We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel made a mistake and was then Extremely Rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I booked a room at this hotel for me, my husband and my daughter- or so I thought.
They rang, I was out, and they spoke to my husband to say the price was wrong - my husband speaks no German. Instead of Eur 1192 they now said it was Eur 2082. I rang to ask what happened. I asked if they would speak english as the original woman I spoke to had spoken English. This person said she spoke no English -I speak some German and they said the new price was for 3 people. I explained that I booked it for three. It seems that my daughter at 15 is an adult. But I had already told them this at the time of booking . What concerned me was not the mistake but the way they handled it. They seemed worried that I was demanding the room for Eur 1192. What I would have appreciated was an apology and an admission they had made a mistake. They seem to be concerned about proving they didn't have to give me the room for Eur 1192 as they hadn't sent me the confirming email. I was perturbed that they had no concern for the problem they caused my family with that mistake because now the room was too expensive and we had no hotel. When I tried to ask how such a mistake could be made they just talked over me. They said I could do nothing about this. I said I could write a review on Trip Advisor. Their response was to laugh and the woman continued to laugh as I spoke. Even when I talked to the the manager she just spoke loudly and continuously and wouldn't let me speak. It seems like something out of the dark ages when you laugh at foreigners, speak loudly over them and couldn't care less about the impact of a mistake. It was a really unpleasent experience to be treated like this.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank Dandolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelCharme, Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte Familie Dandolino,

vielen Dank für die Bewertung und die Hinweise. Da ich den gesamten Vorgang, teilweise direkt dabei stehen, gänzlich anders erinnere möchte ich mich an dieser Stelle nur nochmals für das Mißverständnis entschuldigen. Allerdings - einen Punkt möchte ich nicht so stehen lassen - über Sie hat niemand gelacht, während wir beide telefonierten hat meine Mitarbeiterin mit einem anderen Gast der von einem Ausflug zurück kam gescherzt.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Sellin
Nikolaus Kleiner
Direktor & Gastgeber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

The time which i speend in this hotel was FAB...
Personel was realy nice and helpful as it out the , it was easy to acess to beach as the homel is placed about 200m that maximum...
And the SELIN is realy nice...
Even when was cold , the town was look like from faitytale story.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank megen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: immer die Suiten nehmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaus K, Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaus K, Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrat268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaus K, Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
141
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaus K, Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank astrain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolaus K, General Manager at Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sellin
1.2 mi away
Cliff Hotel Rugen
Cliff Hotel Rugen
#5 of 20 in Sellin
236 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
#1 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Sellin
Parkhotel Sellin
#7 of 20 in Sellin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Strandhotel Baabe
Strandhotel Baabe
#4 of 12 in Ostseebad Baabe
71 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seehotel Binz Therme Rugen
Seehotel Binz Therme Rugen
#7 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
123 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Ranzow
Hotel Schloss Ranzow
#2 of 3 in Lohme
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen

Address: Wilhelmstr. 27, 18586 Sellin, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Sellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sellin
#4 Spa Hotel in Sellin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sellin
Price Range: $109 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce vita between sky and sea. Beautifully located on the cliffs of Sellin, the first-class hotel Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin in its vibrant colours full of Mediterranean zest for life offers an unmatched view of the sea and the pier. Your friendly and relaxed hosts provide a charming and informal atmosphere. This is where you stay: 96 rooms and suites, comfortably furnished and decorated in fresh colours, almost all with balcony or patio. Culinary experience When the morning sun shines through the 6 m high windows of the Allegro restaurant in the atrium onto the enticing breakfast buffet and you look out over the Baltic Sea, the start to your day could not be more perfect. And you can continue the day with sweet temptations on the Baltic Sea terrace. In the evening, you look back over its events whilst enjoying Mediterranean or regional specialities and bring it to ist harmonious conclusion in the Finale bar. In a PURIA Natur treatment with precious nurturing ingredients it's so easy to relax -also in the sauna area as well as on the sun terrace. In addition, modern fitness facilities await the health-conscious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen Rugen Island, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing