We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
12
9
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
12
9
8
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017

We spent one night at this hotel. It is comfortable and well appointed for a mid-range hotel. We had asked for a quiet room and slept perfectly. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and we were very well looked after. We didn't eat in the restaurant, having been invited to a meal elsewhere, but had a look at the menu and liked what we saw. To be recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

We found this hotel on the internet with some mixed reviews. Most of them were good. The not so good ones were complaining about the noise of the trains that went by.
The hotel itself is nice, with a small parking on the premises. The rooms are clean. The beds are very hard, as in most German hotels. The rooms were very warm, so you needed to open the windows in order to get the room cooled. That was when we heard the trains. But is was not so bad as we had our rooms at the rear of the hotel. A disadvantage is that you have people walking through the alley at the back of the hotel all through the night. Sometimes singing or shouting, which is more bothersome than the train. Br ofeakfast was good. Plenty of bread, a good assortment of meats and cheeses, cereals etc.
There was also a restaurant/bar in the hotel. The food there was nice. Seasonal and regional dishes. All very tasty and plentyfull. Here we come to the only downside of this hotel. The staff. The lady at the reception and the cleaning staff were the friendliest people in the hotel. Some of the staff in the restaurant were nice, but some of them were downright unfriendly. One night there were two ladies working there who could not be bothered to serve their customers with so much as a smile. We were almost afraid to ask anything. A shame really. Otherwise this would have been a great place to stay.

Room tip: If you're not bothered by noise from a train. Get a room at the front.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in the beginning and at the end on our Main-cycling-holiday in July 2014 there. The owner (Thorsten) and his wife were very welcoming and helpful.
The owner is the cook of the restaurant and is a brilliant cook. We ate most days at his restaurant and would have done all days but the restaurant unfortunately had one "Ruhetag" and we had to seek for another Restaurant.
Nothing was too much trouble at this place. We even where surprised one day with a very deliciously cooked bacon and eggs for breakfast as an extra.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a big selection of tea, bread rolls, homemade jams, cereals, eggs, cheese, cold meats, homemade cakes and more. One in our group had a lactose allergy and the next day Soja milk and Soja-yoghurt was on our breakfast table. Nothing was too much trouble for Thorsten and his staff.
All of us (8 people) can highly recommend this hotel

Room tip: rooms at the back are quieter
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gila72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

On the edge of the old town pedestrian area, this hotel looks very smart and newly decorated from the outside. Nice safe parking right in front, on the hotel ground. The interior is also very nicely renovated and everything makes a good impression. The hotel owner checked us in; he had just finished cooking lunch,was very friendly and good humoured. We did not eat at the hotel because we wanted to try another nearby restaurant. Hotel Gasthof zum Baeren has a good menu and apparently (people say) the food is good. Our room was very clean with everything that you need, not luxury but good. Problem! Our room was directly across from the main road and was very noisy. The weather was warm so we naturally needed the windows open. The railway also runs by here! About midnight it gets quieter but all starts again at about 4:00h in the morning. The breakfast was absolutely first class and the owner was here again doing his job so well. There was a never ending flow of fresh coffee and all the presented dishes, meat, cheese, bread, cake, fruit, eggs etc. etc. were refreshed regularly. The price was reasonable. Such a shame that our room was so noisy, otherwise this would have earned the top score.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews