We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable accommodation but there are some things to bear in mind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence le Refuge du Golf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence le Refuge du Golf
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation but there are some things to bear in mind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation and generally well equipped. I’d be happy to stay here again, but there are a few points to bear in mind. Firstly, some things are not included:

1) I think we paid somewhere in the region of 38 euros for the week’s parking in the hotel car park. There are no readily available alternative parking options that I am aware of.

2) Although the pool is free use of the sauna costs extra, but at least you can opt not to use that (unlike the car park).

3) If you would like your beds made up for you, then there is an extra charge. If you don’t opt for that service, then you are simply handed a linen pack and a towel pack as you check in. When you leave, you return your towels and linen to collection points.

4) End-of-rental cleaning is not included, which seems to be a standard thing in France. You can opt to pay for someone to do this, but the cost seemed prohibitively high. Perhaps they don’t have enough staff to clean all the apartments in the time available to them. You need to allow enough time to do this before the 10 am check-out deadline. You might also want to pack some cleaning materials.

Also, there were a couple of surprising omissions: there are TV sets in the living area and in each bedroom, but there is no DVD player. The kitchen is generally well equipped but there were no sharp kitchen knives.

Wi-fi was included but the service was very patchy in our apartment. For a lot of the time there was no signal.

Transport: there is a free shuttle bus service that brings you back up the mountain from Flaine Foret and Flaine Forum (there is a ski run going down). Tip: walk down the hill (not up to the main entrance) when you get off the bus and enter the complex via one of the lower levels of the car park and take the lift up. NB: the shuttle bus service stops at 6.30 pm. That’s OK if you’re happy to spend your evenings in the apartment, but not so good if you want to visit a bar or the cinema in Flaine / Flaine Foret.

Ski hire: there is a branch of Ski Republic situated in the apartment building, which makes life easy. It’s advisable to book in advance and see what deals are on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 39ivorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely stay, lovely resort. Can ski straight from the hotel. Rooms comfortable and friendly staff. Especially the lady from Singapore on the reception desk - sorry cant remember her name - so friendly and hospitable. Fresh baked bread every morning. We'll be back !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed here from 5th Jan 12 for a weeks skiing, it was my first time and i can say the apartment was very clean, very stylish and had a great view over the mountains and ski area. a free bus to the slopes was very regular (if there was enough snow on the road you could ski to the resort centre) the resort itself was excellent, fantastic ski area great for beginners like me, who soon reached intermediate level skiing within the week, with great instruction from the ISF tutors!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamwrightification
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just spent a week here.

Didn't help that Crystal through whom we booked the apartment said we could get a bedroom with twin beds and when we got there they told us there were no bedrooms with twin beds, not Odalys' fault but it spoiled the experience a bit, and it seems silly that they don't have any rooms with twin beds.

It's situated well out of Flaine which is a purpose built monstrosity, and is a nice looking place but whilst there is a free bus service it is slightly eratic and on one occasion during our stay stopped running 20 minutes before it was supposed to, stranding us in the village.

There are no taxis in Flaine, so to get one you need it to come from elsewhere and we were told that a taxi from Flaine Village to the Refuge du Golf would cost between 50 and 80 Euros.

The Crystal brochure said that it was 2k (or maybe 2.5k) from the village which sounds perfectly walkable but it's not, I didn't find out how far it actually is but it seemed like a lot more than 2 or 2.5k. There is a free shuttle bus that operates throughout Flaine and seems to serve every hotel or apartment block EXCEPT the Refuge du Golf whom we were told had refused to sign up the scheme. You can get round this by telling the shuttle bus driver that you're staying in 81 Le Hameau which is about 50 metres from the lower entrance to the Refuge but that's hardly ideal and could get you into trouble.

The apartment was well equipped, although having the bathroom en-suite is silly if there are more than two of you as those sleeping in the living area of the apartment have to troop through the bedroom to use the bath or the shower. The bathroom was fine although two of the four lights were not working and the shower screen allowed about two pints of water onto the floor every time anyone took a shower.

The swimming pool is cheap and nasty, concrete hole with a pvc liner and if it was heated it wasn't heated very much, it was freezing. the jacuzzi was also cool and has very few jets in it, pretty pathetic really. Showers in the pool changing area take an age to run warm and have very bizarre spray heads on them which don't really cover you with water in a pleasant or acceptable way so presumably most people swim without showering.

The restaurant and bar looked OK but characterless.

Lastly just to demonstrate how mean these people are, we had to vacate our room on Saturday morning but were not leaving until 3.45pm so we had a half day's skiing prior to leaving. On the Friday evening they told use there was a lockable room in which to leave our luggae and that we could use the (cold) showers down at the Spa where there would be towels available. When we arrived back from skiing our luggage had been left in reception for all of the time we'd been skiing. We went to the Spa but it wasn't staffed and when we went upstairs to ask for towels ther gave us one hand towel and one bath towel for two adults and two children saying that we should have kept the towels from our room.

So would I go back, well maybe if they signed up for the shuttle bus and I certainly wouldn't try and sleep more than two adults sharing a double bed and perhaps two young children sharing the double pull out in the living area, but on balance it's unlikely that I'd return.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0bertLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having just returned from this property, I can say that I was very impressed.
The location is in the Hameau and as high as you can get. However, there is a free ski bus that runs to the slopes every 15mins and takes approx 5-10mins. You can also ski down via a track providing you are of a good standard of skier and the track is well covered with snow.
The facilities within the apartment are excellent. We had a 3 bedroomed apt sleeping upto 8. There was a flat screen TV in living room, plus a flatscreen in all 3 bedrooms. The Kitchen was very well equipped, Oven, Microwave, Toasters, Hob, Coffee machine, Dishwasher, Huge fridge. There was a seperate toilet, and all bedrooms have their own bathroom. One with bath, shower and sink, One with shower, sink & toilet and last one with shower & sink. The latter also leads onto own balcony on front of property. A second balcony also on the front of the property. Some members of the party used the pool/hot tub and said this was plenty adequate. Each apartment comes with own ski storage close to reception and this included heated boot warmers. There is a bar and restaurant at the main reception, although we didn't use as we made the most of the apartment facilities.
There is a local shop 5 mins away, however, this is VERY expensive and would only recommend for emergencies. Down in Flaine Forum, there is a SPAR, bakery and butchers. Very well stocked and reasonably priced. You can also catch the bus back home from right outside the SPAR.
The last bus from resort is at 1830hrs from bus stop number 7. This does get very busy, so try and get an earlier one back.
There are also ski lockers at the bottom of the slopes, "Patrick's Lockers" This may be an option to make the journey in a morning alot easier and easier home if you are buying shopping. We paid 14euros pp for 6days. Quite good for convenience.
Very nice apartments, great facilities, excellent standards, would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DollyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

As an expensive, newly built hotel, sold with the added benefits of spa, pool, sauna, fitness room etc, we had high expectations of a reasonably luxurious week in the Alps. Whilst we had a fantastic week skiing, and would use Refuge du Golf again in the absence of anything better, it is not the experience which is sold in the description.
The apartment was a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable and fabulously located with stunning views over the skiing area, nicely away from the busy and less pretty area of Flaine village. You could ski from the hotel to the main lift area, and shuttle buses were great (well, until 6.30PM). However, there were the following negatives:
- on arrival, 175 euros of extras, including 35 euros per car park space (no other close parking a/v) and 40 euros for one dog
- pool, spa, sauna, fitness room were totally oversold in the description- this is NOT a spa, pool hotel - do not be fooled. 14 euros for 30 minutes in the sauna, tiny draughty pool area, with unpleasant smells, fitness room about the size of a small bathroom with hardly any equipment
- restaurant was closed most of the week - good job we were self catering
- attention to detail lacking in apartment and generally (no benches in boot room, no coat pegs, no storage in apartment, no instructions for complicated electrical equipment)
- no ability to unload next to apartment (request for ten minutes parking refused!) so had to haul loads of luggage from underground car park through snow and ice!
- you had to go to reception to get your towels and linen and take these to your apartment and make up your own beds (mattresses ok, but quite hard) - and on leaving, strip beds, and return linens and towels.
- cleaning option was 120 euros for an 8 person smallish apartment - and to use this, you still had to clean the kitchen, toilets, etc.

Overall, expensive for what it is and had the skiing been limited due to weather, we would have been stuck as to how to fill the time, having booked this hotel for its apparent added extras, which were in fact lacking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
1.0 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
1.9 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
0.9 mi away
Club Hotel Le Flaine
Club Hotel Le Flaine
#11 of 16 in Flaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence le Refuge du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Refuge du Golf

Property: Residence le Refuge du Golf
Address: Lieu dit Les Gerat, 74300 Flaine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing