We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with average service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ringhotel Goldener Knopf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringhotel Goldener Knopf
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bad Sackingen
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with average service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Well built hotel with great location but would say poor service.
The staff was not courteous enough and surprisingly its 4 star property which is not worth. But the rooms and everything was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dental_abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
31
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you get a room with a balcony, and view over the river, it is OK. Others had rooms where you hit yourself if you turned around.
The Management would not budge other than 3% reduction over the official price on the net, although the organisers had reserved about 25 rooms for 5 nights for a Bentley rally. We paid for the rooms ourselves.
The chef is nothing to write home about and the bar closes at 19.00.
The breakfast service and the offerings are OK, but is not included in the room rate.
The Manager, sometimes in the reception, does not have a "service attitude".
There must be a better hotel in Bad Sackingen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best view ever , the hotel have a full view on the rein amazing and so relaxing
Don't need anything except to relax in the terrace
Rooms are clean,
Food is Good ,
Love the place
Location Excellent
I will definitely go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina_Gabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The main reason to stay here is the location; rooms on one side overlooking the Rhine, and the famous wooden bridge; on the other side the main square and Frisolin Munster. The second is the fine restaurant, though at least €40 per person and up it's not cheap. There's a lovely terrace area to eat and drink when the weather's good.
Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. My single was small, but had good hanging and storage space for clothes, and a decent desk for working. The bed is quite hard, good for back problems, but some may not like it. Wifi is free and fast enough. Shower has good pressure and a choice of top or side spray nozzles. Noise from outside is minimal, with excellent double glazing. On the other hand noisy neighbours can disturb your sleep, so bring earplugs.
Excellent breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, smoked salmon, eggs, bacon, sausage and a range of cold meats, pastries and preserves. Staff in traditional dresses a bit kitsch but you might like that.
You will pay extra for the location, but should be able to get a room under €100.
Odd number rooms face the square, even numbers face the Rhine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessel-Lo
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The view from the Rhine-side rooms is stunning, the church square at 50m of the hotel is charming, the rooms are modern and nice, the wine list is expensive but fabulous, the food is absolutely gorgeous...but the service in restaurant and breakfast area was cool, uninterested and on the verge of impolite...until they saw my notebook...then it improved. Before that we were treated like a nuisance and they did everything to get the restaurant empty as soon as possible. had the impression the boss had an evening off...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a nice small hotel beautifully located on the Rhine, by an old wooden bridge. I was lucky enough to have one of the new rooms, recently renovated, with wooden floor and Nespresso machine, a balcony with a stunning view on the Rhein. Others in my group had one of the old rooms, very small and definately in need of renovation. Food is ok, good quality but nothing to rave about. Meeting facilities (as i was there on business) average. Rooms, especially the ones with a view n the town square can be noisy. I would consider Bad Saeckingen again for a meeting, as the town is lovely, but would want to make sure that the hotel has gone through further renovations.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Perfect little hotel at the German-Swiss border, along the Rhine.
Rooms are neat, Beds comfy, Bathroom impeccable.Good breakfeast. WiFi is complimentary.

Located in the middle of the old city.
Don't be surprised, to get to the hotel, you'll have to drive through the pedestrian zone. This is actually allowed for hotel guests. Nevertheless I couldn't help myself from having a cold sweat when I got tailed by a police car. The police station is located a little further from the hotel... :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Sackingen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rheinsberg
Hotel Rheinsberg
#1 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St. Fridolin
Hotel St. Fridolin
#3 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schweizerblick
Hotel Schweizerblick
#6 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel zur Fluh
Hotel zur Fluh
#4 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel am Hochrhein
Hotel am Hochrhein
#7 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel zum Hirsch
#5 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Goldener Knopf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Goldener Knopf

Property: Ringhotel Goldener Knopf
Address: Rathausplatz 9, 79713 Bad Sackingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Bad Sackingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bad Sackingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Goldener Knopf 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax and enjoy a unique location, with direct view of Europe's longest roofed wooden bridge. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the old town of Bad Säckingen in the south west where Germany meets Switzerland and France. This historical building was first mentioned in official records in 1456. Joseph Victor von Scheffel, author of the "trumpet player of Säckingen" was a regular visitor who loved to spend his free time there. Over centuries the Ringhotel Goldener Knopf has grown to become one of the most prestigious houses in the region today. Our hotel is special - be it the stunning location or it's high standards of cuisine and guest pampering. Spoil yourself in our restaurant "Le Jardin" or gourmet restaurant "VinoGusta" and choose from our selection of delicious wines (about 100 different wines, mostly from the renowned Markgräfler area and the Kaiserstuhl). Whether for family occasions, wedding receptions, business meetings or conferences, the Ringhotel Goldener Knopf offers the perfect location. We cater for parties between 10 and 80 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ringhotel Goldener Knopf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing