We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, and lovely chalet!”
Review of Chalet Sterwen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Landry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Sterwen
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Great hosts, and lovely chalet!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We chose the chalet to use as a base on a ski photoshoot and Mark and Amy were great hosts, they helped us so much, not just the ferrying around at silly hours but even took part in the shoot! They were full of recommendations, served great food (and cakes!) and generally made us feel very welcome - we couldn't have chosen a better chalet to base ourselves! Would definitely (and have) recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LydiaRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fab property, excellent food and service delivered by Mark & Amey the proprietors. A very relaxed atmosphere and very comfortable. I would choose this over staying in any of the Arc villages due to there complete lack of atmosphere. Skiing was awesome.

Room Tip: Top floor a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about our holiday in Chalet Sterwen was amazing. The chalet is beautiful and very comfortable and the food was fabulous. Every whim was catered for and we all had the time of our lives. Skiing superb and Mark and Amy did everything possible to ensure all went smoothly. After a long day on the slopes, we always had a warm welcome home with Amy's wonderful cakes and then a scrumptious meal later on. The children were brilliantly catered for and loved it so much we had tears when it was time to go home. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LauraFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at Sterwen in March. Mark and Amy were fantastic hosts and made the holiday very easy, fun and relaxing in every possible way. The chalet is gorgeous and the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Food was top class and the wine just kept pouring. Also, although it's not ski in, ski out, the morning transfer (less than 10 mins) and then the funicular (also less than 10 mins) could not have been easier. We got a ski locker in Les Arc 1600 which made things even easier but this wouldn't be essential. I really recommend this chalet to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarrakechAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white_chalets_bansko, Manager at Chalet Sterwen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for the review Andy, I'm glad you all had a great time. Enjoy Marrakesh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is superb. Beautifully decked out, spacious and comfortable chalet. Hosts who make you feel welcome as if it were your own home. Mark and Amy have found a way of providing luxury at a price even we can afford.
I was dubious about the drive to the funicular in the morning as it sounded a bit of a hassle. However, if you get a locker at the top there's really nothing to it.
We hope to go back and take the whole family as it was easily the best skiing holiday I have been on.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not fully en-suite (ie. toilet just outside in corridor) , so choose carefully if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benbeeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Sterwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Sterwen

Property: Chalet Sterwen
Address: le Villard D Aval, 73210 Landry, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry > Landry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Landry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Chalets is an independent ski company working in the Paradiski area one of Europe's largest ski areas with 425km of pistes to explore. Chalet Sterwen is based in Les Arcs but is within easy reach of the world class resorts of La Plagne, Sainte Foy, Val d'Isère, Tignes and La Rosiére with its link to the Italian Thuile. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing