We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to base yourself for cycling holidays in Provence”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coustellet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memoires de Provence
Ranked #1 of 2 Coustellet B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Neil & Nat were fantastic hosts. I stayed for a week with five friends and had a wonderful time. The location was ideal for all types of cycling enthusiasts and it was close to all sorts of well known tourist hot spots. Neil plans great rides that can be catered to your ability. Meals provided were as good as you would get any where. The accommodation was adequate and comfortable. Perhaps time for some minor renovations to the bathroom would be my only minor criticism.
Fantastic pool and some very good local restaurants.
Certainly would enjoy a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezza1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife Natalie and I along with four friends spent a fantastic week with Neil and Nat in Coustellet. The cycling was great, the ride options seemed endless and the bikes were spot on. The home cooked meals and local wines were a true highlight. Would recommend a cycling holiday with Neil to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

As first time cyclists we knew nothing about organising a cycling holiday. We didn't need to worry as Neil took care of everything. Sorted out bikes for us; supplied lists of clothing to bring (definitely need cycling shorts!) and where to buy things if you didn't bring them (definitely need cycling shorts!); helped us hire a car (to get the shorts). A huge selection of self-guided tours all pre-programmed into a GPS that attaches to your bike. Long to short, hard to easy routes, suggested restaurants and things to see along the way. Start and finish on any day of the week. The accommodation was very comfortable, the home-cooked dinners outstanding. Neil and his wife Nat are fantastic hosts. Great for families, couples or friends.

Room Tip: We had the OPPEDE room - has a massive ensuite (shower, no bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a dream vacation for my husband and I. We have wanted to explore Provence more and found this fabulous bed and breakfast with biking excursions that we could tailor to meet our abilities. The country side was beyond words and so peaceful. We loved all of the villages. Especially nice was coming back to the B&B to rest and have gourmet dinners 3 nights there. The other nights we were out in the area enjoying the lovely French restaurants. Neil and Nat were so nice as our hosts. Neil was excellent in helping us plan each day and giving us guidance of where to eat. And he served as the chef. Lucy and James are beautiful children we also enjoyed. Definitely worth our time!

Room Tip: We had a large room with a bathroom and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I started reading other reviews before writing this and said to myself, "what can I say that hasn't already been said a dozen times?" I can say that this is our second year in a row we've done this trip and stayed with Neil and Nat, and now more than ever look forward to our next time. Since actions speak louder than words that says it all. We're in love with Provence, we love seeing the countryside and villages from the closeness you get by being on a bike, and we adore Lucy and James. (The Cowell's young children) This is THE best bike experience you'll have bar none.
Book early, they fill up!

Room Tip: Go for the top of the line room it's worth the few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Memories de Provence is ideally located in the midst of some of France's most beautiful villages. A beautiful and historical home itself, this B&B experience includes some of the best food and hospitality I've encountered thanks to owners Neil and Nat. I took good advantage of the cycling to see the region using a high quality and well equipped bicycle and easy to use GPS. My room had a French ambiance with a view of the pool and the arbored dining patio. There was lots of coffee, croissants, hot water for bathing, sunshine, food, wine and an easy going atmosphere. Top marks for this great Provence holiday destination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Perhaps because it snowed in Philadelphia yesterday, I began reminiscing about our wonderful experience at Memoires de Provence back in September! Neil, our host, not only set us up on a series of beautiful self-guided (GPS-assisted) bike rides through many of the local villages, but he also served a gourmet dinner every other night. We loved eating family style with our friends and discussing the days events with Neil and Natalene. Their B&B in Coustellet is centrally located in the Luberon surrounded by relatively flat terrain, which made cycling very accessible. Neil has mapped out more than 60 GPS-directed routes that provide as much challenge (in terms of hills and distance) as you want. It was great to be able to stop anywhere along the route (e.g. for lunch at one of the magnificent villages) and then start up again at our own pace. We did not get to everything we wanted to see in Provence, so I expect that we will return again, perhaps even next year.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coustellet
7.6 mi away
Le Clos Les Eydins
Le Clos Les Eydins
#2 of 15 in Bonnieux
56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
8.6 mi away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Le Mas Jorel
Le Mas Jorel
#1 of 6 in Gargas
337 reviews
14.6 mi away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nulle Part Ailleurs
Nulle Part Ailleurs
#1 of 8 in Menerbes
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memoires de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoires de Provence

Address: 536 Chemin du Sarret, 84220 Coustellet, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Coustellet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coustellet
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provence Cycling Holidays operates out of Memoires de Provence, a biking focused B&B. Our self-guided cycling breaks are designed to be flexible - you choose the rides, distances and amount of sightseeing to suit you, along with your tour duration. Use our quality hybrid touring bikes & our easy to use Garmin GPS systems, preprogrammed with 60+ rides for all levels. And you'll stay in our top rated 17th Century Farmhouse B&B (along with pool and gardens) in the Luberon Park, a great base from which to explore the beauty of Provence (Roussillon, Gordes, Fontaine de Vaucluse, L'Isle sur la Sorgue, Bonnieux, Menerbes, Oppede le Vieux etc). We also profide breakfasts, every other dinner (with drinks) and bike back up, in the unlikely event that you should you need it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memoires De Provence Coustellet, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing