We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place for a biking holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memoires de Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coustellet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memoires de Provence
Ranked #1 of 2 Coustellet B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a biking holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at Memoires de Provence for a week June along with three friends from the US. We all had a marvelous time and and were greatly appreciative of the hospitality of our hosts, Neil and Natalie.

The rooms were large, airy and comfortable. Wifi is available. Breakfast is served every morning and there was plenty of it -- juice, coffee, cereal, croissants, and local gourmet bread which Neil buys fresh before everyone rises.

An evening meal is provided alternate evenings, based on Provencal specialties and accompanied with high quality local wines. The food was superb and there was plenty of it.

The point of the holiday was, of course, biking. Only two of us were bikers and only me on all days. At other times we drove to local points of interest in a hired car. The bikes were good quality hybrids -- comfortable and easy to ride. They have low gearing, which is useful as some rides are steep. Neil has prepared a folder of some 50 rides -- you choose from the style of riding and attractions you'd like; Neil then programs this into a Garman bike GPS.

There is a good supermarket in Coustellet and plenty of local restaurants of different price levels for non-meal evenings.

I can't recommend Memoires de Provence highly enough. If you're looking for a biking holiday centrally located in Provence this is place for you. The only proviso is you'll need a car to get there and for local non-bike sight-seeing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Spent four nights and felt very comfortable and welcomed at B&B. Situated in great location for sightseeing and the restaurants recommended by Neil were great. Wonderful area of France to visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llzingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent some days of our honeymoon in Provence at Natalene and Neil's Memoires de Provence, and felt us absolutely wonderful. It was really as spending your holidays at friends. They were not only friendly, but also very helpful and informative. The restaurants they recommended are the hidden secrets, you won't find them by yourself or using travel guides.
What we absolutely enjoyed was the breakfast table together with all the guests of the house: the ambiance there is unforgettable, like old friends' company.
We also liked our room, which was spacious and nicely furnished having windows opening to the more silent cherry garden.
And we also should mention the pool, which was gorgeous during the hot summer days.
Certainly we would like to go back next time.

p.s. Greetings to the cat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popeye76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed for 4 days (at the same time as Barbara and 16-year old Trevor; a very nice, polite and interesting 'dude'). We had a great time during the day, travelling around in our car to little villages with nice market squares (having a relaxed drink) or a flee market/brocante shops. But I think that in a few years from now I will not be remembering these trips anymore, but I wíll remember the evening dinners. Neil (a Jamie Oliver fan) cooked two 'haute cuisine' dinners for our group of guests. Time flew by, eating things like home-made merengue (with ginger-chocolate sauce and pear) and having relaxed and funny conversations with people we did not know.
Would we ever be in the neighbourhood again, we would certainly drop by and get a Coke out of the fridge!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am traveling with my 16 year old stepson and was not sure how he would adapt to life on the road, new customs and full days of cycling. Our stay with Neil and Natalene has turned out to be the perfect entre to France. Our rides to Isle Sur la Sorge, Fontain de la Vaucleuse and Gordes gave each day a sense of exploration and adventure and provided enough exercise to justify a happy excess of French bread and homemade jam for breakfast and Neil's sumptuous Provencal dinners. Add in Rocket the cat, two adorable kids (Lucie and James), the eclectic collection well traveled guests and the exquisite farmhouse setting and we could not have imagined a more perfect start to our trip. For others traveling with teenage boys, Trevor would like to offer that the cutest teenage girls are to be found in the market at Gordes.

We are off to Paris today relaxed and happy and looking forward to spending more time with Neil and Nat on future holidays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BayAreaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was looking for a cycling holiday where, as a single woman, I wouldn't feel out of place. I needn't have worried, Neil, Natalie, Lucy, Baby JIm (and Rocket the kitten!) all made me feel so welcome and the cycling was perfect.......I pedalled for miles every day through tiny hill top villages, fields full of lavender and sunflowers......it was bliss. And after a day's cycling it was wonderful to arrive back and relax by the pool and look forward to one of Nile's fabulous suppers. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlossomDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalst
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Great location in the middle of the Luberon & Provence.
Excellent local market! I can still smell all the aromas!
Rooms are as they are described on the www, which are very good!
Delicious breakfast!
Will return with my bike instead of my girlfriend nextime :-), or maybe i'll bring them both!
Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joerialosta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coustellet
0.4 mi away
Le Relais du Luberon
Le Relais du Luberon
#1 of 2 in Coustellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel les Oliviers
Motel les Oliviers
#2 of 2 in Coustellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sous L'olivier
Sous L'olivier
#2 of 4 in Lagnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 49 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mas Dansavan
Mas Dansavan
#2 of 19 in Oppede
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memoires de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoires de Provence

Property: Memoires de Provence
Address: 536 Chemin du Sarret, 84220 Coustellet, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Coustellet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coustellet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provence Cycling Holidays operates out of Memoires de Provence, a biking focused B&B. Our self-guided cycling breaks are designed to be flexible - you choose the rides, distances and amount of sightseeing to suit you, along with your tour duration. Use our quality hybrid touring bikes & our easy to use Garmin GPS systems, preprogrammed with 60+ rides for all levels. And you'll stay in our top rated 17th Century Farmhouse B&B (along with pool and gardens) in the Luberon Park, a great base from which to explore the beauty of Provence (Roussillon, Gordes, Fontaine de Vaucluse, L'Isle sur la Sorgue, Bonnieux, Menerbes, Oppede le Vieux etc). We also profide breakfasts, every other dinner (with drinks) and bike back up, in the unlikely event that you should you need it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memoires De Provence Coustellet, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing