We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Residence les Valmonts
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence les Valmonts
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just returned from a week's skiing in Vaujanay, apartments were extremely basic and had no soft furnishings. The kitchen did have all you needed. We had only one sofa so if there are 6 of you there maybe a fight for the sofa each night. !!

We also had to pay for sheets and towels.

Beware of checking out on time as the reception staff are ready to charge you , knocking at the door at 9am . A young lady from reception actually walked into the apartment uninvited whilst we were still packing!! It was obvious they just wanted us to pay for extra time, so we gave her 20 euro pocket money so we could leave in peace.

The apartments are ideally located for all the escalators to the ski lifts and the supermarket but a trek at the end of the day. Vaujanay is extremely quiet and not enough slopes for beginners nearby but for the experienced skier it is ideally situated for access to Alpe D'huez. We had a great meal in Hotel Rissiou which you have to book in advance .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a great week spent here. We payed very little for the apartment and lift pass so wasn't expecting much. We were wrong, the apartment was a good size and in good condition. We had a brilliant stay here and if we returned would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Agree totally with the previous reviewer. Just come back from a week in this lovely, warm, well equipped corner apartment with fantastic views. Excellent standard of accomodation for France. I think the owner rents it out independently and it is thus in very good condition. Very quiet and ideal for a family. Vaujany is a delightful village resort connecting in to Alpes d'Huez. It has featured in several newspaper articles this year as an excellent, less well known alternative to the main resorts. Lot's of investment going on but it still maintains it's village feel. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and loved it. Les Valmonts is a small apartment building situated in the upper part of the village. Would thoroughly recommend apartment 28 which we booked through Vaujany Apartments in the UK. It's positioned on the second floor and has an enormous corner balcony which gets morning and afternoon sun. The views are absolutely stunning! Being at the top of the village means you are close to the bakery, ski shop, some good restaurants and the village Sherpa (a bit like a Spa) which is really good and stocks everything you might need. It even has a small delicatessen selling good quality local meats and cheeses.
Apartment 28 is very neat and tidy. Apparently it's the only apartment in the building that is self-managed and it is really well looked after. It seemed to be furnished to a higher standard than some of the others that we caught glimpses of. The "meet and greet" was nice and Pip (the manager) was really helpful with tips on where to ski, where to eat etc.
The apartment has its own ski locker and there is a sauna and a steam room available in the building which you need to pre-book at the main reception. The village escalator system (which is covered!) was a god-send and is only a few metres walk from the building.
Vaujany is a cool blend of traditional and modern. There's no major nightlife so it's nice and quiet at night (definitely not for partying!) but you get all the skiing your could want by jumping on the amazing 160 person cable car that drops down in to the village square every 10 minutes and wizzes you up to the Alpe d'Huez ski area in 5 minutes!
All in all a fantastic place to stay and we will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre plutôt une chambre avec vue sur la cascade - côté sud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thierry_cochain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Agnès C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Thibault C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
9.7 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence et Chalets La Fontaine du Roi
Madame Vacances Residence et Cha...
#2 of 3 in Saint Jean d'Arves
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chalet Solneige
Chalet Solneige
#1 of 5 in Vaujany
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Odalys La Cascade - Les Epinettes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chalet La Maitreya
Chalet La Maitreya
#1 of 2 in Vaujany
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Dome des Rousses
20.2 mi away
Residence Le Vermont
Residence Le Vermont
#2 of 4 in Valmeinier
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence les Valmonts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence les Valmonts

Address: 53 route du Rochas, 38114 Vaujany, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Vaujany
Price Range: $49 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence les Valmonts 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Residence les Valmonts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing