We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Villages Clubs du Soleil
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent a week here having booked through Ighams. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel having expected, from the brochure description, quite basic accommodation. The bedroom, though not palatial, was more than adequate and had, for two of us, a double and a single bed, two wardrobes (with plenty of hangers and shelving for clothes), a flat screen television (with UK channels) and a small seating area. The en-suite included a bath (always a joy after a day ski-ing) and there was always plenty of hot water. The food was always plentiful and of a very good standard and even though dinner ended at 8.30pm the buffet was still being replenished at 8.15pm Yes, it is all self-service but there are people to dish out the main courses and always a super choice of food. Though the hotel web site says there is red and rose wine available with meals, there is also white wine.
Previous comments mentioned that the staff do not speak English, this was not our experience: the receptionist who checked us in was at great pains to make sure that we understood not only what she had to tell us but when she saw us at the hotel 'Welcome meeting' later (it was all in French) she came over to make sure we understood that too! Maxime (the restaurant manager, I think) who welcomed us to the dining room each day, again was at great pains to speak English to us and make us feel most welcome as he showed us to our table.
The ski hire for the hotel is right next door and the staff there were most helpful and again spoke to us in English. There are ski lockers for both skis and boots on the ground floor of the hotel.
I would certainly return to this hotel and happily visit any of the others in their chain.
Very well done everyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had never been skiing before so chose this hotel for it's "ski inclusive" package which is as it's name suggests. The lift passes, boots, skis and poles are in the price and as those things really add up it was great to not have to worry about that cost. Your meals are included too and a packed lunch can be arranged the evening before if you'd rather not have to come back half way through the day to eat although the hotel is very central so not much time is lost if you'd like a warm lunch on a cold day. The quality of the food was very good and plenty of choice during each sitting but the dinning room can get a little cramped if everyone decides to eat at once. The rooms are basic but nice and while the skiing is so good you won't spend much time in them anyway, a kettle and waste paper bin would have been appreciated though! You are also issued with a card upon arrival which is used in the bar, no cash changes hands until you check out, you are however issued with a receipt every time you order a drink and I noticed there is a running total on there so no nasty surprises when you come to settle up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genghis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of six stayed in this hotel for one week in March 2013. We were very happy with the hotel and would recommend it. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the slopes. Our rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable and we enjoyed being able to watch UK TV in the evening when we were too tired to go out. The staff were friendly, but their English was limited. The food was good - there was lots of fresh food and a reasonable selection of options on the buffet. The hotel was also very child friendly. Our youngest child went to the nursery in the hotel, which was OK, but only one member of the nursery staff spoke good English.
In summary we thought the hotel was excellent value for money, particularly their ski inclusive package and if we return to Flaine we would happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been to Flaine twice before once in a chalet and once at the Flaine apartments, both were self catering. We had never thought of going on an all inclusive ski holiday before so thought that we would give it a go.
The hotel is basic and the rooms are small with basic furnishings but comfortable enough. We arrived on resort mid morning however we were advised by reception that we couldn’t check in till 5pm and lunch was not provided on check in day only evening meal. There was an area to leave luggage safely so we were able to go for something to eat locally and get our ski equipment arranged. The ski hire shop is directly beside the hotel and even though the staff did not speak very good English everything went to plan and was of a good standard. There is free wifi in the bar area which has a nice open fire, the bar is a no cash bar, you are issued with a card at check in and this is paid at the end of your stay, the prices were very reasonable too. We didn’t go to any of the entertainment, it was aimed at the French guests. The food was good, breakfast was continental but there was plenty of it, lunch was a hot buffet there was usually two or three choices or packed lunch, evening meals are themed and were very nice and an added bonus is the free wine with lunch and diner on a help yourself basis just keep filling up your carafe . The dining room is quite small and sometimes we had to wait a few minutes to be seated but it was quite well organised and we were not kept waiting for long. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. My husband a small accident on the slopes the staff at reception were very helpful and told us about the medical centre not far from the hotel.
There were a few leaks in the roof with buckets underneath during our stay and the hotel catered more for French guests but it didn’t affect our holiday. We would definitely return to Flaine and would be happy to stay in the Village Club again.

Room Tip: chose a room on the higher floors as they are quieter on entainment nights. Ask for a room at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trev-kirsty-Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the end of January 2013. We went as a group of 7...two family's with 3 children. Arrived in reception to see 7 buckets placed around the front desk to catch leaks coming from the ceiling. We had originally booked for both family's to be on the same floor. We were told by reception that one family was on the ninth floor and the other being on the second floor. As we we had pre booked the request, reception took 3 hours for both family's to be located on the same floor. ....which was the ninth floor. We went to our rooms, the balcony doors had no locks, therefore a child could quite easily open the balcony door and climb over the 4foot balcony rail. We complained to the hotel manager who could not see the safety implications of doors that could be easily opened by small children on the ninth floor. As a result after a few hours the manager agreed to remove handles of the balcony doors so they were unable to be opened. During the time in trying to resolve the above issues, the English receptionist became increasingly rude towards us, addressing our group in an arrogant and abrupt tone. We settled into our rooms which were very basic. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. Mould was growing around the ceiling area by the patio doors. Mould was also present around the bathroom area which didn't appear to had been cleaned on a regular basis. The best meal times were lunch, with a reasonable selection of food. Breakfast was continental, with bread and cereal. No hot food. Evening dinner was okay with a diverse selection of food. All entertainment was in French. The hotel catered mainly for the French. The hotel looked looked like a building from colditz...Gray square brick with no French appeal. Without a doubt would never stay at his hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not accept higher floors with small children, as there are no locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week only and that was more than enough within the first five minutes our entire party was wound up and confused by the whole check in process. All the rooms were mixed up the wrong people were in the wrong rooms and we couldn't check in until 5 hours after arrival. Several of the staff were very rude one even threatened a membef of our group on a night out because she didnt speak french and stole a ski pass off of someone else after she broke her wrist on the first day. We hired a few boards from the hotel hire shop and wished we hadnt the staff didnt speak a word of English and the board was a budget board that hadn't been waxed in its life. Should have payed the extra bag carriage and bought my own board for the hastle hiring one caused. The food was ok, feeding time was the only bare able part of the hotel but even this was a hastle and the seating arrangements was some what agricultural.
The beds were really uncomfortable and very small and what passes as a pillow in this hotel was almost non existant. The decor was very poor and I even found a cupboard full of rubble but wasnt sure if it was an artistic addition to the wheelie bins in the corridors and the mucus on the fresh towels. One evening a ceiling tile (a stained ceiling tile) fell on some poor unsuspecting man and then we found several buckets collecting fresh rainwater in the reception area the next day.
The skiing area itself was ok but it was ruined by the general nature of the people working the lifts and the pistes and the local shops and bars.
My general impression of the hotel is that it is there for the use of french people only and that the English are not welcome or catered for, this would not even make a good budget alternative as it was not cheap. Save yourself the time and money and go to austria or Switzerland two places I have visited and cannot fault in any way.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Callum O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights with family and friends over New Year.

I had previously skied in Flaine 20 years ago, and was attracted back by the all-inclusive deal and good central location, as well as the short transfer from Geneva.

The check-in was smooth, although only one of the front-desk staff spoke English, (and there was little English spoken by the rest of the staff either).

Our room was fairly basic, but had everything we needed was well heated, had a bath tub (which was appreciated to sok aching muscles) and the rooms seemed very well sound-proofed, with no noise apparent from the (occupied) adjacent rooms.

We were on a full-board tariff, and there was always a decent choice of hearty meals, although you wouldn't describe it as haute cuisine. The kids in our party are all fairly picky eaters, but they always found something they liked, even if it was sometimes only chip butties(!)

The hotel is about 300m from the main lift to the top of the mountain.

The vast majority of the guests were French speaking, and so the evening "entertainment" was all in French. What little we saw of this didn't entertain us, but it may have got someone lost in translation.

We went out most evenings after dinner to watch the either the English football or the darts the Flying Dutchman, which is the liveliest pub in the resort, and is a very welcoming environment.

We had a week of awesome snow conditions, which obviously contributed greatly to our enjoyment.

We certainly got good value for money, and would return if were planning to choose a ski hotel in the future, but we are likely to revert to our normal accommodation choice next season, which is for a catered chalet.

Room Tip: Low floors present some advantage, as the lifts are overcrowded at peak times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
2.9 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
0.1 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Club Hotel Le Flaine
Club Hotel Le Flaine
#7 of 17 in Flaine
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
2.8 mi away
Residence CGH Le Centaure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Villages Clubs du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Villages Clubs du Soleil

Address: Pre de Flaine | Bâtiment Aujon, 74300 Flaine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Villages Clubs du Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing