We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed perfection”
Review of Sous L'olivier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sous L'olivier
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed perfection”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Julien and Carole are the perfect hosts and have created such a wonderful place here. The food, decor and hospitality are all to a very high standard and the atmosphere is utterly convivial and relaxed. We loved it and had such a good time will definitely be visiting again....Au Revoir!




Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great room, great food, great wine.
Very relaxing and so comfortable.
Great location too.

Thanks to Julien and Carole fo making us most welcome.
They were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ditto what everyone else has said - a wonderful relaxing inn with lovely hosts, fabulous food, beautiful rooms, nice pool and gardens, excellent location, and the chance to meet and have dinner with the other guests from all over the world. We stayed in several hotels and inns on our recent trip (June 2012) and this was by far the best. Carole and Julien make every effort for their guests comfort. Stay here!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Figues room on the ground floor with it's own terrace although you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilyaylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your book of tom i'll read it to the child this winter before sleeping, you make me laughing when i open the paquet
thank you for your humour and don't worry for the wine i more than you can drink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Imagine the solid stone 'mas' with its blue shutters and tree shaded courtyard, home-made everything, happy, relaxed guests chatting over the aperitif which precedes a royal spread of delicious rustic dishes. All very comfortable and convivial. Our room was light and airy with private terrasse; Carole and Julien could not have been kinder - love the style, the pool, the chat, the children, the garden,the pool, the amazing breakfasts.....

Room Tip: Disabled travellers are well directed to the room called Figue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papillon775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at this lovely B & B with a group of watercolor painters. The house and the garden provided wonderful scenes for us to paint. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner every night for a week with food made with delicious and fresh ingredients. The desserts and the wine and digestifs were wonderful as well.
Our rooms were beautiful, comfortable and sparkling clean. Julien and Carole were wonderful hosts. They took care of all of our needs and were always cheerful and helpful.
The gardens and grounds of the hotel are really lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The location is perfect for exploring Provence and Julien was always great at giving suggestions about which villages to explore.
My group was sent off with a gift of homemade jam and tapanade. We cannot wait to return and stay for another week at Sous L'Olivier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souslolivier, Carole et Julien at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for your comment, it was a pleaser to receive you and the group in the house we really enjoy this, good fun for every one. The digestive session stay a long time in my mind
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just returned from a week-stay at Sous L'olivier and it was fabulous. The main house is warm and very comfortably appointed. Our room included a very private patio overlooking acres of farmland. Beautiful at sunset. The breakfast choices in the morning were plentiful, and I really enjoyed the assortment of homemade preserves that could be enjoyed with a crepe or croissant. Dinner every night prepared by Julien was fantastic. A beautifully appointed table greeted us every night. Our meals were well planned perfection from the first course to the evening's digestif. The location of Sous L'olivier is very central to all the best sights of Provence. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in a peaceful, happy environment. Thank you Julien all the best to you and your family!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souslolivier, Propriétaire at Sous L'olivier, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you
it was a good time for us too
Receive your painting group at home was a great fun for the family particularly the boys
Thank for your comment that encourages us to continue our activity
Kings regards
The Family Gouin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A couple of things to add to the existing reviews.

1. The meals are different than what we've had at other hotels with dinners, and are worth remarking on. Julien cooks everything family style--big bowls of the dishes he's serving which are then passed around. (Examples: salade nicoise, a non-tomato-based rich lasagna, caprese salad, roast pork.) The kids, at an earlier separate table, get versions of the same. The difference shows up in a couple of ways:
-- the food is more rustic and less fussy than in many other French eating experiences, and delicious. It really felt like eating the most remarkably good family dinner you've eaten.
-- while we're the sorts of people who don't necessarily relish the idea of eating with a bunch of strangers, we found the atmosphere warm and friendly, providing a good feeling among people who wouldn't necessarily have so much to say to each other under other circumstances.

2. When we were there, there were a fair number of children running around. We liked this a lot. We were traveling away from our own child and missed her, and we were glad to have the family atmosphere. We were on a room immediately above the courtyard, however, and I think if we were there on our honeymoon we would have wanted a slightly less central room--I would make sure to ask.

The room was nice, the food was delicious and not like anything else we ate in French restaurants, bistros, etc; and we liked the area, a quiet and beautiful rural area full of vineyards and old villages.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquariumtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
159 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#10 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
225 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#6 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sous L'olivier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sous L'olivier

Property: Sous L'olivier
Address: D900 | 997B vers petit palais, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly farm in the middle of Provence in front of Luberon Near Gordes Roussillon Isle sur sorgue and many village of Provence Come to try our cooking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sous L'olivier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous l`Olivier Hotel Lagnes
Sous L'Olivier Lagnes, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing