We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melissa Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melissa Apartments
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Melissa apartments in June 2012 for an annual girly holiday. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay so much. The apartments were clean, well presented, in a great loaction. Ingrid, George and Christina made us all feel so welcome. I would definately return as the atmosphere and accomodation was so good. Thanks for a lovely holiday xx Emma xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmylou789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Melissa Apartments is definitely a home away from home. Me and my friends booked a girly holiday in the sun. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcomed by Ingrid, Georgios, Christina and Elias. They made us feel so special and welcome, no problem or query was too small and they were more than happy to offer recommendations for food, sightseeing and the general area.

We had two apartments (as there was 7 of us) situated across the hall from each other – very handy for a group of girls! Both apartments were extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. The kitchen had everything you would need for self-catering and the supermarket is a 2 minute walk away for supplies. Although Christina is a very good cook should you not fancy cooking or going back up to your apartment with a great selection of dishes available at the bar. Elias also makes the best slushies’ in Crete! The pool and the surrounding areas are spotlessly clean and the pool is large and cool perfect for hot sunny days. The location for the apartments is perfect! Its situated in the quiet and beautiful Old Town which is full of amazing local restaurants just a few minutes’ walk away but it’s also close enough (5 minute walk) to the main strip should you want to go out for a dance and a drink, like we did most nights!

I would fully recommend a stay at the Melissa Apartments, Ingrid, Georgios, Elias and Christina are absolutely fantastic! And the apartments are everything you could wish for. We loved it so much there we didn’t want to leave and are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

You save all year for that week or two where you can switch off from work ~ and THIS is where to do it. Located so central to Malia but in such a calming enjoyable area, this beautifully maintained imaculatly clean apartments are run by Ingrid and Giorgos, with Christine at the helm on bar and cooking duties, with a warm friendly smile. Self catering, umm well with the quality of food served at the pool bar why bother, ha, we do enought of that at home. Do yourself a favour book here you shouldn't be disappointed.. I'm going back in sept hopfully

Room Tip: whatever you require just email mellisa apartments they are sure to satisfy your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at these apartments in September 2011, I travelled with my father, partner and 2 children. We had a fantastic weeks holiday. Ingrid and George are fantastic and very welcoming. We had 2 rooms both overlooking the pool area and the rooms were very clean and extremely spacious, more than enough room to accomodate us all. The rooms are very clean and the maid wasv extremely friendly.
Christina was fantastic at the bar and again made us very welcome and even though it was right at the very end of the season and we were the only ones there that wanted snacks for the kids throughout the day she was always happy to help.
The beach road strip is a very short walk away for the night life which was mainly all closed as it was the end of the season but we were glad of this due to having the kids with us, its a very short bus ride to hersonissos which was much more family orrientated if you did go in high season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeyLou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have recently come back to rainy Blighty after a perfect 2 week holiday in Malia, Crete - our first time to Crete and we stayed here at the Melissa Apartments where we received a genuine warm welcome from the owner Ingrid. Our transfer bus dropped us off outside the church on the main road in Malia and we walked a very short distance into the old Village of Malia where the Melissa is located, very easy to find and also signposted! Some of the 'roads' in the Old Village are just too small for a coach but we were not put off by walking there. We stayed at the beginning of the season and it was relatively quiet, Ingrid very kindly and generously gave us an upgrade to an apartment (we originally booked a studio) which was one of the most spacious apartments I have ever stayed in (especially Greek Islands!). The Melissa is spotlessly clean and kept very well indeed, the kitchen was equipped well with everything you need for self catering, the beds are comfortable, the decor is tasteful and homely and most importantly the bathroom was nicely fitted out (tiled throughout) and very clean. Ingrid is possibly the most loveliest host you could wish for, superb knowledge of Crete and the best places to go, generous with her maps & guide book (which was our bible during our stay) and has the best recommendations for local Tavernas for real Cretan food. I cannot praise Ingrid and George enough for their generosity of time and making our stay with them the best I have ever experienced on any holiday.
I highly recommend the Melissa apartments to anyone, family, friends, strangers! Anyone who will listen, you won't get better anywhere else.
Malia itself is beautiful, the mountain views are incredible, the old Village picture postcard, the people warm and friendly and there is plenty to see in Crete. We explored the mountains, Plateau, Zeus Cave, Elounda, Plaka, Spinalonga, Sisi, Mitolos cave and village, Hersonissos,coastal roads....so much and it's all just stunning, especially in Spring, flowers in bloom everywhere, greenery as far as the eye can see and clear bright skies everyday.
Our second week the main strip in Malia was starting to open up for the season where the youngsters like to party for the summer, who can blame them! But we were told countless times we visited at the perfect time, we had a great balance of great days exploring and nightlife if you wanted a particularly more lively night or just a few beers in a bar - for me and my partners first holiday abroad together it was perfect,we didn't want to leave! By the way, the beaches are all fantastic in the area, you won't be disappointed. We also highly recommend Milos taverna in the old village and Connections bar run by Brian and Karen, the inside of this place is stunning! Stablos taverna, oh and if you are in need of fish and chips the Dolphin fish bar on the main road run by Manos is the best ever! On the main strip, Mikes beach bar is fab and Manos is really helpful, Squeeze for real music! (proper bands!) run by Gina and Deano, really great couple who helped us a lot! Accept the Raki you are offered at the end of every meal you receive, it's good stuff and you do get used to it!
I could write a short book on reviewing Melissa/Malia, but I shall finish on this, shame on the big holiday companies only offering all inclusives nowadays, I can't think of anything worse than being holed up in a hotel for 2 weeks! Stay at the Melissa, explore Crete, taste the real Crete and Malia and you will leave with fabulous memories and a sure acceptance and desire to return to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: It's all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Macky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My family and I have visited Melissa on many occasions over the years and have always been assured of a wonderful welcome from Giorgos,Ingrid,Anna and Elias.They make all their guests feel special and go out of their way to answer any queries about the area.The apartments are spacious,spotless and in a very good location.There are lovely views to the hills behind,very accessible for all restaurants and nightlife.Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the hills and pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Been visiting these lovely apartments for nigh on 20 years - best Cretan holiday destination there is - lovely spacious apartments and welcoming friendly hosts in Ingrid and Giorgos. They are so helpful with local info about places to eat the best Cretan food, and places to visit that no-one should be concerned about visiting Malia - Melissa is in the old town, very quiet with spectacular mountain views. Spent time watching eagles soaring over the mountains and swallows swooping over the pool for a late afternoon drink. We have travelled far and wide over many years, but Melissa is perfect for us for the forseeable future - we plan on returning Sept/Oct this year. Highly recommend Melissa for everyone in need of a good holiday.

Room Tip: they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.2 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#15 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#29 of 95 in Malia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
Philoxenia Hotel Malia
#17 of 95 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melissa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melissa Apartments

Property: Melissa Apartments
Address: 21 Kiprou, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Malia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melissa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melissa Apartments, a delightful, family-run property in Malia Crete, occupies a superb position in the quiet part of the village. It is just moments away from the romantic Old Town of Malia with its local taverns and restaurants and from the lively Malia Beach Road with its many pubs, bars and clubs. The beautiful sandy beach is only a 10 minutes' stroll away.The atmosphere at the Melissa property is friendly and inviting: family Fragakis welcomes friends, families and couples alike and gives its best to make you feel comfortable and at home. The many repeaters who spend their holiday at Melissa apartments can only confirm this.A large swimming pool with sun drenched terrace and poolside snack bar add to the appeal of the charming Melissa apartments property. Active or relaxed holidays in Melissa Apartments Malia: the choice is yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melissa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melissa Apartments Hotel Malia
Melissa Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing