We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Etoiles!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Apartment 4 - Floorplan
Gym
Gym with the pool in the background
Sauna
Trampoline
Communal dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Grand-Bornand, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fischmarr...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
“5 Etoiles!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our family (with three kids 8, 10 & 12y.) stayed in Chalet le 4 for a week in one of the 2-brm apartments . The extremely friendly and helpful owners, Eva & Piet Hein, have made this the perfect place for a skiing holiday with kids! Everything you can think of to make your holiday a pleasant one, is there: excellent kitchen supplies, coffee machine, super comfy beds, laundry area, a locker room, where you can dry your gloves and snow shoes at night, sleds for the kids, a small pool, communal play room, bread ordering service in the morning, a sport physiotherapist service.
Apart from being very complete and practical, the apartment was immaculate and modernly & tastefully decorated. It is an easy 10 min. ride to the telecabine in town where the parking is free and easy early morning. Skiing was great too, lost of variety in slopes and not too big to get lost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beds & floor heating
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur H
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Modern, very comfortable, beautiful location, great for kids.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A relaxing and enjoyable week in a quiet picturesque valley. Hosts were delightful. Facilities brilliant - sophisticated cooking, lighting, tv, coffee etc equipment. Underfloor heating made it very warm and pleasant. Cosy wood burners in all apartments and the communal area. V clean and comfortable. Kids loved the pool, swings and wonderfully stocked play room. Endless wave machine was brilliant for the adults. Would definitely book again.
An easy drive to Annecy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool, gym and sauna facilities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth C
Knaresborough
1 review
“Beautiful chalet in stunning scenery”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I and our two young sons had a fabulous holiday at Chalet le 4. Our hosts Eva & Piet Hein Schram were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. The chalet was lovely with everything you need and the indoor and outdoor play areas and pool were fantastic for the kids. The surrounding scenery was stunning and we enjoyed exploring the countryside and nearby towns, including down to the beautiful Lake Annecy. Lots to do and see. We recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning scenery surrounding chalet and lovely interior to relax in.
Liked least: Nothing - all good!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepless...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate chalet, fantastic facilities and perfect location”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Grand Bornand is a picturesque Alpine town with lots going on in and around throughout the summer (e.g. Tour de France passing through, outdoor swimming pools, golf, tennis, cable cars, summer luge and water park in nearby La Clusaz). We would not necessarily have heard of the town had my husband not been 20 years earlier but, having visited many French ski resorts this summer, we realised Grand Bornean's atmosphere and location is hard to beat. It's also a 30-40 min drive to Lake Annecy and its beaches which we visited almost daily and which were perfect for our two young children.
Chalet Le 4 has a definite wow factor, situated 5km outside Grand Bornand in a stunning valley overshadowed by the Aravis chain of mountains, it is newly renovated throughout to a very high standard with four spacious apartments over the bottom two floors of the chalet. The facilities are exceptional, even for a hotel, and we had them to ourselves most of the time: brand new well-equipped gym, sauna, swimming pool (with endless pool), playroom with toys and books, laundry room, terrace for BBQs. There is also a trampoline and climbing frame outside in the garden, two tennis courts 100m down the road and golf and driving range a 2 min drive away. Walking trails are everywhere.
The apartments are warmly and tastefully decorated, children's requirements were provided for (high chairs, changing mats, nightlights etc) and self-catering was easy given the well equipped kitchen, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, and brilliant bread run (order the night before, croissants outside your door in the morning!). Eva was also a brilliant hostess and provided lots of ideas for entertaining children (she has four herself!).
I'm sure I've left something out but we really could not fault Chalet Le 4 and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora K
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great location for adults and children, luxurious house, wonderful dinners!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Our stay was amazing. The house is beautiful and very luxurious, the location is very nice and just 5 minutes from the 'ski piste' (the bus arrives in front of the house). There are lots of facilities for adults and children and we had lovely dinners in the evening. They also had a bread service in the morning, which was very nice! We were with another family and it was a very good combination to have your private house with your family together with lots of place upstairs to be together (although the house was big enough as well to spend time with both families). While our children where sleeping in the evening we where upstairs having dinner and a drink with the fireplace (there are integrated ' baby monitors' so nothing to worry about). We already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of house, location and possibilities/service
Liked least: No idea
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia60
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High quality chalet in a beautiful quiet location, but with easy ski access”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I recently stayed in Chalet Le 4 with some friends on a short ski break. The location is quick and easy to reach from Geneva and while the chalet is away from the slopes themselves, the local free bus is regular, quick and reliable. The ski area is perfect for families and beginners, although it does offer some tasty off piste if there is fresh snow. The accommodation was suprisingly good for the price, having been recently converted to a high standard. The Chalet can provide breakfast and 4 course dinner which we found to be great value and it was lovely to have a swim and sauna after a hard days snowboarding. Eva and her family provide a relaxing, luxurious environment and were extremely helpful and friendly hosts. In short, this is a perfect location for a flying ski trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great modern conversion
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen1976
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for Family or group vacation. Excellent and very friendly!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Chaletle4 is brand new and the owners thought of everything an appartment needs. The fire place was great and we used the swimming pool every day. Also a good work out is no problem in the Gym. We loved the diner served by Piet Hein and Eva. Fresh bread every morning at 07.30

Thank you for a wonderfull vacation. We enjoyed it!

Schmitz Family
Netherlands

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire place, Swimming Pool and Gym
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$156
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing