We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday in the Alps”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Indoor pool, also designed for children!
Gym
Gym with the pool in the background
Sauna
Trampoline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Le Grand-Bornand, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TheFamily...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect holiday in the Alps”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Last year we stayed at Chalet Le 4 for a week and we loved it so much that this year we came back for two weeks. Our 5 and 3 year olds love the swimming pool and garden and the accommodation is modern and spacious yet cosy and has everything you could need. There is so much to do locally (go ape style tree climbing, lido, crazy golf, river for paddling, summer luge, cable cars, trampolining, ice skating etc). Lake Annecy is also close by for beaches and swimming and Chamonix just over an hour away for more outdoor sports and a visit inside a glacier. Eva and Piet are so welcoming and have thought of everything you might need for travelling with small children. We would recommend Chalet Le 4 to anyone looking for a

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful chalet in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful week staying at Chalet le 4. The Vallée du Bouchet is stunning, with fabulous views from the chalet. The lovely owners and hosts Eva and Piet Hein Schram have thought of everything and more in the renovation of their chalet. The four rental apartments are cleverly arranged so that each has its own private feel and outlook but there are lovely inside and outside communal areas too in which to socialise. The ground floor pool, gym and sauna kept all the family happy. Fresh bread and croissants delivered each morning to order. Lots to do and visit in the area as described in other reviews, too much to do in a week.
Our highlights were fabulous mountain walks, the Reblochon cows and their bells, swimming in Lake Annecy, the market at Le Grand Bornand and a dining experience to remember at La Ferme de Lormay oh and seeing the circus arrive in town, not everyday you see a camel in the Alps. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mountain Bliss”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic week in apartment 4. Very clean and well appointed. Great shower, comfortable beds, Boulangerie deliveries each morning, cow bells, outdoor eating area, l could go on. The children loved the pool and l used both it and the gym. We did lots of walking which was all very good, the views were fantastic. We also visited Annecy, took a boat around the lake and swam in it on our hottest day. Having been in Germany the week before when it was very hot and muggy the cool mountain nights were excellent for sleeping well. The luge in La Clusaz was very popular with us all.

I have wanted to do a holiday away from the sea for many years, but was always overruled! This area and accommodation is ideal for families with so much to do. The drive up to Calais is easy. We stayed overnight near Arras but could have got back to Cambridge in one go on one tank of diesel. So much easier than slogging up from Provence. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breathtaking location, excellent chalet and fantastic host, perfection!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had never been to the French alps before but now we hope to come back! Chalet-le-4 is situated just outside le Grand Bornand which must be one of the prettiest villages in the area if not the world. The scenery is stunning, the air is clean, the Swiss style chalets are all picture postcard perfect and chalet-le-4 is no exception. We travelled with our 2 boys aged 13 and 8 and both loved it. Being just outside the village the chalet was lovely and peaceful... ( the only sound in the evening was the crickets and the cowbells!) it was the perfect location for getting away from it all, but handy for activities, shops and restaurants.
The pool and gym in the chalet were great and we used them daily. Being indoors the pool was great when it rained and the option to open up the doors meant it was great when the sun came out too. There was a great little games room for little ones and a trampoline and play area in the front garden so our youngest was never short of something to do. The wifi connection was reliable throughout our apartment and was certainly put to the test as all 4 of us had our tablets with us!
The hospitality was second to none. Eva was very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive and she even organised a great massage for me which was a real treat. The chalet was equipped with everything we could have wished for and more besides and with Eva offering to take orders each evening for fresh bread, croissants and nespresso coffee capsules breakfast was always delicious.
We never had to travel far for a great day out. There was mini golf in the village ( beware of the long lunch time closure though), a unique carousel, and an acrobranche type adventure park ( though we went to the one at Talloires as it catered so well for younger kids and they spoke excellent English.... Ours loved it and I was confident they were safe). The river setting was lovely for a leisurely stroll and to watch our youngest on the children's play area while the para gliders drifted by overhead and we could have played tennis or table tennis or used the 3 great outdoor pools in the village too though we chose not to. We tried various restaurants and never failed to be impressed... And of course the requisite ice creams and sorbets were all sampled and found delicious.
Going to la Clusaz is a must as it's so handy and another great place for the kids. The luge ride there is great (I speak from experience!) and incorporates a ride up the mountain in a patinoire (cable car), there's another mini golf and bouncy castles and other fun stuff for older ones. Again it's very pretty. Lake Annecy was on our must do list before we went and we did it twice as the drive was so easy from the chalet. It was beautiful. There's another great luge outside Annecy at le semnoz, and yet another mini golf near the centre but just sitting by the lake watching the world go by was great for me. The old town is worth a visit.... With it's canal style streets and quaint shops... Very photogenic, though our boys found it less than interesting. Sorry to lower the tone of the review but there's also a McDonald's outside Annecy on the west side of the lake, which our boys were delighted about!
Having now moved to Samoens for our second week we all agree that we prefer le Grand Bornand and chalet-le-4. We have had an excellent day out at Evian-les-Bains though so if you don't mind a drive it would be worth a trip from chalet-le-4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, facilities and hospitality were all exceptional
Liked least: The boys said their beds were a bit soft (ours was great) and the chalet got too warm
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay for a family holiday in the mountainse”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Pete and Eva were very welcoming hosts, and the chalet was perfect for a family holiday with two small children (2 and 4) - excellent facilities and near to plenty of outdoor activities in the summer.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful chalet, ideal for families with young children”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second time at Chalet Le 4 staying in Apt. 1. We were anxious that our stay would not live up to the memories of such a great time the previous year. But we needn't have been worried! We loved it just as much and hope to return again. For us, you can't beat the location - you look out on to stunning snow capped mountains and lush green fields and can hear the distant ring of cowbells. It's only a short drive into Le Grand Bornand itself where, even in off peak season, there were restaurants open and all you need in terms of groceries etc. There's a larger supermarket not far away too. The chalet itself is kitted out beautifully - all very simple in style, spotlessly clean and really spacious too. Apt 1 opens out onto the decked area where you can eat outside or sunbathe on a lounger whilst watching the kids bounce on the trampoline or play on the climbing frame! For children it's perfect - our 2 boys aged 3 and 4 loved it as much as last year too. The playroom on the top floor is fantastic with plenty to keep them entertained from colouring to table football, a book corner, lego, train track, play kitchen and the list goes on. The indoor pool was a must every day for our boys who couldn't get enough of it. It's small but perfect for young children with a shallow area and buttons to activate a mini waterfall and bubbles! Little extras like having bread delivered to your door each morning make it feel indulgent too. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chalet le 4 to families looking for a break in the mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountain views and the chalet itself.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian V
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baby heaven - everything you need for a stress-free holiday”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our first break away with our one-year old, so we wanted somewhere that would allow us to relax. Chalet Le 4 was built with young families in mind. Everything - from the pool, washing and drying facilities, intercom baby monitors, cots - it's all fabulous. Our apartment had a lovely feeling - very cosy and welcoming, and there's nothing like fresh croissants in the morning, which are delivered on request. Eva and Piet are great hosts - their meals are excellent if you don't want to cook - and they know the area intimately. Le Grand Bornand is a special town. It's quiet, but none the worse for that. Our little one couldn't get enough of the cows and their bells! She was teething most of the week, but we still left feeling refreshed, which tells its own story. Can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing