We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday in Chinaillon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just back yesterday from a fantastic trip to Le Grand Bornand where we stayed in Chinaillon. We were a family of 4; two adults & 2 children aged 11 & 7. We choose this resort specifically as the accommodation looked close to the slopes & the resort offered a good mixture of runs to accommodate various ages & skills. We were not disappointed as we found the resort to have an excellent mixture of Greens, Blues & Reds which we sampled as the week progressed. The apartment we had was Irene 7 which was excellent as it was towards the bottom of the hill and therefore near the slopes. The apartment block is built into the mountain and is serviced by multiple lifts which you have to use to get from the bottom of the complex to the top where reception is. Advice would be to look for Irene area which is a 2 bedroom 1 1/2 bathroom unit, with pull out couch. We found it adequate for 4 people but might be tight with any more.
Negatives: Make sure you get a unit close to bottom of complex as that is where you go daily so a unit at top of complex would be a pain every day as you would need to use 4 separate lifts. Due to a strange setup the heat in apartment is controlled centrally and you cannot change the heat controls, you therefore end up with the thermostat which is in kitchen switching off heat in bedrooms which get cold as temp in kitchen reaches 21C, you then swelter in the night as it keeps heat on most of night, also our thermostats on our rads did not work either. Other big gotcha was the swimming pool where (like other areas of France) all males have to wear non boxer type swimming shorts, forcing you to buy y-front type swim shorts from reception. Also pool was rather cold so we only went once, which was a shame as it was a key reason we choose this resort.
Big compliment to the staff who were friendly & efficient and always smiling. Local SPAR supermarket is very close & well stocked as is ski hire shop TWINNER which is below resort, again staff really friendly & helpful. We stayed in most evenings so use the SPAR a lot, ate out on slopes each day & ate in each evening.
I will certainly go back to both the resort & this complex as it offers a perfect mix for families whilst being a reasonable cost. Transfers to airport was done with Aravis who seemed a cost effective & timely option.

Room Tip: bottom of complex, try for Irene 7, to avoid 4 lifts each day from top to bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 260 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't expect a hotel service. There is no 'room service' or porter. Check in was very chaotic. It took us 3 trips to return to the front desk to collect the cot that had been ordered months before, and the extra sheets for the sofa bed, and then the sheets for the cot ! We couldn't understand why this has to be the case when all check in details had been confirmed months ago.
Similarly no extra dressing gowns and toiletries were provided, even though we had booked them. We were so frazzled by check in that we didn't get to mention it until a few days later. There was no apology or recompense and it wasn't worth taking it by then.
Despite these gripes the appartment was very spacious and well fitted out. We were lucky I think to be allocated a disabled appartment because there were 6 of us (3 adults, 3 children).
Our living area was big enough so that my brother & sister-in-law & their 2 children could join us from their appartment for evening meals. We certainly would have been very squashed in their normal appartment.
The balcony was completely useless as it never ever got the sun. This was a great shame for us as when our babies slept, there was no chance to sit out in the afternoon sunshine.
If there was a way of paying extra to secure a sunny balcony I would definatley do this if we visited again.
Over all I would stay there again.
The resort is fantastic, and this accommodation is very central. Just above the SPAR shop, and opposite the tourist information centre & access to lifts.
I agree that the lift sequance is time consuming and a bit confusing. 7 or 8 lifts to descend (or go back if you forget something).
Be aware that the swimming pool requires men to wear 'speedo' type trunks and do not allow the surf type shorts most Brits would wear on holiday. They wouldn't even let my 5yr old boy in wearing his swim shorts. This was a real pain and meant a lot of tears from him.

Room Tip: Take your speedo swim trunks! Ask about the balcony. Is the disabled appartment available??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Le Village De Lessy and we were really pleased with the clean, welcoming and luxurious surroundings it provided.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were very well looked after.

We will certainly return there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Handy ski locker with the ski lift situated about 8 minutes walk away. But the apartments are spread over a large area requiring multi stage lift rides. There are about 7 or 8 lifts you need to take to get from top to bottom. Staff are very helpful. Apartments are comfortable with everything you need. Dont be surprised when they ask for a hefty deposit though, which is refundable when you leave as long as evrything is accounted for.
On the whole, a good skiing holiday was had, and the accomodations are absolutely fine.
The pool was very crowded and full of kids so not very relaxing and there is no gym or fitness facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the slopes and an apartment about half way up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumpy25lbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierreblanche2, Manager at Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear guest,

we're glad you had a nice stay in our residence, but just wanted to add that we have gym and fitness facility nearby the swimming pool. We feel sorry if you didn't find this room, and invite you to ask our staff if you can't manage to find any other facility during your next stay. Looking forward to welcoming you another time in le Village de Lessy.

Marianne LACOMBE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We came here to ski, 2 adults, 2 children, the location of Village de lessy is good, if you are in one of the buildings nearer the road. You get a ski locker with your room and a hop across the road, down in the lift and a 50m walk sees you at the bottom of the lifts, no more than 5mins. The room was basic, but decent. We tried the pool, but the jacuzzi was cold/broken and the pool massively crowded. It was our only visit. There is a lift system in the chalets, which is easy enough to follow but quite laborious, so again I would suggest a room near the road. There are some nice deli's and a spa supermarket directly below, so easy. The village itself is nice with decent restaurants and lovely friendly people, skiing was great as a family, enough to test the adults in some parts and easy enough for the children in others. Its also about an hour from Geneva which is great. If someone asked I would say the ski-ing was great and the accomodation was 'alright'...

Room Tip: Get as near to the road as possible, not great for reception, but best if your going out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Turkeymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gaetanbister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagedeLessy, Gérant at Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank lilijoli59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagedeLessy, Gérant at Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grand-Bornand
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Pointe Percee
Hotel La Pointe Percee
#6 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cimes
Hotel Les Cimes
#1 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hotel
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hot...
#3 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Chalet Les Saytels
Best Western Chalet Les Saytels
#10 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
282 reviews
10.9 mi away
Les Chalets de La Griyotire
Les Chalets de La Griyotire
#2 of 5 in Praz Sur Arly
104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Vermont
Hotel Le Vermont
#8 of 10 in Le Grand-Bornand
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy

Address: le Chinaillon, 74450 Le Grand-Bornand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Le Grand-Bornand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Le Grand-Bornand
Price Range: $128 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence CGH Le Village de Lessy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing