We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a paradise for seven nights!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Tignet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mas de Clairefontaine
Ranked #2 of 3 Le Tignet B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2012

On the strength of strong positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we made our base here for a visit to the Grasse area. With hindsight two nights would have sufficed before the honeymoon period died and the towels became too grubby. I do think since people who stay 1 night get clean towels people who stay longer should have the chance to have clean towels when required without the atmosphere we had to endure requesting them on our second evening. My request was met by a request that we do not park our car in a certain place- "it's not nice for people", what exactly that had to do with towels I don't know and no I told him when questioned we did not use them at the pool we have our beach towels. We didn't have a towel change for the rest of the stay but the cleaner kindly hangs them over chairs outside to freshen them up. Went and bought our own in Fayence anyway.
As for the area where it's not nice for people to see a car parked.On the 4th evening reading outside my room there was at one stage 4 cars parked within feet of me including a breakdown truck which had its engine running for a full 20 minutes and a builder's car. The builder was busily at work drilling, hammering and laying slabs just above us (for two nights) on the floor of the breakfat balcony- the Iris room ceiling. Nice bloke the builder as he wandered up and down the steps outside the room - pity about the dust and noise! It was a very lively two hours. It "wasn't nice for people" but hey yi canna complain!
The breakfasts were good but communal.
We were asked to pay the balance of our payment in cash no debit cards or cheques. We'd already had to send our deposit to him by bank transfer at a cost to us of £8 in January. Now 'just' a visit to the bank twice.
The Mas suffers from traffic noise being on the main Grasse -Draguinan road.

We stayed in the Iris room, a small converted garage with its entrance only feet away from the main stairway to the house. Little privacy.
For 130 euros a night I thought it was overpriced to say the least though I appreciate the area is a tad pricy.
Unless you make a fuss , hardly conducive to a relaxing stay, this place might prove a trying stay
beyond two nights.
We left a day early, paid for 7 stayed 6.

Room Tip: If you have to go - avoid the Iris trap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapostat, Propriétaire at Le Mas de Clairefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Hello,

just a reminder that tripadvisor notes that all reviews are subjective and reflect an individual's personal opinion.

Since we opened in 1999, the general rules are as follows:



- Towels are changed every 3 days, excepting mishaps in which case they are changed immediately.

-Cars should be parked in the designated area unless impossible due to deliveries or other.

- We apologise for any inconvenience if unavoidable urgent repairs are carried out during your stay.

- Clients are clearly informed in advance that payments are in euros only.

To conclude, 12 out of 14 tripadvisor reviews concerning my establishment are excellent or very good.

I rest my case. @ndré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Thank you Lonia et André for such a lovely stay. We thought your hospitality and the accommodation were both wonderful. We only stayed for two nights - on our way to a family holiday in a villa nearby - but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The Mas de Clairefontaine is a treasure in France's Cote d'Azur. Located only 40 minutes from Nice airport, it provides charming accommodations from which to explore the French Riviera or to simply kick back and relax. The rooms are clean, comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The grounds are simply gorgeous and the view from the terrace is magnificent. Breakfast is served on the terrace and gives guests a chance to share with hosts, Andre and Lonia, and to meet other guests. The pool is a nice extra.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aldo353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Polaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapostat, Propriétaire at Le Mas de Clairefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anouk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapostat, Owner at Le Mas de Clairefontaine, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas de Clairefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Clairefontaine

Address: 3196 route de Draguignan | Pays de Cannes et Grasse, 06530 Le Tignet, Grasse, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse > Le Tignet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Le Tignet
Price Range: $159 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Clairefontaine France/Le Tignet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing