We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest self-catering apartment I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The nicest self-catering apartment I have stayed in”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed as a family of four at the Terrasses d’Eos in Flaine, in April 2014. We booked an apartment for six (i.e. with two bedrooms) through Erna Low and drove down (free upgrade on the Shuttle to FlexiPlus from Erna Low which was a big bonus).

We have arranged self catering skiing holidays for the last 12 years or so. The Terrasses is probably the nicest apartment we have stayed in. It is a Pierres and Vacances Premium resort and well deserves the premium status.

Things I liked: modern décor with a refreshing lack of pine! Oven (not microwave, hurrah!) in the kitchen (but as usual no kettle, and a few other things like a fish slice were also missing but perhaps that was because it was the end of the season). Balcony with space to sit out and a table and chairs. Lots of space to store things in the apartment. Bathroom and shower room. Bar and restaurant in the building, also a pool table. Free loan of fondue and raclette equipment. Morning bakery and pizza service. Excellent free wifi in the apartment. Fitness centre with well-heated outdoor pool. Ski room with reasonably large lockers. Free shuttle service to the main resort. Mid week room clean. ESF maintain a presence in the foyer. 24 hour reception. Really, really friendly and helpful staff.

Things I was less impressed with: “ski in/ski out” involved a 100 yard tramp along a flat snowy path (it might have been possible to ski in with more snow though, and to be honest it wasn't that far!). The habit of taking out the communal bins in the mornings via the lift (before breakfast) was a bit unwelcome – air freshener would have helped! Standard rooms without a valley view would probably have been a little gloomy (we paid for one of these but got upgraded to a fabulous view of the mountains – probably worth booking that I think).

Parking in the building is expensive but you probably don’t need it: when we arrived we drove up to the front of the building and took one of the numerous luggage trolleys to unload the car. We then parked on the verge of the road just opposite the building. Not sure this is really allowed but lots of other people were doing it. There is also cheaper (open air) official parking just down the road.

The apartments are a 5 minute walk (10 minutes back as it is uphill) from Flaine Foret which has a Spa, a bakery, a butcher (where you can order rotisserie chickens) and a cheese shop (with OK cheap “tanker” wine) as well as a SkiSet for ski hire. Plus a couple of restaurants and a bowling alley. There is a 24 hour lift between Flaine Foret and Flaine Forum where there are more shops as well as a chemist and an ATM.

Flaine isn’t the biggest resort in the world (don’t come here for night life) but the skiing is fine even late season (must be great when you can ski all the way down to Sixte). Oddly the piste map doesn’t seem to do it justice – there is plenty of variety and about 4 separate areas so plenty to keep you occupied for a week. We didn’t encounter any lift queues – but it was the week before Easter week so not high season. Plenty of mountain restaurants although not the cheapest I have found in the Alps!

All in all, a really excellent apartment in a very pleasant resort. Recommended.

Room Tip: Book a south facing room to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeremySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    283
    83
    24
    7
See reviews for
551
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North east
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a fantastic week 22-29/3/14. Variously called Les Terasses or Montsoleil these apartments are well maintained, clean with a good kitchen, including under counter fridge, with ice compartments (bag of pea size only), proper oven and miracle of miracles a kettle. Went with Crystal who were superb. Each room has it's own ski locker with padlock so in the morning once you're kitted up your direct onto the snow to ski down to Les Gerat lift and off you go. We did an internet shop from Sherpa, it was a bit of a gamble as, although you can specify the date if shopping, you can't specify a time. Anyway found out they deliver between 6-8pm. Shopping was limited compared to UK internet shop but we got all the heavy stuff and all delivered direct to our apartment. Great boulangerie/patisserie in Foret (pre order your stuff from reception and the is a hefty mark up).
Ordered lift pass on line to get substantial family discount and also big discount getting ski equipment pre ordered on line compared with Crystal brochure. Ski shop will deliver kit to apartments and also collect at end of stay - simple.
Wifi was poor but ok to get emails and annoy friends on FB. Pool was cool and we only ventured into it once.
We had a superior apartment for 4 - loads of storage in the one we had.
Would def go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just back from flaine w/e 29/03/2014. had a great stay in PV terraces d'eos (montsoleil). Very comfortable apartment for 2 adults and 2 kids. Good facilities in the hotel but pool could be a tad warmer. ski in ski out was great but could imagine the Tourmaline run being very busy at peak times during the year. look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Ideally south facing for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good points - friendly staff, very clean and well appointed apartments, ski out is a joy on the prettiest run in Flaine. Very nice outdoor pool. Sensibly priced wine/beer/soft drinks at reception. Restaurant food nice (although pricey and service pleasant but slow). Great is you like self catering as kitchens great - but isn't this a holiday? restaurants for me every time.

Room for improvement - ordering crossants in a bag the night before to scoff in your room is a bit barbaric. If you arrive after 7pm you will go hungry on your first morning. Surely a continental buffet is in order - there is just room for that. Ski in is down Tourmaline which gets mogully. Beginners would struggle. If you are a family of 4 you need 2 bedrooms really rather than one plus lounge. Not so much for sleeping arrangements but more for storage space which is very tight. We were 3 people and the one bedroom was too small in terms of storage.

Would either stay here or at Le Centaure which apparantly is similar in standard and price - pricey enough to keep noisy youngsters away which I gather can be a problem ( I was young once ).

Skiing superb for intermediates. Flaine town designed by a famous architect who really needs locking up rather than being revered. But the ugly architecture can be ignored. No queues even at weekend. Apparently you should avoid French school holidays as it can get busy.

Room Tip: south facing for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

great place, helpful staff, clean apartment, a bit small for the 6 of us staying there, but still comfortable. excellent free shuttle service from hotel to village, lovely spa facilities, easy access to slopes. only gripe would be a near-complete lack of wifi but this wasn't the end of the world. highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Les Terrasses d'Eos. The apartment was small for 6 of us, but we were very comfortable, it was very clean and well furnished. The staff were very helpful and it was very convenient for skiing. The hotel's free shuttle service into the village was especially useful. The only reason I've given it 4 instead of 5 stars is because there was close to no wifi - very intermittent and a bit frustrating. But I wouldn't not recommend it because of that - as long as you know beforehand, it really isn't an issue. The spa was such a bonus and a really lovely way to wind down after a long day of skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo_sults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great room (28) which had 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms downstairs and a living/dining/kitchen upstairs with another toilet. Nice balcony overlooking the ski-slopes. Could ski in/out (even when the snow was a bit thin).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank TripTrundlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaine
0.6 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
2.3 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Premium Les Terrasses d'Helios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Foret
0.3 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Terrasses de Veret
0.5 mi away
Club Hotel Le Flaine
Club Hotel Le Flaine
#11 of 17 in Flaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos

Property: Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos
Address: Les Terrasses D eos, 74300 Flaine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Flaine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Flaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A car-free resort which blends in perfectly with the surrounding countryside. Luxury residence with an easy access to the slopes "Top of the range", spacious and comfortable apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Terrasses d'Eos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Flaine Montsoleil Terrasses d`Eos
Pierre & Vacances Flaine Montsoleil Terrasses d`Eos Hotel Flaine
Residence Hotel Flaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing