We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Capucine(Lagnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pastorale(Lagnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
114
11
3
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
11
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshomemade jamsyogurtan aperitifother countriescommunal tableseparate showerprivate courtyardspent two nightsfantastic cookfabulous staydinner startsend of juneeach morningjulesfarmhouseluberon
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 134 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great room, great food, great wine.
Very relaxing and so comfortable.
Great location too.

Thanks to Julien and Carole fo making us most welcome.
They were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Imagine the solid stone 'mas' with its blue shutters and tree shaded courtyard, home-made everything, happy, relaxed guests chatting over the aperitif which precedes a royal spread of delicious rustic dishes. All very comfortable and convivial. Our room was light and airy with private terrasse; Carole and Julien could not have been kinder - love the style, the pool, the chat, the children, the garden,the pool, the amazing breakfasts.....

Room Tip: Disabled travellers are well directed to the room called Figue.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papillon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at this lovely B & B with a group of watercolor painters. The house and the garden provided wonderful scenes for us to paint. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner every night for a week with food made with delicious and fresh ingredients. The desserts and the wine and digestifs were wonderful as well.
Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable and sparkling clean. Julien and Carole were wonderful hosts. They took care of all of our needs and were always cheerful and helpful.
The gardens and grounds of the hotel are really lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The location is perfect for exploring Provence and Julien was always great at giving suggestions about which villages to explore.
My group was sent off with a gift of homemade jam and tapanade. We cannot wait to return and stay for another week at Sous L'Olivier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souslolivier, Carole et Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comment, it was a pleaser to receive you and the group in the house we really enjoy this, good fun for every one. The digestive session stay a long time in my mind
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just returned from a week-stay at Sous L'olivier and it was fabulous. The main house is warm and very comfortably appointed. Our room included a very private patio overlooking acres of farmland. Beautiful at sunset. The breakfast choices in the morning were plentiful, and I really enjoyed the assortment of homemade preserves that could be enjoyed with a crepe or croissant. Dinner every night prepared by Julien was fantastic. A beautifully appointed table greeted us every night. Our meals were well planned perfection from the first course to the evening's digestif. The location of Sous L'olivier is very central to all the best sights of Provence. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in a peaceful, happy environment. Thank you Julien all the best to you and your family!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souslolivier, Propriétaire at Sous L'olivier, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you
it was a good time for us too
Receive your painting group at home was a great fun for the family particularly the boys
Thank for your comment that encourages us to continue our activity
Kings regards
The Family Gouin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A couple of things to add to the existing reviews.

1. The meals are different than what we've had at other hotels with dinners, and are worth remarking on. Julien cooks everything family style--big bowls of the dishes he's serving which are then passed around. (Examples: salade nicoise, a non-tomato-based rich lasagna, caprese salad, roast pork.) The kids, at an earlier separate table, get versions of the same. The difference shows up in a couple of ways:
-- the food is more rustic and less fussy than in many other French eating experiences, and delicious. It really felt like eating the most remarkably good family dinner you've eaten.
-- while we're the sorts of people who don't necessarily relish the idea of eating with a bunch of strangers, we found the atmosphere warm and friendly, providing a good feeling among people who wouldn't necessarily have so much to say to each other under other circumstances.

2. When we were there, there were a fair number of children running around. We liked this a lot. We were traveling away from our own child and missed her, and we were glad to have the family atmosphere. We were on a room immediately above the courtyard, however, and I think if we were there on our honeymoon we would have wanted a slightly less central room--I would make sure to ask.

The room was nice, the food was delicious and not like anything else we ate in French restaurants, bistros, etc; and we liked the area, a quiet and beautiful rural area full of vineyards and old villages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquariumtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews