers clean and basic accommodation as advertised. The pool area is pleasant and the bar always staffed. The rooms were also serviced on a daily basis which is good for self catering accommodation. We were also allowed to stay in the room until we were picked up for our flight home, which was kind. However, the water pressure was extremely poor for the duration of our stay, often resulting in a dribble of a shower. I actually had to shower on my knees on one occasion to increase the water pressure. Furthermore the water was heated by solar power and so hot water was not available in the morning or early afternoon. The sound proofing in the apartments was awful, we could hear everything which often woke us early in the mornings.

I suppose our biggest complaint, which really did put a dampener on the holiday, was the way in which we were treated by the owner upon occasion. Upon arrival (at 11pm) we felt that we received a judgemental lecture on the doorstep, being asked 'what do you expect from your holiday' and that it wasn't going to be 'party party party'. We were often not left alone at the poolside, often being asked lots of questions about where we had been the night before etc and being told that they had heard us come in ( we felt as a subtle reminder that they were aware of our movements). On our third night, due to lack of activities available in the town, we decided to have a meal in the apartment along with some wine, charades, card games and music playing on an iPhone (very rock'n'roll.....not!) As far as we were aware the apartments were pretty empty. At 1230, there was a knock at the door and before we had a chance to answer or open the door, the owner came into the room uninvited and, for want of a better word, told us off.....telling us in an abbrasive manner 'this has to stop right now' and to turn our music off. Our objections to this were that this is an apartment in MALIA, that it was only 1230, she entered the room uninvited, that our holiday should not be adversly effected by their inability to adequatly soundproof the apartments, that there are more polite methods of handing such situations, and that if the owners wished to have guests who were tucked up in bed by 10pm then they should advertise accordingly! We felt very awkward for the rest of the holiday and unable to enjoy our evening time in the apartment. We believe that another guest had a similar experience.

In summary...The apartments are probably better suited to families or older couples....... and Malia in April akin to a ghost town and so do not visit if you are looking for signs of life. We really wish that the owners had expressed in their advertisement that any noise after sundown was not tolerated....this would have saved us all the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mishy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegmat
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

In my opinion, if the Hotel can not provide all facilities and basic standard then this place should not be taking bookings. I was tired of hearing that we were there Pre-season, Expect a Complimentary Lecture on arrival even if its very late and all you want to do is get into your room and sleep. Do not go in April, Do not go there if you are young and want some fun. The hotel/appartments have no heating or hot water available until the Afternoon if the Sun happens to heat up the Solar tank. The Bar or Food choices are poor, No Tomato juice or Corona . The Reception was closed everyday , No TV's or radio's in Rooms. No access to TV as it is situated in Reception only. Wy-Fi was very poor. The beds are as hard as rock, No Shower curtains. Toilet and shower in same room so no privacy. No noise tolerated after dark. I was told to 'be quiet please' at 11.30 pm when i returned to the hotel and laughed out loud while entering the premises.Other guests were also told to be quiet while playing cards in their room. The hotel is very cold and hollow so any noise carries and echo's. The owners live on the top floor and will not tolerate noise. Cash only facilities. It is pretty standard that you can not put paper down the loo . There were plenty of rooms available with better views and overlooking the pool the be owner Ingrid did not offer us a better room even though we let her know we were unhappy. George was lovely, Christina tried her best.

Room Tip: Do not take room 105, The Bed on the left squeaked everytime i moved . View from Balcony looks into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pegmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaApartments, Owner at Melissa Apartments, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear "pegmat",

So many complaints while not mentioning anything during your stay, so we could try and make things better for you.

Sorry for trying to give you some information when arriving at a completely new place when all you wanted was "to go to sleep". (Or going out in the end was it...?)

Sorry for not having TV's in the room but we never said or advertised that we had any.

Sorry for not having tomato juice and corona, but even when we went to the shop and got some for you, you never wanted it in the end...

Toilet and shower in separate rooms? Never heard of that one before...

As for the room... 105? Really? There is no room with such number, are you sure you stayed at this place? Even so, you never once mentioned you were unhappy with your room during your stay, if you had, we would gladly try and change things for you.

Anyway, sorry... sorry... sorry... for everything, we wish you better luck on your next holiday.

Best regards,
George - Melissa Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#17 of 90 in Malia
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 90 in Malia
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Notos Heights Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melissa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melissa Apartments

Property: Melissa Apartments
Address: 21 Kyprou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melissa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melissa Apartments, a delightful, family-run property in Malia Crete, occupies a superb position in the quiet part of the village. It is just moments away from the romantic Old Town of Malia with its local taverns and restaurants and from the lively Malia Beach Road with its many pubs, bars and clubs. The beautiful sandy beach is only a 10 minutes' stroll away.The atmosphere at the Melissa property is friendly and inviting: family Fragakis welcomes friends, families and couples alike and gives its best to make you feel comfortable and at home. The many repeaters who spend their holiday at Melissa apartments can only confirm this.A large swimming pool with sun drenched terrace and poolside snack bar add to the appeal of the charming Melissa apartments property. Active or relaxed holidays in Melissa Apartments Malia: the choice is yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melissa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melissa Apartments Hotel Malia
Melissa Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing