We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but with a few drawbacks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Krone
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quaint but with a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My group and I stayed here for one night. It is a quaint little hotel and the people were extremely friendly.
The pluses: Rooms were clean, shower was good, atmosphere was pleasant.
My students used the pool to cool off & have some fun. It was nice but VERY hot in there since there was also a sauna room adjacent to the pool.

The minuses: Street facing rooms were loud with passing cars if the windows were open. This was an issue since the rooms are not air conditioned so the windows HAD to be open or the rooms were stuffy
Some areas did NOT have an elevator to reach them.
There was a hairdryer but no refrigerator or coffee making appliances.
The doors must be locked with a key from the inside and the outside (they don't automatically lock when you close them)
The breakfast was very good.
We also had dinner here and it was very good.
If I were in the area again, I would not stay here. I would stay closer to the center of Heidelberg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madame44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
6
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hotel looks a bit outdated in a typical German style. Sober but clean room and a quiet room. The kitchen in the hotel is one of the best I ever experienced. Excellent food, very tastefull and carefully and very good looking presented.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin-Jeziorna, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My visit to the city Hirschberg was a business trip. The hotel is located in the center of town, near tram and bus stops. To the railway station GroSsachsen-Heddesheim is about 2 km. By tram you can quickly get to Mannheim and Heidelberg. The hotel is cozy, has a small swimming pool and a lounge with free Internet access. Meals are delicious, in the evening you can use the services of the restaurant and enjoy a gourmet dinner and drink a wheat Hefe Weisen beer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stopped here en route to the Bodensee.It's on the edge of a small town near Mannheim.After a mix-up with the reservations(luckily I had copies of the confirmation) we were given 2 good sized rooms.Unfortunately,the requested twin was a double,although with separate mattresses and duvets,as seems often to be the case in Germany.However,on leaving the next day,I found proper twin rooms across the corridor which we were not offered,although it was a busy place and they did seem reasonably full.There is a small basement pool,which was welcome.
They excelled with the food which was excellent.Both dinner and breakfast were impressive,and the breakfast had hot items of food as well as the usual continental spread.The room bill was actually less than I had been told,so it made up for the room mix up.
I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here,but it was a good place to stop and avoided going into a big town or city.The staff were pleasant and polite

  • Liked — good food and big rooms
  • Disliked — boring area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse
2.2 mi away
NH Weinheim
NH Weinheim
#1 of 3 in Weinheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Hirschberg Heidelberg
NH Hirschberg Heidelberg
#1 of 3 in Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ottheinrich Weinheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kaiser
Hotel Restaurant Kaiser
#1 of 4 in Schriesheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim - Ladenburg
4.7 mi away
Midori Guesthouse
Midori Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Dossenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone

Property: Hotel Krone
Address: Landstr. 9 - 11, 69493 Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing